May: Doomben 10,000
June: Queensland Oaks : Stradbroke Hcp : Queensland Derby

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit just $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Caulfield Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill
sportsbet Sportsbet
centrebet Centrebet
palmerbet Palmerbet
betfair Betfair
unibet Unibet
luxbet Luxbet
crownbet CrownBet

Free Punters Club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Centrebet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service


Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

The Caulfield Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race that takes place at Caulfield racecourse during the Melbourne Spring racing carnival each October. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and worth $400,000 in prizemoney. The 2015 Caulfield Stakes was won by Criterion from Happy Trails with Mongolian Khan third.

Recently run as the 'Yalumba Stakes', the Caulfield Stakes is held on Gr1 Caulfield Guineas Day on the first day of the three day Caulfield racing carnival, alongside the Gr1 Toorak Handicap, and is one of the bigger race days of the spring.

The second day of the Caulfield carnival is held midweek the following Wednesday where the Gr1 Thousand Guineas for fillies takes place, while the third and final day on the following Saturday sees the the running of Caulfield's biggest race, the Gr1 Caulfield Cup.

Caulfield Stakes info
Date: Saturday 8th October 2016
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $400,000
2015 Winner: Criterion

The Caulfield Stakes is a level weights race that generally attracts quality gallopers each year and has been taken out by some of Australia's best horses over the years. The race is held a week prior to the Caulfield Cup and two weeks before the WS Cox Plate and the Caulfield Stakes is a great lead up event for both of those races.

History shows the Caulfield Stakes always provides a great guide to big race winners. Some of the great horses to win this race include Ocean Park (2012), So You Think (2010), Lonhro (2002-03), Northerly (2001), Might And Power (1998), Bonecrusher (1986) and champion galloper Kingston Town twice in 1981 & 1982.

Criterion (2015) finished sixth in the Juddmonte International over 2092m at York in England before returning to Australia to win this event in classy style and recent Caulfield Stakes winners include Fawkner (2014) and Atlantic Jewel (2013).

spring racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide
New Zealander Mongolian Khan (3rd in 2015) took out the Caulfield Cup after finishing third in this race, while Ocean Park (2012) captured the WS Cox Plate.

Alcopop (2nd in 2012) finished third in the Caulfield Cup before winning the Gr1 Mackinnon Stakes at Flemington on Derby day.

So You Think (2010) went on to taste success later in the spring in the WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley and the Mackinnon Stakes at Flemington, while Whobegotyou (3rd in 2010) ran third behind So You Think in the WS Cox Plate.

Whobegotyou (2009) ran second in the Gr1 Doomben 10,000 during the 2010 Brisbane winter carnival and then returned in the spring of 2010 to run second in the Gr1 Memsie Stakes before winning the Gr2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes.

Heart Of Dreams (2nd in 2009) ran placings in the Gr1 CF Orr Stakes and Gr2 St George Stakes the following autumn of 2010 before running placings in the Gr2 PB Lawrence Stakes and Gr1 Makybe Diva Stakes in the spring of 2010.

2015 Caulfield Stakes result
1. $7.50 Criterion 59.0 Michael Walker
2. $16.00 Happy Trails 59.0 Mark Zahra
3. $13.00 Mongolian Khan 58.0 Opie Bosson

then followed
4. $3.50 Kermadec 58.0 Glen Boss
5. $9.50 Contributer 59.0 Blake Shinn
6. $4.20 Fawkner 59.0 Craig Williams
7. $26.00 Entirely Platinum 59.0 Dwayne Dunn
8. $6.50 Pornichet 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy

Margins: 0.5L, 0.1L
Time: 2:02.02

Bet now on the Caulfield Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join centrebet Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'CentreBest+' Bet now
Caulfield Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2015 Criterion Happy Trails Mongolian Khan 2:02.0
2014 Fawkner Criterion Side Glance 2:01.6
2013 Atlantic Jewel Foreteller Super Cool 2:02.9
2012 Ocean Park Alcopop Sincero 2:04.7
2011 Descarado Avienus Lights of Heaven 2:02.5
2010 So You Think Alcopop Whobegotyou 2:02.4
2009 Whobegotyou Heart Of Dreams Vision And Power 2:01.5
2008 Douro Valley Pompeii Ruler Guillotine 2:04.3
2007 Maldivian Miss Finland Anamato 2:01.9
2006 Casual Pass Pompeii Ruler El Segundo 2:02.6
2005 El Segundo Fields Of Omagh Confectioner 2:04.8
2004 Mummify Grand Armee Starcraft 2:03.2
2003 Lonhro Mummify Defier 2:02.3
2002 Lonhro Sunline Ustinov 2:00.6
2001 Northerly Shogun Lodge Ethereal 2:02.5
2000 Sky Heights Shogun Lodge Tie The Knot 2:03.6
1999 Northern Drake Tie The Knot Aerosmith 2:02.1
1998 Might and Power Tycoon Lil Gold Guru 2:03.5
1997 Filante Alfa Tampir Lane 2:02.7
1996 Juggler Magnet Bay Peep On The Sly 2:05.3
1995 Danewin Its All In Fun Mr Marconee 2;02.7
1994 Rough Habit Jeune Paris Lane 2:03.7
1993 Naturalism The Phantom The Phantom Chance 2:04.7
1992 Castletown Heroicity Ramyah 2:09.8
1991 Shaftsbury Avenue Super Impose Sydeston 1:59.3
1990 Sydeston Super Impose Mickeys Town 2:03.0
1989 Almaraad Vitalic Vo Rogue 2:02.1
1988 Sky Chase Our Poetic Prince Its Candide 2:06.0
1987 Drought Fair Sir Rubiton 2:00.1
1986 Bonecrusher Black Knight My Tristrams Belle 2:00.6
1985 Tristarc Lacka Reason The Filbert 2:02.1
1984 Alibhai Prolific Beechcraft 2:02.1
1983 Mr McGinty Cossack Prince Cool River 2:00.1
1982 Kingston Town Debs Mate Allez Bijou 2:02.3
1981 Kingston Town Sovereign Red Hyperno 2;02.9
1980 Hyperno Kingston Town Waitangirua 2:03.3
1979 Mighty Kingdom Shivaree Arbre Chene 2:04.6
1978 Lloyd Boy Lefroy Ming Dynasty 2:02.3
1977 Family Of Man Unaware Royal Cadenza 2:00.7
1976 How Now Happy Union Perhaps 2:04.8
1975 Zambari Think Big Zambari 2:08.3

Best Australian Bookmaker for Caulfield Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2016 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.