horse racing info

George Main Stakes

The George Main Stakes is the premier weight-for-age race of the Sydney spring racing carnival and is held each year in September at Randwick racecourse in Sydney. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 George Main Stakes was won by Winx from Happy Clapper with Foxplay third.

A number of group races are held on George Main Stakes Day including the Gr2 The Shorts for sprinters and the Gr2 Tea Rose Stakes for three-year-old fillies. The winner of this race is exempt from a ballot on the Gr1 Epsom Handicap

2018 George Main Stakes info

Date: Saturday 15th September 2018
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2017 Winner: Winx

The George Main Stakes is a quality race for good horses and the weight-for-age conditions of the race over the 1600m (one mile) distance attracts top class milers and solid 2000m horses, to make this an exciting race during the Sydney spring racing carnival.

The George Main Stakes has stood the test of time as a classic spring race in Sydney and has been won by some quality gallopers over the years including More Joyous (2010), Racing To Win (2006), Grand Armee (2004), Lonhro (2003), Defier (2002) and champion galloper Kingston Town (1981-82) in consecutive years.

Horses contesting this race quite often head on to the Gr1 Epsom Handicap over 1600m on the final day of the carnival at the same track and both Streama (2nd in 2013) and Trusting (2nd in 2010) went on to finish runner-up in the Epsom after running second in this race.

Winx (2016-17) took out the Gr2 Chelmsford Stakes over 1600m at Randwick before proving too classy for her rivals in this event and recent George Main Stakes winners include Kermadec (2015) and Sacred Falls (2014).

2017 George Main Stakes result

1. $1.12 Winx 57.0 Hugh Bowman
2. $15.00 Happy Clapper 59.0 Blake Shinn
3. $21.00 Foxplay 56.5 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $151.00 Mccreery 59.0 Michael Walker
5. $101.00 Mackintosh 59.0 Glyn Schofield
6. $91.00 Heavens Above 57.0 Tye Angland
7. $26.00 Red Excitement 59.0 Joshua Parr
8. $81.00 Ecuador 59.0 Adam Hyeronimus

Margins: 1.3 len, 4.5 len
Time: 1:33.65

Bet now on the George Main Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

George Main Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Winx Happy Clapper Foxplay 1:33.6
2016 Winx Hauraki It's Somewhat 1:36.1
2015 Kermadec Royal Descent Pornichet 1:37.7
2014 Sacred Falls Royal Descent Laser Hawk 1:35.6
2013 Streama Royal Descent Veyron 1:34.7
2012 Shoot Out Rangirangdoo Secret Admirer 1:36.4
2011 Sincero Ilovethiscity Triple Elegance 1:28.5
2010 More Joyous Trusting Empires Choice 1:35.6
2009 Road to Rock Black Piranha Onemorenomore 1:35.5
2008 Mentality Theseo Gallant Tess 1:34.6
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Racing To Win Red Dazzler Desert War 1:33.8
2005 Mr Celebrity Shania Dane Outback Prince 1:34.6
2004 Grand Armee King's Chapel Shamekha 1:36.9
2003 Lonhro Grand Armee Defier 1:37.5
2002 Defier Excellerator Sunline 1:38.3
2001 Viscount Shogun Lodge Courvoisier 1:36.7
2000 Adam Mr. Innocent Al Mansour 1:35.3
1999 Shogun Lodge Sunline Adam 1:35.0
1998 Dracula Tycoon Lil Des's Dream 1:35.1
1997 Encounter Filante Juggler 1:36.0
1996 Juggler Filante All Our Mob 1:35.5
1995 Turridu Danewin Cheunganoff 1:35.8
1994 Durbridge Brave Warrior March Hare 1:36.2
1993 March Hare Deposition Slight Chance 1:33.9
1992 Coronation Day Kinjite Rough Habit 1:36.4
1991 Planet Ruler Kinjite Quick Score 1:36.5
1990 Shaftesbury Avenue Super Impose Stargazer 1:35.9
1989 Vo Rogue Groucho Don't Play 1:35.4
1988 Gennaker Balciano Merimbula Bay 1:35.9
1987 Campaign King Groucho Impoverish 1:35.0
1986 Ma Chiquita Drawn Roman Artist 1:34.9
1985 Roman Artist Kingdom Bay Riverdale 1:36.4
1984 Inspired Street Cafe Riverdale 1:37.8
1983 Emancipation Mr. McGinty Rare Form 1:37.3
1982 Kingston Town Northern Reward Grey Receiver 1:40.0
1981 Kingston Town Arbogast Our Paddy Boy 1:34.3
1980 Tullmax Marjoleo Belmura Lad 1:36.0
1979 Imposing Steel Blade Abs 1:34.5
1978 Party's Pride Marceau Blockbuster 1:37.7
1977 Blockbuster Manawapoi Romantic Dream 1:38.1
1976 Purple Patch Toy Show Future Shock 1:40.4
1975 Hartshill Martindale Dalrello 1:35.9
1974 Itchy Feet Drifted In Puple Patch 1:35.9
1973 All Shot Drifted In Longfella 1:35.9
1972 Nippon Richochet Red God 1:36.3
1971 Baguette Regal Rhythm Rajah Sahib 1:36.5
1970 Ricochet Broker's Tip Regal Rhythm 1:36.3