horse racing info

Australasian Oaks

The Australasian Oaks is a Group 1 race for three-year-old fillies that takes place in May at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres for fillies only and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Australasian Oaks was won by Sopressa from Sheezdashing with Miss Admiration third.

Held on the same day as the Gr1 Robert Sangster Stakes, the Australasian Oaks has been run as the 'Schweppes Stakes' in recent years and takes place alongside the Gr2 Queen Of The South Stakes & Gr3 DC Mckay Stakes.

Australasian Oaks info

Date: Saturday 5th May 2018
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2018 Winner: Sopressa

The Australasian Oaks is the premier middle distance staying race for three-year-old fillies during the autumn racing carnival in Adelaide and the set weight conditions of the race suits the better fillies entered. Typically made up of more than handy local fillies, the Australasian Oaks also attracts any interested visitors from other states who choose to make the trek to Adelaide in search of Group 1 success.

The Australiasian Oaks provides the ideal lead up race to the upcoming Gr3 SA Oaks over 2400m at the same track. A race such as the Gr3 Auraria Stakes over 1800m at Morphettville on Gr3 RN Irwin Stakes day earlier in the carnival is a typical lead-up event to this race. In recent times May's Dream (2014) & Maybe Discreet (2013) both placed in the Auraria Stakes on their way to winning this race.

Occasionally a quality female galloper may contest this event and go on to bigger and better things, such as Delicacy (2015) & Zarita (2008), who both managed to beat the colts & geldings in the Gr1 SA Derby later in the carnival, while Southern Speed (3rd in 2011) went on to win the Gr1 Caulfield Cup the following spring at Caulfield in Melbourne. Darren Weir trained filly Kenedna (2nd in 2017) headed north to Brisbane to win the Gr2 Doomben Roses at Doomben racecourse in Queensland.

Sopressa (2018) took out the Auraria Stakes over 1800m at Morphettville before scoring an impressive victory in this event and recent Australasian Oaks winners include Egg Tart (2017) and Abbey Marie (2016).

2018 Australasian Oaks result

1. $6.50 Sopressa 56.0 Harry Coffey
2. $16.00 Sheezdashing 56.0 Damien Thornton
3. $26.00 Miss Admiration 56.0 Ben Melham

then followed
4. $21.00 Pleasuring 56.0 Damian Lane
5. $5.50 Think Bleue 56.0 John Allen
6. $5.50 Aloisia 56.0 Mark Zahra
7. $5.00 Savacool 56.0 Damien Oliver
8. $21.00 Semari 56.0 Dwayne Dunn
9. $18.00 Temple Of Bel 56.0 Craig Williams
10. $61.00 Pure Scot 56.0 Regan Bayliss
11. $41.00 Pretty To Sea 56.0 Michael Dee
12. $51.00 Earth Angel 56.0 Joe Bowditch
13. $31.00 Velocita 56.0 Stephen Baster
14. $12.00 Bring Me Roses 56.0 Luke Currie

Margins: 0.3 len, 0.1 len
Time: 2:04.34

Bet now on the Australasian Oaks

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Australasian Oaks odds.

Australasian Oaks winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Sopressa Sheezdashing Miss Admiration 2:04.3
2017 Egg Tart Kenedna Ana Royale 2:04.3
2016 Abbey Marie Silent Sedition C'est Beau La Vie 2:04.1
2015 Delicacy Fenway Bahamas 2:03.3
2014 May's Dream Star Fashion Scratchy Bottom 2:04.8
2013 Maybe Discreet Grand Daughter La Zuma 2:07.0
2012 Invest Our Miss Jones Essence 2:06.9
2011 Lights Of Heaven Absolutely Southern Speed 2:05.3
2010 Small Minds No Evidence Needed Ipioga 2:06.4
2009 Gallica Estee Miss Lily Rose 2:03.8
2008 Zarita Moment In Time Queen Of Queens 2:04.3
2007 Anamato Cancanelle Devil Moon 2:02.2
2006 Marju Snip Zenarta Fanciful Bella 2:04.4
2005 Irish Darling Kylikwong Hveger 2:04.4
2004 Rinky Dink Star Of Grechen Dane Belltar 2:04.3
2003 Sound Action Milanova Great Anna 2:05.1
2002 Tully Thunder Shes Archie Arboretum 2:03.3
2001 Tempest Morn South Sea Pearl Glitzy Guru 2:07.1
2000 Grand Echezeaux Umaline Porto Roca 2:04.3
1999 Episode Grand Archway Toy Carousel 2:04.2
1998 La Volta Pavan Madonna 2:07.0
1997 Minegold Prairie Derobe 2:09.9
1996 Leica Smile Miss Margaret Ester Kelly 2:05.2
1995 Yelgun Dawn Tranquility Danarani 2:03.4
1994 Tristalove Pindi Our Mess 2:02.4
1993 Our Tristalight Western Classic The Penny 2:04.0
1992 Gatherneaux My Brilliant Star Bold Alliance 2:02.2
1991 Mannerism Shavano Miss Angel Baby 2:02.2
1990 Belle Chanson Tasteful Encounter Our Freeze Frame 2:03.4
1989 Stapleton Lass Memphis Blues Scollata 2:03.4
1988 Imposera Fire Twig Bianco Flyer 2:05.1