horse racing info

Blue Diamond Stakes

The Blue Diamond Stakes is a Group 1 race for two-year-olds that takes place in February each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run under set weight conditions over a distance of 1200 metres and is worth $1,500,000 in prize money. The 2020 Blue Diamond Stakes was won by Tagaloa from Hanseatic with Personal third.

Blue Diamond Stakes day is the Melbourne Racing Club's premier race day of the autumn, highlighted by the running of the Blue Diamond Stakes, along with the Group 1 Futurity Stakes & Group 1 Oakleigh Plate.

Blue Diamond Stakes info

Date: Saturday 22nd February 2020
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,500,000
2020 Winner: Tagaloa
bet now 2020 Blue Diamond Stakes odds

The Blue Diamond Stakes is the premier two-year-old sprint event of the autumn carnival in Melbourne and the race itself has produced many a fine horse over the years. Top class gallopers such as Sepoy (2011), Alinghi (2004), Bel Esprit (2002), Redoutes Choice (1999) Courtza (1989) and Zeditave (1988) have all won this race since its inception.

First run in 1971, the Blue Diamond Stakes is now a $1,000,000 race for the state's best two-year-olds and Blue Diamond Day has grown to become the biggest race day of the autumn for the Melbourne Racing Club at Caulfield.

The Group 3 Blue Diamond Prelude C&G and Group 3 Blue Diamond Prelude Fillies, both held at Caulfield a couple of weeks earlier, are the traditional lead up races to this classic event. Lyre (2019), Catchy (2017) and Earthquake (2014) have taken out the Fillies Prelude and Blue Diamond Stakes double of late.

Brilliant two-year-old Sepoy (2011) was the most recent galloper to win the Blue Diamond Stakes and then go on to victory in Australia's richest two-year-old sprint, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes, held at Rosehill during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Tagaloa (2020) ran fourth in the Group 3 Blue Diamond Prelude for colts & geldings before scoring a classy on pace victory in this event for the Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young stable.

Recent Blue Diamond Stakes winners include Lyre (2020) and Written By (2018).

2020 Blue Diamond Stakes result

1. $26.00 Tagaloa 56.5 Michael Walker
2. $2.60 Hanseatic 56.5 Tim Clark
3. $26.00 Personal 54.5 Craig Williams

then followed
4. $10.00 Away Game 54.5 Jye McNeil
5. $9.50 Muntaseera 54.5 Damien Oliver
6. $5.50 Letzbeglam 54.5 Brett Prebble
7. $21.00 Rathlin 56.5 Ben Melham
8. $6.50 Rulership 56.5 Mark Zahra
9. $61.00 A Beautiful Night 54.5 Ms Linda Meech
10. $61.00 Riverina Storm 54.5 Dwayne Dunn
11. $26.00 Aryaaf 54.5 Luke Nolen
12. $91.00 Ideas Man 56.5 Damian Lane
13. $91.00 Tanker 56.5 John Allen
14. $81.00 Glenfiddich 56.5 Glen Boss
15. $301.00 Difficult 54.5 Jordan Childs

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:08.56

Other Blue Diamond Day group races at Caulfield include the Group 2 St George Stakes, Group 2 Autumn Classic, Group 2 Angus Armanasco Stakes & Group 3 Mannerism Stakes.

Bet now on the Blue Diamond Stakes

Join either of our recommended bookmakers for the best Blue Diamond Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Blue Diamond Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Tagaloa Hanseatic Personal 1:08.5
2019 Lyre Lankan Star Free Of Debt 1:09.3
2018 Written By Enbihaar Oohood 1:09.8
2017 Catchy Pariah Formality 1:09.3
2016 Extreme Choice Flying Artie Zamzam 1:08.9
2015 Pride Of Dubai Reemah Lake Geneva 1:10.5
2014 Earthquake Jabali Cornrow 1:09.8
2013 Miracles Of Life Fast 'N' Rocking Godiva Rock 1:09.7
2012 Samaready No Looking Back Armed For Action 1:10.4
2011 Sepoy Hallowell Belle Masthead 1:08.5
2010 Star Witness Shaaheq Beneteau 1:10.4
2009 Reward For Effort Real Saga Maka Ena 1:09.8
2008 Reaan All American Burgeis 1.11.4
2007 Sleek Chassis Zizou Shrewd Rhythm 1:09.8
2006 Nadeem Miss Finland Wonderful World 1:12.0
2005 Undoubtedly Seidnazar Perectly Ready 1:08.9
2004 Alinghi Wager World Peace 1:09.8
2003 Kusi Halibery Divine Secret 1:11.0
2002 Bel Esprit Brief Embrace Pillaging 1:09.2
2001 True Jewels La Lagune Spectatorial 1:09.0
2000 Road To Success Ponton Flyer Mannington 1:09.8
1999 Redoutes Choice Testa Rossa Dangerous 1:08.7
1998 Danelagh Danari Piccadilly Circus 1:10.1
1997 Knowledge Rose Of Danehill Sports 1:10.2
1996 Paint Flavour Our Cashel 1:10.2
1995 Principality Flying Spur Tuscany Flyer 1:09.4
1994 Hurricane Sky Mr Vitality Renarchi 1:08.1
1993 Lady Jakeo Keltrice Justice Prevails 1:11.1
1992 Riva Diva Yachtie Chingquillo 1:11.4
1991 Canonise Umatilla Chief Headhunter 1:10.1
1990 Mahaasin Canny Lad Triscay 1:09.9
1989 Courtza Sculptured Arch Dancers Choice 1:10.3
1988 Zeditave Vitalic Starting Lass 1:09.8