, Newcastle Newmarket Hcp - Broadmeadow Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Newcastle Newmarket Hcp

The Newcastle Newmarket Hcp is a Group 3 quality handicap race held in early March at Newcastle racecourse in Newcastle, New South Wales. The race takes place on a Friday and is run over a distance of 1400 metres, offering $150,000 in prize money for entrants.

Special Reward won the 2020 Newcastle Newmarket Hcp from Delectation Girl and Condor.

The popular sprint event features on a Friday during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Newcastle is the the second largest city in New South Wales, Australia, and is located around 167 kilometres due north of Sydney, which is around two hours by road.

Newcastle Newmarket Hcp info

Date: Friday 5th March 2021
Track: Newcastle racecourse, Newcastle
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Special Reward

The Newcastle Newmarket Hcp is a good class provincial quality handicap that generally assembles a talented field of gallopers. The Group 3 Liverpool City Cup is a good lead up race to this event as it is run under the same conditions.

Horses contesting this race may continue on to races like the Group 2 Ajax Stakes on Group 1 Coolmore Classic day. Solo Flyer (2009) went on to win the Ajax Stakes while Chasm (2nd in 2009) ran third in the same race.

Special Reward (2020) captured the Group 3 Southern Cross Stakes at Randwick in Sydney before heading to Newcastle to score a classy on pace victory in this event for local trainer Kris Lees.

Recent Newcastle Newmarket Handicap winners include Princess Posh (2019) and Lanciato (2018).

Newcastle Track Map

Newcastle race track is a flat track with a circumference of 2000m and horses race in a clockwise direction. The track surface is turf and the straight length is 415m.

Newcastle Track Map

2020 Newcastle Newmarket Hcp result

1. $3.40 Special Reward 57.0 Brenton Avdulla
2. $18.00 Delectation Girl 54.5 Christian Reith
3. $21.00 Condor 54.0 Robbie Dolan

then followed
4. $11.00 Dealmaker 54.0 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $5.50 Gaulois 59.0 Hugh Bowman
6. $21.00 Royal Tudor 54.0 Jeff Penza
7. $6.50 Desert Lord 54.0 Tommy Berry
8. $51.00 Our Abbadean 57.5 Nash Rawiller
9. $9.00 Wolfe 57.0 Ms Rachel King
10. $11.00 Purple Sector 54.0 Tim Clark
11. $201.00 Hand It In 54.0 Tom Sherry
12. $61.00 Insensata 54.0 Jay Ford
13. $61.00 Oakfield Twilight 54.0 Jean Van Overmeire
14. $17.00 Seaway 56.5 Glyn Schofield

Margins: 1.4 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:23.06

Bet now on the Newcastle Newmarket Hcp

We recommended Unibet for the best Newcastle Newmarket Hcp odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Newcastle Newmarket Hcp winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Special Reward Delectation Girl Condor 1:23.0
2019 Princess Posh Savatiano Invincible Gem 1:21.7
2018 Lanciato Mister Sea Wolf Shiraz 1:22.7
2017 Happy Clapper Got Unders Kellyville Flyer 1:23.7
2016 Artistry Nancy Amovatio 1:19.9
2015 Laser Hawk Scorpio Queen Mighty Lucky 1:21.9
2014 Mecir Strawberry Boy Slow Pace 1:23.0
2013 Bello Laser Hawk Famous Seamus 1:21.2
2012 He`s Remarkable Dao Dao Star Of Octagonal 1:22.5
2011 Keepin The Dream Purrpurrlena So Anyway 1:22.2
2010 Walking Or Dancing Brilliant Light Emperor Bonaparte 1:23.7
2009 Soho Flyer Chasm Walking Or Dancing 1.20:9
2008 Falaise German Chocolate Friday Creek 1:21.5
2007 Danzippo Diamond Sun High Cee 1:22.5
2006 Tall Timbers Bentley Biscuit Gorgonite 1:22.5
2005 Patezza Cool Front Gabfest 1:23.1
2004 Platinum Scissors Mantario Carael Boy 1:22.4
2003 Zabarra Carael Boy Grand Armee 1:23.2
2002 Hey Pronto Lord Essex Lets Compromise 1:22.9
2001 Crawl Indominate Phoenix Park 1:23.5
2000 Spying Corporate Bruce Beauchamp 1:24.2
1999 Techniques Fraud Iron Horse 1:22.5
1998 Bezeal Bay Confiscate Deep Snip 1:22.1
1997 Secret Savings Confiscate Over The Rising 1:24.1
1996 Magic Road Futile Catalan Opening 1:23.2
1995 Pimpala Son Waikikamukau Rhythm Review 1:26.6
1994 Sir Bernard Rich Pageantry Mistador 1:24.2
1993 Deposition Ghost Story Tarheel Boy 1:23.9
1992 Blue Boss Sedgewyn Ark Regal 1:22.6
1991 Ricochet Rosie Comrade Magic Gleam 1:23.4
1990 Comrade Gallery Star Our Palliser 1:25.1
1989 Never Quit Wong Dancing Poet 1:24.1
1988 Lucky Rass Dinky Flyer Shinakima 1:22.2

The 2016 Newcastle Newmarket was held at Rosehill on Saturday 19th March 2016 after the Newcastle track surface was declared unsafe for racing on the Wednesday beforehand.