April: Doncaster Hcp : TJ Smith Stakes : ATC Derby : Sires Produce Stakes : Queen Elizabeth Stakes : Sydney Cup : ATC Oaks : Queen Of The Turf Stakes : All Aged Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Makybe Diva Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The Makybe Diva Stakes is a Group 1 event raced under weight-for-age conditions each year in September at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $400,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Makybe Diva Stakes was won by Palentino from Black Heart Bart with He Or She third.

Formerly known as the Craiglee Stakes, the race was changed to the Makybe Diva Stakes in 2007 in honour of champion mare and three time Melbourne Cup winner, Makybe Diva, and was upgraded from Group 2 to Group 1 status for the 2013/2014 racing season.

2017 Makybe Diva Stakes info
Date: Saturday 9th September 2017
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $400,000
2016 Winner: Palentino

The Makybe Diva Stakes generally attracts quality gallopers and the race itself signals the beginning of better middle distance races to come during the Melbourne spring racing carnival.

Being over 1600 metres, the race distance can suit a solid sprinter or an up and coming stayer, and the roomy Flemington track with it's long straight gives all types of horses a chance, whether they race on the pace or come from behind.

The Makybe Diva Stakes is the first group race over a mile for the new Victorian racing season and provides the ideal lead up race for the upcoming Gr1 Underwood Stakes at Caulfield and the Gr1 Turnbull Stakes the following month at Flemington.

In recent times the race has been a handy guide to future big race performers and is a race that sees classy performers go around year after year. Other group races on Makybe Diva Stakes Day include the Gr2 Danehill Stakes, Gr2 Let's Elope Stakes and Gr3 Bobbie Lewis Quality.

Palentino (2016) ran fifth in the Gr1 Memsie Stakes over 1400m at Caulfield before wearing down the short priced favourite Black Heart Bart to win this event and recent Makybe Diva Stakes winners include Fawkner (2015) and Dissident (2014).

spring racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide
The Makybe Diva Stakes is always a good guide to future big race winners during the spring and Black Heart Bart (2nd in 2016) won the Underwood Stakes at Caulfield after running second in this race. He Or She (3rd in 2016) ran second to Black Heart Bart in that race.

Foreteller (2013) finish runner-up in the Gr1 Caulfield Stakes after tasting success in this event.

Glass Harmonium (2nd in 2011) managed to finish second in the Turnbull Stakes at Flemington before winning the Gr1 Mackinnon Stakes at the same track, while Midas Touch (3rd in 2011) went on to run third in the Underwood Stakes at Caulfield.

Shocking (2010) ran second in the Turnbull Stakes at Flemington before returning in the autumn to win the Gr1 Australian Cup at the same track, while Monaco Consul (7th in 2010) finished runner-up in the Gr1 Caulfield Cup at Caulfield the following month.

Typhoon Tracy (2nd in 2009) took out the Gr2 Tristarc Stakes on Caulfield Cup day before scoring a brilliant win in the Gr1 Myer Classic on Derby day at Flemington.

2016 Makybe Diva Stakes result
1. $9.00 Palentino 58.5 Mark Zahra
2. $2.05 Black Heart Bart 59.0 Damien Oliver
3. $13.00 He Or She 59.0 Craig Williams

then followed
4. $31.00 Jacquinot Bay 59.0 Nicholas Hall
5. $13.00 Our Ivanhowe 59.0 Daniel Moor
6. $81.00 Prince Of Penzance 59.0 John Allen
7. $9.00 Rising Romance 57.0 Damian Lane
8. $51.00 Happy Trails 59.0 Ben Melham
9. $41.00 Sofia Rosa 56.5 Ms Danielle Johnson
10. $11.00 Tarzino 58.5 Craig Newitt
11. $21.00 Alpine Eagle 59.0 Luke Currie
12. $19.00 Entirely Platinum 59.0 Dwayne Dunn
13. $201.00 Ayers Rock 58.5 Luke Nolen

Margins: 1 len, 3 len
Time: 1:36.26

Bet now on the Makybe Diva Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
Makybe Diva Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Palentino Black Heart Bart He Or She 1:36.2
2015 Fawkner Rising Romance Entirely Platinum 1:37.9
2014 Dissident Fawkner Puissance De Lune 1:36.9
2013 Foreteller Puissance De Lune Moudre 1:37.0
2012 Southern Speed Manighar Moudre 1:37.8
2011 Littorio Glass Harmonium Midas Touch 1:37.8
2010 Shocking Heart Of Dreams Vigor 1:41.7
2009 Vigor Typhoon Tracy Master O'Reilly 1:35.8
2008 Weekend Hussler Zarita Littorio 1:38.6
2007 Marasco Apache Cat Zipping 1:36.7
2006 Pompeii Ruler Sphenophyta Zipping 1:38.5
2005 Confectioner Free At Last Our Smoking Joe 1:35.8
2004 Hugs Dancer Elvstoem Zagalia 1:38.2
2003 Pentastic Walk On Air Mummify 1:37.2
2002 Northerly Le Zagaletta Silver Baron 1:37.9
2001 Native Jazz Aka Bilk Universal Prince 1:37.4
2000 Go Flash Go Oliver Twist Showella 1:42.1
1999 Sky Heights Laebeel What Can I Say 1:37.3
1998 Umrum Darazari Our Unicorn 1:35.7
1997 Marble Halls Count Chivas Istidaad 1:37.6
1996 Saleous Sir Boom Alcove 1:38.5
1995 Jeune Mahogany Storm 1:35.0
1994 Mahogany State Taj Jeune 1:37.4
1993 Mannerism Air Seattle Our Pompeii 1:38.8
1992 Star Of The Realm Subzero Grooming 1:38.7
1991 Durbridge Prince Salieri Sydeston 1:37.9
1990 Zabeel Gopak Sydeston 1:36.5
1989 Apollo Run Almaarad Super Impose 1:37.2
1988 High Regard Rancho Ruler Flotilla 1:38.0
1987 Military Plume Society Bay Royal Heights 1:36.3
1986 King Phoenix At Talaq Always Summer 1:37.2
1985 Fine Offer Tristarc Kiwi Slave 1:44.3
1984 Prolific Beechcraft Vite Cheval 1:37.9
1983 Pleach Triumphal March Hyperno 1:43.3
1982 Rose Of Kingston Cobra Aliez Bijou 1:37.2
1981 Sovereign Red Deck The Halls Mr Independent 1:36.5
1980 Big Print Family Of Man My Brown Jug 1:36.6

Best Australian Bookmaker for Makybe Diva Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.