horse racing info

Blue Diamond Prelude C&G

The Blue Diamond Prelude C&G is a Group 3 race for two-year-old colts & geldings that takes place in early February each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run under set weights and penalty conditions over a distance of 1100 metres and is worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Blue Diamond Prelude C&G was won by Written By from Plague Stone with Native Soldier third.

The colts & geldings Prelude is held on Gr1 C.F. Orr Stakes day, the second biggest race day of the autumn for the Melbourne Racing Club, after Gr1 Blue Diamond Stakes day, and is the male eqivalent of the Gr2 Blue Diamond Prelude (F) for fillies.

Blue Diamond Prelude C&G info

Date: Saturday 9th February 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: 2yo C&G - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: Written By

The Blue Diamond Prelude C&G is an 1100 race for two-year-old colts & geldings that serves as the ideal lead up race to the Gr1 Blue Diamond Stakes in a fortnight at the same track.

The level weights playing field advantages the better 2yo gallopers engaged and some very talented horses have won this race over the years, including Sepoy (2011), Bel Esprit (2002), Lonhro (2001), Flying Spur (1995) and Danzero (1994).

The Colts & Geldings Prelude is held on the same day as the female version of the race, which is the Blue Diamond Prelude - Fillies. Sepoy (2011) went on to win the Blue Diamond Stakes after scoring in this event and he's the most recent galloper to win the colts & geldings Prelude and then the Blue Diamond Stakes in the same year.

Sepoy travelled to Sydney later in the autumn to take out the Gr1 Golden Slipper Stakes at Rosehill and completed the Blue Diamond & Golden Slipper double in the process.

Written By (2018) took out a 2YO SWP race over 1000m at Sandown Hillside before his impressive win in this event and recent Blue Diamond Prelude C&G winners include Property (2017) and Flying Artie (2016).

2018 Blue Diamond Prelude C&G result

1. $6.00 Written By 55.5 Jordan Childs
2. $4.80 Plague Stone 55.5 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $9.50 Native Soldier 55.5 Mark Zahra

then followed
4. $15.00 Seberate 55.5 Damien Oliver
5. $12.00 Run Naan 55.5 Andrew Mallyon
6. $101.00 Titan Blinders 55.5 Stephen Baster
7. $5.50 High Ratio 55.5 Michael Dee
8. $81.00 The Running Man 55.5 Dwayne Dunn
9. $101.00 Halvorsen 55.5 Jye McNeil
10. $6.50 Ollivander 55.5 Chris Symons
11. $17.00 Ben Hercules 55.5 Craig Williams
12. $51.00 Hinchrider 55.5 Regan Bayliss
13. $15.00 Bionics 55.5 Damian Lane

Margins: 0.5 len, 1.5 len
Time: 1:04.98

A number of group races take place on CF Orr Stakes day alongside the Blue Diamond Preludes, including the Gr2 Autumn Stakes, Gr3 Rubiton Stakes, Gr3 Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes, Gr3 Carlyon Cup & Gr3 Boronia Stakes.

Bet now on the Blue Diamond Prelude (C)

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Blue Diamond Prelude (C) odds.

Blue Diamond Prelude (C) winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Written By Plague Stone Native Soldier 1:04.9
2017 Property Pariah Wait For No-One 1:03.8
2016 Flying Artie Star Turn China Dream 1:03.0
2015 Of The Brave Pride Of Dubai Sampeah 1:03.6
2014 Rubick Jabali Chivalry 1:03.7
2013 Kuroshio The Bowler Dissident 1:04.0
2012 General Rippa Rusambo Ferment 1:04.1
2011 Sepoy Running Tall Huegill 1:03.0
2010 Beneteau General Truce The Greatandthegood 1:02.5
2009 Real Saga Reward For Effort Starspangledbanner 1:03.7
2008 Wilander Exceedingly Good Minnesota Shark 1:03.9
2007 Shrewd Rhythm Zizou Victory Chant 1:03.4
2006 Due Sasso Wonderful World Swinging Bachelor 1:03.4
2005 Perfectly Ready The Rhine Bradbury's Luck 1:03.9
2004 Way West Oratorio Sanziro 1:03.4
2003 Hammerbeam Murphy's Blu Boy Scaredee Cat 1:03.7
2002 Bel Esprit Cool Trent Step Ahead 1:05.2
2001 Lonhro Niewand Tosamba 1:03.3
2000 Happy Giggle Lord Dane Sparks 1:04.6
1999 Charm Scene Land Real Jester Cullen 1:04.8
1998 Prowl Shovhog Special Edition 1:03.9
1997 Millward Evader Sports 1:05.6
1996 Winger Charger Polish Native Red Rascal 1:06.8
1995 Flying Spur Shaded Backgammon 1:05.3
1994 Danzero Western Beat Cannibal King 1:03.6
1993 Alacqua St Rory Pride Of Rancho 1:05.3
1992 Yachtie Just Juan Landsdowne Road 1:04.0
1991 Chief Headhunter Group Decision Noble Lancer 1:03.7
1990 Unspoken Word Trustful Satellite Bay 1:03.7
1989 Ark Regal Mabrook High Waters 1:04.7
1988 Nanutarra King's High My Bright Boy 1:04.8