, Chelmsford Stakes - Randwick racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Chelmsford Stakes

The Chelmsford Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race held each September at Randwick racecourse in Sydney during the Sydney spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and is worth $250,000 in prize money. The 2020 Chelmsford Stakes was won by Mister Sea Wolf from Yulong Prince with Finche third.

Held on the same day as the Group 2 Furious Stakes, Gr2 Concorde Stakes and Group 2 Tramway Stakes, the Chelmsford Stakes is one of the better early spring WFA races in Sydney.

Chelmsford Stakes info

Date: Saturday 4th September 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $250,000
2020 Winner: Mister Sea Wolf

The Chelmsford Stakes is a the first weight-for-age race over a mile in the new racing season in Sydney and typically acttracts a more than handy field. The Group 1 Winx Stakes, held the previous month at Randwick, provides a good lead up race to this event, as it raced under the same race conditions and stepping stone from 1400m to 1600m is ideal. Champion mare Winx (2017) is the last galloper to win the Winx Stakes and Chelmsford Stakes double.

Generally attracting above average gallopers, the Chelmsford Stakes is considered a good lead up race to the Group 1 George Main Stakes over 1600 metres at Randwick. Classy gallopers Sacred Falls (4th in 2014) and Royal Descent (2nd in 2014) went on finish first and second in the George Main Stakes after contesting the Chelmsford Stakes.

A race such as the Gr2 Hill Stakes at Randwick could also be on the agenda for horses contesting this race, as it's a natural progression in distance, and Junoob (6th in 2014) claimed the Hill Stakes at hs next start. In recent times Moriarty (4th in 2013) and Glencadem Gold (8th in 2013) went on to finish first & second in the Hill Stakes at their next start, while Trusting (2011) took out the Hill Stakes after tasting success in this event.

Samadoubt (2019) captured the Winx Stakes over 1400m at Randwick before leading all the way to win this event in exciting fashion for Warwick Farm trainer Bjorn Baker.

Recent Chelmsford Stakes winners include Unforgotten (2018) and Winx (2017).

2020 Chelmsford Stakes result

1. $5.00 Mister Sea Wolf 59.0 Nash Rawiller
2. $21.00 Yulong Prince 59.0 Sam Clipperton
3. $9.00 Finche 59.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara

then followed
4. $6.00 Avilius 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $5.00 Angel Of Truth 59.0 Tommy Berry
6. $71.00 Wu Gok 59.0 Adam Hyeronimus
7. $91.00 Carif 59.0 Joshua Parr
8. $61.00 Brimham Rocks 59.0 Ms Rachel King
9. $6.50 Shared Ambition 59.0 James McDonald
10. $7.50 Zebrowski 58.5 Brenton Avdulla
11. $26.00 Life Less Ordinary 59.0 Jason Collett
12. $17.00 Nettoyer 57.0 James Innes Jnr
13. $151.00 Morton's Fork 59.0 Robbie Dolan
14. $101.00 Miss Sentimental 57.0 Tim Clark
15. $61.00 Danzdanzdance 57.0 Glyn Schofield

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.5 len
Time: 1:34.32

Bet now on the Chelmsford Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Chelmsford Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Chelmsford Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Mister Sea Wolf Yulong Prince Finche 1:34.3
2019 Samadoubt Avilius Girl Tuesday 1:35.1
2018 Unforgotten Ace High Libran 1:35.1
2017 Winx Red Excitement Chocante 1:34.1
2016 Hartnell Grand Marshal Storm The Stars 1:39.1
2015 Complacent Kermadec Royal Descent 1:37.6
2014 Hawkspur Royal Descent Bagman 1:39.3
2013 Hawkspur Beaten Up Lightinthenite 1:34.7
2012 Danleigh Secret Admirer Lamasery 1:36.2
2011 Trusting My Kingdom Of Fife Strike The Stars 1:37.1
2010 Theseo Metal Bender Purple 1:39.6
2009 O'lonhro Miss Marielle Triple Honour 1:34.5
2008 Gallant Tess Triple Honour Kishkat 1:39.3
2007 Race not run - -
2006 Eremein Newton's Rings Aqua d' Amore 1:35.5
2005 Nevis Sir Dex Natural Blitz 1:35.7
2004 Unearthly So Assertive Niello 1:37.9
2003 Lonhro Platinum Scissors Excellerator 1:35.1
2002 Lonhro Platinum Scissors Republic Lass 1:36.3
2001 Brave Prince Zabeels Angel The Man 1:24.5
2000 Pasta Express Celestial Choir Al Mansour 1:30.3
1999 Intergaze Tie The Knot Nahayan 1:38.4
1998 Might and Power Juggler Tie The Knot 1:42.1
1997 Juggler Filante Sharscay 1:40.7
1996 Filante Saintly Nothin' Leica Dane 1:35.0
1995 Oppressor Joie Denise Stony Bay 1:37.7
1994 March Hare Fraternity Oppressor 1:36.4
1993 Soho Square Prince Of Praise Durbridge 1:36.2
1992 Dr. Grace Quick Score Super Impose 1:36.2
1991 Stargazer Royal Creation Stylish Century 1:36.6
1990 Stargazer Super Impose Palace Revolt 1:36.9
1989 High Regard Groucho Shame On You 1:36.9
1988 Sky Chase Beau Zam Kensei 1:37.7