May: BTC Cup
June: Queensland Oaks : Stradbroke : Queensland Derby : Atkins Stakes : Tatts Tiara

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Queensland Derby

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
ladbrokes Ladbrokes 500 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The Queensland Derby is a Group 1 classic race for three-year-olds that takes place annually each June at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 2200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $600,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Queensland Derby was won by Eagle Way from Rodrico with I'm Belucci third.

The Queensland Derby is held on Eagle Farm's premier race day of the year which is Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap day and also includes the Group 1 The TJ Smith for two-year-olds.

2017 Queensland Derby info
Date: Saturday 10th June 2017
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 2200 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $600,000
2016 Winner: Eagle Way

The Queensland Derby was first run in 1871 and is the premier staying event for three-year-olds during the Brisbane winter carnival. It is a set weight race over the traditional Derby distance of 2400m. The race typically attracts local three-year-olds and any interstate horses aiming to win an easier Derby event than the AJC Derby in Sydney or the Victoria Derby in Melbourne.

The Gr3 Grand Prix Stakes and Gr3 Rough Habit Plate held earlier in the winter carnival at Doomben are the most common Derby lead up races and both races have provided multiple Derby winners of late, including Hawkspur (2013) & Brambles (2012) who took out all three races.

In recent times Kutchinsky (2nd in 2010) ran second in the Grand Prix Stakes before finishing runner-up in the Queensland Derby, while Ice Chariot (2006) managed to win the Grand Prix Stakes & Queensland Derby double and Empires Choice (2007) claimed the Rough Habit & Qld Derby double.

Talented stayer Shocking (2nd in 2009) ran second in the Queensland Derby before going on to win the Gr1 Melbourne Cup in November of that year at Flemington racecourse during the Melbourne spring carnival.

Eagle Way (2016) finished runner-up in the Grand Prix Stakes over 2200m at Doomben before taking out this event and recent Queensland Derby winners include Magicool (2015) and Sonntag (2014).

2016 Queensland Derby result
1. $7.00 Eagle Way 57.0 Tommy Berry
2. $26.00 Rodrico 57.0 Joao Moreira
3. $21.00 I'm Belucci 57.0 Jim Byrne

then followed
4. $3.50 Howard Be Thy Name 57.0 Brad Rawiller
5. $31.00 Brazen 57.0 Zac Purton
6. $51.00 Red Alto 57.0 Damien Oliver
7. $7.00 Etymology 57.0 James McDonald
8. $10.00 Encosta Line 57.0 Hugh Bowman
9. $61.00 Admiral Jello 57.0 Aaron Bullock
10. $81.00 Harvard 57.0 Dwayne Dunn
11. $7.50 Eschiele 57.0 Damian Browne
12. $31.00 Multifacets 57.0 Tim Clark
13. $201.00 Slaughter Bay 57.0 James Orman
14. $101.00 Maven Wiz 57.0 Tye Angland
15. $26.00 Cylinder Beach 57.0 Michael Cahill
16. $101.00 Snapper 57.0 Ryan Wiggins
17. $151.00 Star Zone 57.0 Jason Collett
18. $4.60 Mackintosh 57.0 Blake Shinn

Margins: 1.8L, 1.8L
Time: 2:32.80

The Gr2 Brisbane Cup and Gr2 Dane Ripper Quality are also held on the same day as the Queensland Derby.

Bet now on the Queensland Derby
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
Queensland Derby recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Eagle Way Rodrico I'm Belucci 2:32.8
2015 Magicool Werther Jumbo Prince 1:35.4
2014 Sonntag Pinstripe Lane Vilanova 2:28.3
2013 Hawkspur Electric Fusion Honorius 2:27.8
2012 Brambles Quintessential Westsouthwest 2:29.7
2011 Shootoff Shez Sinsational Heidilicious 2:28.7
2010 Dariana Kutchinsky Miss Keepsake 2:26.4
2009 Court Ruler Shocking Larry's Never Late 2:34.4
2008 Riva San Petushki Moatize 2:36.9
2007 Empires Choice Volcanic Star Sirmione 2:32.9
2006 Ice Chariot Cape Breton Loanhead 2:30.6
2005 Lachlan River Lords A Leaping Vitesse Dane 2:26.5
2004 Toulouse Lautrec Devastating Set Up 2:26.5
2003 Half Hennessy Schumpeter King Of Them All 2:27.7
2002 County Tyrone Galroof Miss Bussell 2:29.0
2001 De Gaulle Lane Tempest Morn Lottery Prize 2:25.2
2000 Freemason Citras Prince Maguire 2:27.3
1999 Camarena Figurehead Skoozi Please 2:33.6
1998 Dodge Melora Bluebird The Word 2:29.1
1997 Yippyio Marble Halls Summer Beau 2:31.9
1996 Valance Super Slew Revenge 2:29.6
1995 Turridu Brave Warrior Starmaker 2:25.9
1994 Tenor Paris Lane What A Poet 2:26.4
1993 Air Seattle Palate Play Or Pay 2:29.4
1992 Royal Magic In The Event Cavallieri 2:29.1
1991 Dorset Downs Lees Bid Moods 2:34.0
1990 Rough Habit Rays Hope Castletown 2:39.3
1989 Hidden Rhythm Chill Factor High Hunter 2:35.2
1988 Bravery Imprecetto Judyann 2:29.0

The 2015 Queensland Derby was run over 2200m at Doomben.

Best Australian Bookmaker for Queensland Derby free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.