horse racing info

Doncaster Prelude

The Doncaster Prelude is a Group 3 3yo & upwards handicap race held each year in April at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and offers $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Doncaster Prelude was won by Mister Sea Wolf from Abdon with Tom Melbourne third.

Upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2010/2011 racing season, the Doncaster Prelude takes place on Group 1 Tancred Stakes day during the Sydney autumn racing carnival on the final day of the three-day Golden Slipper Festival.

Doncaster Prelude info

Date: Saturday 28th March 2020
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo & Up
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Mister Sea Wolf

The Doncaster Prelude provides a good lead-up race to the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap which takes place the following week at Randwick over the same distance on the first day of The Championships. This race gives horses a chance to have a final tune-up for the biggest mile race of the Sydney autumn.

Generally a big field will assemble for the Doncaster Prelude and inside barrier draws become very important, along with an ability to race on the pace, to ensure you stay out of trouble to have every chance in the run.

Earlier carnival races such as the Group 3 Newcastle Newmarket Hcp at Newcastle or the Group 2 Ajax Stakes at Rosehill are typical lead-up races to this event, as they are run under similar conditions, and offer a natural progression for gallopers heading towards this race or the upcoming Doncaster Mile.

An out of town race like the Group 3 Hawkesbury Gold Cup may be on the radar of horses contesting the Doncaster Prelude as the step up to 1600m is ideal. Leebaz (2nd in 2014) claimed the Hawkesbury Gold Gup after running second in this race.

Mister Sea Wolf (2019) resumed from a spell to win this event in exciting style for the Chris Waller stable and recent Doncaster Prelude winners include Cellarman (2018) and Spectroscope (2017).

2019 Doncaster Prelude result

1. $8.00 Mister Sea Wolf 59.0 James McDonald
2. $9.00 Abdon 53.5 Corey Brown
3. $4.80 Tom Melbourne 58.5 Blake Shinn

then followed
4. $3.40 Mask Of Time 57.5 Sam Clipperton
5. $16.00 My Nordic Hero 58.0 Brenton Avdulla
6. $21.00 Grey Lion 54.0 Damian Lane
7. $7.00 Siege Of Quebec 58.5 Tim Clark
8. $14.00 Invictus Prince 54.0 Jason Collett
9. $9.00 Kaonic 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy

Margins: 0.2 len, 1.2 len
Time: 1:34.47

Bet now on the Doncaster Prelude

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Doncaster Prelude odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Doncaster Prelude winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Mister Sea Wolf Abdon Tom Melbourne 1:34.4
2018 Cellarman Ecuador Mister Sea Wolf 1:29.9
2017 Spectroscope No Doubt Marenostro 1:33.6
2016 Havana Cooler Cosmic Cube Rudy 1:29.0
2015 Excess Knowledge Malice Leebaz 1:29.8
2014 Weary Leebaz I'm Imposing 1:31.4
2013 Skyerush Alma's Fury Illo 1:36.1
2012 Fast Clip Speediness Alma's Fury 1:35.2
2011 My Kingdom Of Fife Hidden Wonder Bold Glance 1:34.8
2010 Brilliant Light Gold Water Snapy Halo 1.35:7