horse racing info

Australia Stakes Preview

The Australia Stakes is a Group 2 Weight-for-age race held annually each year in late January at Moonee Valley racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is a 1200 metres sprint event worth over $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Australia Stakes was won by Malaguerra from Black Heart Bart with Sirbible third.

Formerly known as the 'Carlyon Stakes', the MVRC changed the race name to the 'Australia Stakes' in 2010 to fall in line with Australia Day celebrations that take place the same week.

2018 Australia Stakes info

Date: Friday 26th January 2018
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2017 Winner: Malaguerra

The Australia Stakes generally attracts quality sprinters who are usually on their way to the bigger races of the autumn carnival such as the Gr1 Lightning Stakes a couple of weeks later at Flemington or the Gr1 William Reid Stakes in late March at Moonee Valley.

The Gr3 Rubiton Stakes or CF Orr Stakes at Caulfield may also be on the agenda for horses contesting this event and winners & placegetters of this race have plenty of feature race options ahead during the upcoming autumn carnival. Dissident (3rd in 2015) went on to win the CF Orr Stakes at his next start after finishing third in this event.

Some quality gallopers have won the Australia Stakes over the years including Black Caviar (2012 & 2010), El Segundo (2007), Hareeba (1995), Schillaci (1993), Redelva (1990) and flying mare Special (1988).

The Wez Hunter trained Smokin' Joey took out the Gr2 Carlyon Cup at Caulfield following his fourth placing in the Australia Stakes.

Malaguerra (2017) resumed from a successful spring campaign to win this event in scorching style and recent Australia Stakes winners include Holler (2016) and Mourinho (2015).

2017 Australia Stakes result

1. $4.20 Malaguerra 58.5 Ben Melham
2. $2.50 Black Heart Bart 58.5 Brad Rawiller
3. $31.00 Sirbible 58.5 Darren Gauci

then followed
4. $21.00 Palentino 58.5 Damian Lane
5. $31.00 Peacock 55.0 Craig Williams
6. $4.20 Chetwood 58.5 James Doyle
7. $13.00 Turn Me Loose 58.5 Kerrin McEvoy
8. $31.00 Mourinho 58.5 Craig Newitt
9. $61.00 It Is Written 58.5 Matthew Allen

Margins: 2 len, 1.5 len
Time: 1:09.29

Bet now on the Australia Stakes

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Australia Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Malaguerra Black Heart Bart Sirbible 1:09.2
2016 Holler Churchill Dancer Rebel Dane 1:10.9
2015 Mourinho It is Written Dissident 1:09.9
2014 Richie's Vibe Moment Of Change It Is Written 1:10.9
2013 Sea Lord Pinwheel Outlandish Lad 1:10.5
2012 Black Caviar Zedi Knight Doubtful Jack 1:09.4
2011 Whitefriars Undeniably Typhoon Tracy 1.09.6
2010 Black Caviar Here De Angels La Rocket 1:10.1
2009 Lucky Secret Light Fantastic Von Costa De Hero 1:11.2
2008 Let Go Thommo Maldivian Casino Prince 1:10.8
2007 El Segundo Cocinero Super Elegant 1:11.2
2006 California Dane Virage De Fortune Casual Pass 1:09.8
2005 Super Elegant Strikeline Ruben 1:10.5
2004 Vocabulary Super Elegant Confederate Kid 1:11.5
2003 Yell Libidinious Pernod 1:10.3
2002 Royal Code Intelligent Star Ustinov 1:11.0
2001 Piavonic Ateates Le Zagaletta 1:11.8
2000 Slavonic Sports Le Zagaletta 1:12.1
1999 Sports Paint Noircir 1:10.6
1998 Flavour Rock You Scandinavia 1:10.6
1997 Clang Delsole Spartacus 1:11.9
1996 All Our Mob Hero Wind Street Talk 1:12.8
1995 Hareeba Mahogany Schillaci 1:08.8
1994 Kenvain Silver Neon Gatana 1:10.4
1993 Schillaci Umatilla Soho Square 1:09.4
1992 Dapper's Hope Street Ruffian Grandiose 1:11.0
1991 Dark Beau Show County Paklani 1:09.1
1990 Redelva Gallipoli Prince Strawberry Ranch 1:09.6
1989 Jet Fighter Groucho Grandiose 1:10.6
1988 Special Testimony Courier Bay 1:09.4