horse racing info

SA Derby

The SA Derby is a Group 1 race for three-year-olds that takes place annually in early May at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2500 metres under set weight conditions and is worth $600,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 SA Derby was won by Volatile Mix from Ruthven with Odeon third.

One of two group races on the day, the SA Derby is held alongside the Group 2 Sire Produce Stakes for two-year-olds.

2018 SA Derby info

Date: Saturday 12th May 2018
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 2500 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $600,000
2017 Winner: Volatile Mix

The SA Derby is the premier staying race for three-year-olds during the autumn racing carnival in Adelaide and the 2500m distance of the race provides a true staying test for those 3yo gallopers engaged. The set weight conditions of the race gives a distinct advantage to the best three-year-old performers in the race.

Competitive three-year-old colts & geldings who contested the Gr3 Chairmans Stakes the previous week at Morphettville will likely tackle this event, while Fillies who contested the Gr1 Australasian Oaks earlier in the carnival may decide to take on the males in this race. Howard Be Thy Name (2016) was the last three-year-old to claim the Chairman's Stakes and SA Derby double.

Kushadasi (2014) finished fourth in the Chairman's Stakes before winning the Derby, while Echoes Of Heaven (2nd in 2011) came third in the Chairmans Stakes before running second in this race.

The SA Derby generally attracts above average three-year-olds and over the years has provided a Caulfield Cup winner & placegetter with Mummify (2003) winning the 2003 Caulfield Cup and then finishing third the following year in 2004.

Count Chivas (1995) and Shivas Revenge (1991) both went on to run second in a Melbourne Cup after winning this race, while Subzero (1992) was good enough to win our most famous race the same year he won the SA Derby. More recently Rebel Raider (2009) scored an upset win in the 2008 AAMI Victoria Derby at Flemington before thrashing his rivals in this race the following autumn.

New Zealand galloper Werther (2nd in 2015) travelled to Brisbane, Queensland, to win the weight-for-age Gr2 PJ O'Shea Stakes at Doomben after finishing second in the SA Derby.

Volatile Mix (2017) ran fourth in the Gr3 Chairman's Stakes over 2013m at Morphettville before taking out this event and recent SA Derby winners include Howard Be Thy Name (2016) and Delicacy (2015).

2017 SA Derby result

1. $16.00 Volatile Mix 56.5 John Allen
2. $4.00 Ruthven 56.5 Mark Zahra
3. $3.20 Odeon 56.5 Damian Lane

then followed
4. $17.00 Savvy Dreams 54.5 Paul Gatt
5. $18.00 Anaheim 56.5 Ben Melham
6. $6.00 Netherfield 56.5 Damien Oliver
7. $12.00 Grand Chancellor 56.5 Noel Callow
8. $41.00 Lycurgus 56.5 Ms Katelyn Mallyon
9. $51.00 Wheal Leisure 54.5 Jordan Childs
10. $71.00 Casta 56.5 Luke Currie
11. $61.00 Dornier 56.5 Ryan Maloney
12. $21.00 He Ekscels 56.5 Jamie Mott
13. $21.00 Sedanzer 54.5 Stephen Baster
14. $51.00 Gun Guru 56.5 Jason Holder

Margins: 0.6 len, 2.3 len
Time: 2:37.09

Bet now on the SA Derby

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

SA Derby recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Volatile Mix Ruthven Odeon 2:37.0
2016 Howard Be Thy Name Etymology Cool Chap 2:40.0
2015 Delicacy Werther Allergic 2:37.9
2014 Kushadasi Scratchy Bottom Best Case 2:41.9
2013 Escado Hioctdane Shoreham 2:39.0
2012 Zabeelionaire Sabrage Westsouthwest 2:42.1
2011 Shadows In The Sun Echoes Of Heaven Lalla Rookh 2:39.8
2010 Kidnapped Red Colossus Sea Galleon 2:37.2
2009 Rebel Raider Astro Gains Fitoussi 2:40.3
2008 Zarita Zagreb Neugine 2:39.5
2007 Lazer Sharp Classic De Lago Red Lord 2:37.8
2006 Testafiable Empire Gold Irazu 2:43.3
2005 Tails Of Triomphe Douro Valley Kamsky 2:37.7
2004 Hard To Get On A Jeune Better Jetsetter 2:37.1
2003 Mummify Vicksburgh Lord Wooburn 2:38.7
2002 Pantani Silver Baron Lester Thunderwing 2:37.8
2001 Big Pat Bush Padre Adolescence 2:36.2
2000 Blue Murder Mr Nelson Voile D'Or 2:38.4
1999 Showella Seasquill Our Position 2:36.7
1998 Bulta Prince Standaan The Hind 2:39.2
1997 Markham Kings Landing Derobe 2:39.8
1996 Cheviot Hurricane Storm Pay Back Time 2:36.8
1995 Count Chivas Storm Scrupulous 2:38.6
1994 Bullwinkle Battle Hawk Paxmat Will 2:31.9
1993 Our Pompeii Sentaway McBrave 2:32.8
1992 Subzero Dark Ksar Tolomeran 2:35.1
1991 Shivas Revenge All Mine Brave Expectations 2:33.4
1990 Diego Double Gin Red Chase 2:29.4
1989 Sea Brigand The Phantom Bar Landy 2:33.3
1988 Celtic Spirit Kaapstad Apollo Run 2:30.0