horse racing info

Auraria Stakes

The Auraria Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-old fillies that takes place each year in April at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1800 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and worth $120,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Auraria Stakes was won by Kenedna from With A Bit Of Dash with Sebring Dream third.

Held on the same day as the weight-for-age Group 3 RN Irwin Stakes, the Auraria Stakes has been run as the 'Schweppervescence Stakes' in recent years.

2018 Auraria Stakes info

Date: Saturday 21st April 2018
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $120,000
2017 Winner: Kenedna

The Auraria Stakes is a three-year-old race for females only and more often than not will assemble a field of mainly local filleis of average ability, with the winner going on to become a more than handy mare and typically not rising to any great heights.

This race suits gallopers who may go on tackle other fillies only races like the Gr1 Australasian Oaks over 2000m or the Gr2 Queen Of The South Stakes over 1600m and Maybe Discreet (2nd in 2013) won the Australasian Oaks at her next start after finishing runner-up in the Auraria Stakes.

In recent times Invest (4th in 2012) won the Australasian Oaks after finishing fourth in this race, while Southern Speed (2nd in 2011) & Absolutely (3rd in 2011) both placed in the Australasian Oaks after finishing second & third in the Auraria Stakes.

Occasionally this race may produce some quality types who go on to bigger and better things, as it did with classy mare Silent Sedition (2016), who took out the Gr1 William Reid Stakes at Moonee Valley in Melbourne the following autumn. In 2011, runner-up Southern Speed went on to win the Gr1 Caulfield Cup the following spring in Melbourne, while third placegetter Absolutely headed to Sydney at her next start to win the Gr1 ATC Australian Oaks at Randwick.

Kenedna (2017) won the Listed Laelia Stakes over 1600m at Morphettville before scoring a strong victory in this event and recent Auraria Stakes winners include Silent Sedition (2016) and Fitocracy (2015).

2017 Auraria Stakes result

1. $2.70 Kenedna 56.0 John Allen
2. $18.00 With A Bit Of Dash 54.0 Ms Jamie Kah
3. $12.00 Sebring Dream 54.0 Jason Holder

then followed
4. $11.00 Sedanzer 54.0 Daniel Ganderton
5. $81.00 Something More 54.0 Ryan Hurdle
6. $13.00 Smart As You Think 54.0 Jason Benbow
7. $12.00 Pretty Punk 55.0 Clare Lindop
8. $71.00 Tiffany’S Lass 54.0 Jake Toeroek
9. $101.00 Sparkle 54.0 Justin Potter
10. $5.50 Savvy Dreams 54.0 Paul Gatt
11. $101.00 Miss Identified 54.0 Todd Pannell
12. $12.00 Mrs Gardenia 54.0 Declan Bates
13. $26.00 Fastbrook 54.0 Brian Higgins
14. $18.00 Domesticated 54.0 Mitchell Aitken
15. $31.00 I’M A Princess 54.0 Damien Thornton
16. $51.00 Bloodlette 54.0 Ms Emily Finnegan
17. $10.00 Peninsula Links 54.0 Chris Parnham

Margins: 1.6 len, 1.1 len
Time: 1:50.52

Bet now on the Auraria Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Auraria Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Kenedna With A Bit Of Dash Sebring Dream 1:50.5
2016 Silent Sedition C'est Beau La Vie Comprende 1:48.8
2015 Fitocracy Kansas Sunflower Choix De Maia 1:52.4
2014 Girl In Flight In Masquerade May's Dream 1:50.7
2013 Global Balance Maybe Discreet Swinging Soldier 1:50.5
2012 Crucial Rahveel Crimson Lady 1:50.5
2011 Shylight Southern Speed Absolutely 1:50.6
2010 Fairy Oak El Spark Legislature 1:50.3
2009 Princess Pulse Bronislava Calm Customer 1:51.8
2008 Moment In Time Zodiac Queen Gratis 1:50.9
2007 Devil Moon Zedafest Tahnee Tango 1:48.0
2006 Purde Fanciful Bella Gothic Marian 1:50.4
2005 Overclock Vintner Moet Magic 1:51.1
2004 Dane Belltar Revolutions Niagara Falls 1:51.4
2003 Yvonne Tarcoola Diamond Pipkin 1:51.6
2002 Clothilde Tully Thunder Allez France 1:49.2
2001 Shelbourne Lass Lolita Star Sylvaner 1:50.4
2000 Grand Echezeaux Voile D Or Glenola 1:50.8
1999 Episode Nina Haraka Tarazeel 1:49.6
1998 La Volta Court Dancer Lisas Game 1:49.7
1997 Exalted Miss Regal Crown Will Fly 1:50.3
1996 Miss Margaret Not On Friday Innocent Affair 1:50.8
1995 Tranquility New Smyrna Cherontessa 1:49.1
1994 Ascona Futile Shaggy Bob 1:49.2
1993 Prime Again Worlds Away Mustinalla 1:51.9
1992 Gatherneaux My Hearts Delight Shadwell Lass 1:51.1
1991 Shavano Miss Angel Baby Toy Rani 1:48.5
1990 Alleged Lady Belle Chanson Swift Edition 1:51.0
1989 Our Libra Lady Imposing Bloom Eboneste 1:50.4
1988 Faithful Thought Fire Twig Sister Shirley 1:51.8