horse racing info

Robert Sangster Stakes

The Robert Sangster Stakes is a Group 1 fillies & mares race held in May at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia, during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival. The race is a weight-for-age event for females only and run over a distance of 1200 metres with $1,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Robert Sangster Stakes was won by Secret Agenda from Viddora with I Am A Star third.

Held on the same day as the Group 1 Australasian Oaks, the Robert Sangster Stakes has been run as the 'Úbet Classic' in recent years and is held alongside the Group 2 Queen Of The South Stakes & Gr3 DC Mckay Stakes.

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes info

Date: Saturday 5th May 2018
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Weight for age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2017 Winner: Secret Agenda

The Robert Sangster Stakes is the premier sprint event for females during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival and being a Group 1 race for fillies & mares, it typically attracts good class interstate gallopers searching for group one glory. The race tends to assemble a field of mostly local gallopers and some above average types from other states.

Quite often a top class horse will make the trip to Adelaide for this race, such as Black Caviar (2012) and Miss Andretti (2008), and the Robert Sangster Stakes has been won by some more than handy types over the years. The Gr3 RN Irwin Stakes is a good lead-up event to the Sangster Stakes and Driefontein (2014) was the last galloper to take out both races in the same year.

Top mares Alinghi (2005), Our Egyptian Raine (2003), Apple Danish (1997) and With Me (1991) were all successful in this race, while champion mare Black Caviar & Australian Thoroughbred Bloodstock mare Platelet (2013) went on to win the Gr1 Goodwood at their next after winning the Sangster Stakes. Platelet returned the following year to finish runner-up behind Driefontein, following a second place finish in the Irwin Stakes beforehand.

Secret Agenda (2017) won the Gr2 Sapphire Stakes over 1200m at Randwick in Sydney before travelling to Adelaide to win this event in comfortable style and recent Robert Sangster Stakes winners include Precious Gem (2016) and Miracles Of Life (2015).

2017 Robert Sangster Stakes result

1. $15.00 Secret Agenda 56.5 Damien Oliver
2. $8.50 Viddora 56.5 Joe Bowditch
3. $6.00 I Am A Star 55.0 Dean Yendall

then followed
4. $31.00 Missrock 55.0 Damian Lane
5. $7.00 Egyptian Symbol 56.5 Jason Collett
6. $6.50 English 56.5 Ben Melham
7. $26.00 I Am Zelady 56.5 Noel Callow
8. $31.00 Legless Veuve 55.0 Regan Bayliss
9. $21.00 Ravi 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
10. $7.50 Super Cash 56.5 Ms Katelyn Mallyon
11. $4.80 Sheidel 56.5 Joao Moreira
12. $31.00 Miss Gunpowder 56.5 Dwayne Dunn
13. $101.00 Every Faith 56.5 Daniel Moor
14. $81.00 Cavaloce 56.5 Mark Zahra
15. $16.00 Now Or Later 56.5 Craig Williams
16. $51.00 A Lotta Love 56.5 Jamie Mott
17. $81.00 Beautiful Flyer 56.5 Paul Gatt
18. $91.00 Hear The Chant 55.0 Cory Parish
19. $61.00 Scarlet Billows 56.5 John Allen
20. $51.00 Lake Como 56.5 Stephen Baster

Margins: 1.8 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:09.15

Bet now on the Robert Sangster Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Robert Sangster Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Secret Agenda Viddora I Am A Star 1:09.1
2016 Precious Gem Sheidel I Love It 1:09.4
2015 Miracles Of Life Gregers I Love It 1:09.7
2014 Driefontein Platelet Gregers 1:09.2
2013 Platelet Angelic Light Yosei 1:11.0
2012 Black Caviar Sistine Angel Power Princess 1:10.6
2011 Response Beaded Miss Octopussy 1:09.0
2010 Rostova Velocitea Sister Madly 1:09.4
2009 Bel Mer Hidden Energy Impressive Eagle 1:09.5
2008 Juste Momente Zipanese Serious Speed 1:09.7
2007 Universal Queen Media Flying Object 1:08.3
2006 Ellicorsam Social Glow Truly Wicked 1:09.7
2005 Alinghi Glamour Puss Solar Antiquity 1:08.7
2004 French Bid Fly For Me Social Glow 1:09.0
2003 Our Egyptian Raine Brief Embrace Dama De Noche 1:08.7
2002 Suzy Grey Regal Kiss Lady Belvedere 1:13.2
2001 Umaline Fayrouz Crixia 1:08.1
2000 Rain Dance Lady Tapalinga Daninkling 1:09.1
1999 Dantelah My Millennium Speedy Kids 1:07.9
1998 Spirit Of Love Will Fly Rose Of Danehill 1:09.9
1997 Apple Danish Bionic Bess Zeya 1:10.5
1996 Mad Shaviri Twilight Precieux Viminaria 1:10.9
1995 Viminaria Peebinga Princess Procrastinate 1:08.9
1994 Tarare Gatana Bourverie Mist 1:09.5
1993 True Spirit Kibaha Star Tarare 1:09.4
1992 Western Chorus In The Bahamas Take The Road 1:08.4
1991 With Me Beachside Dunyasha 1:09.9
1990 Leica Western Heavenly View Tropine Queen 1:09.8
1989 Tree Of Renown Iolani Bay Mardisi 1:10.9
1988 Even True Strawberry Fair Spirit Of Emily 1:11.0