April: Doncaster Hcp : TJ Smith Stakes : ATC Derby : Sires Produce Stakes : Queen Elizabeth Stakes : Sydney Cup : ATC Oaks : Queen Of The Turf Stakes : All Aged Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Turnbull Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The Turnbull Stakes is a Group 1 race for 4yo & upwards horses that takes place each year in early October at Flemington racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres under set weight & penalty conditions with $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Turnbull Stakes was won by Hartnell from Jameka with Tally third.

In 2005 the Turnbull Stakes was upgraded from Group 2 to Group 1 status and this race is one of the pivotal middle distance events of the spring.

2017 Turnbull Stakes info
Date: Saturday 7th October 2017
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 4yo&Up - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2016 Winner: Hartnell

The Turnbull Stakes is rated below the major Group 1 spring races like the Melbourne Cup and WS Cox Plate, but it is held in high esteem and has become a prestigious event on the racing calendar each year.

The race is the first quality 2000 metre event of the spring and gives staying types a chance to race over a more suitable middle distance with the upcoming Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup in mind. The Turnbull Stakes also provides a more than handy lead up race to the Caulfield Stakes at Caulfield the following week and the Caulfield Cup two weeks later.

The race itself has been a tremendous guide to winners of major spring races and a number of high class gallopers have managed to win this race. In recent years the Turnbull Stakes has provided multiple winners of the Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup and WS Cox Plate, and every year it continues to be a pivotal race for horses contesting the major Group 1 races to come.

The Turnbull Stakes always attracts top class gallopers and is one of the premier middle distance events of the spring carnival. History says to keep an eye on the Turnbull Stakes.

Hartnell (2016), like Preferment the year before, won the Gr2 Hill Stakes over 2000m at Randwick in Sydney before heading to Melbourne to win this event in brilliant style. Recent Turnbull Stakes winners have been Preferment (2015) and Lucia Valentina (2014).

spring racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide
Classy Ciaron Maher-trained mare Jameka scored a resounding victory in the Gr1 Caulfield Cup at Caulfield after finishing runner-up to Hartnell in this event. Hartnell (2016) finished an eight-length second to Winx in the Cox Plate following his easy Turnbull Stakes win.

Amralah (7th in 2015) headed to Caulfield next start to win the Gr2 Herbert Power Stakes in stylish fashion.

Fawkner (3rd in 2013) won the Caulfield Cup at his next start while Dear Demi (8th in 2013) ran third in the same race. Fiorente (4th in 2013) ran third in the Gr1 WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley before winning the Melbourne Cup at Flemington.

Green Moon (2012) went on to win the Melbourne Cup after taking out this event.

The 2011 Turnbull Stakes provided plenty of feature race winners later in the spring with Glass Harmonium (2011) claiming the Gr1 Mackinnon Stakes at Flemington, Playing God (3rd in 2011) winning the Gr1 Kingston Town Classic at Ascot, and Southern Speed (4th in 2011) taking out the Caulfield Cup at Caulfield. Rekindled Interest (5th in 2011) ran third in both the WS Cox Plate and Mackinnon Stakes.

Zipping (2010) went on to place in the WS Cox Plate for the third year in a row before going on to win the Group 2 Sandown Classic for the fourth consecutive year.

2016 Turnbull Stakes result
1. $1.90 Hartnell 57.5 James McDonald
2. $5.00 Jameka 54.5 Nicholas Hall
3. $19.00 Tally 55.5 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $20.00 Preferment 59.0 Hugh Bowman
5. $61.00 Happy Trails 57.5 Ben Melham
6. $31.00 Tarzino 58.0 Craig Newitt
7. $151.00 De Little Engine 54.5 Damian Lane
8. $21.00 Our Ivanhowe 57.5 Kerrin McEvoy
9. $8.50 Raw Impulse 54.5 Craig Williams
10. $17.00 Set Square 55.5 Luke Nolen
11. $31.00 Sofia Rosa 54.5 Ms Danielle Johnson
12. $101.00 Second Bullet 54.5 Dwayne Dunn

Margins: 3.25 len, 3.25 len
Time: 2:01.03

Bet now on the Turnbull Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
Turnbull Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Hartnell Jameka Tally 2:01.0
2015 Preferment Royal Descent Set Square 2:01.3
2014 Lucia Valentina Lidari Brambles 2:01.8
2013 Happy Trails Puissance De Lune Fawkner 2:02.9
2012 Green Moon Seville December Draw 2:02.1
2011 December Draw Glass Harmonium Playing God 2:03.9
2010 Zipping Shocking Shoot Out 2:03.2
2009 Efficient Predatory Pricer Scenic Shot 2:01.6
2008 Littorio Master O'Reilly Zipping 2:02.4
2007 Devil Moon Scenic Shot Haradasun 2:03.4
2006 Sphenophyta Our Smoking Joe Aqua D Amore 2:01.9
2005 Makybe Diva Lad Of The Manor Confectioner 2:01.5
2004 Elvstroem Mummify Confectioner 2:00.4
2003 Studebaker Pentastic Strasbourg 2:04.0
2002 Northerly Dash For Cash Fields Of Omagh 2:02.3
2001 Sunline Universal Prince Primrose Sands 2:03.9
2000 Fairway Sunline Diatribe 2:02.2
1999 Sky Heights Ruy Lopez Inaflury 2:04.6
1998 Aerosmith Gold Guru Our Unicorn 2:05.8
1997 Marble Halls Always Aloof Seascay 2:03.1
1996 Doriemus Beaux Art Cheviot 2:09.3
1995 All Our Mob Doriemus Sir Kingi 2:01.1
1994 Redding Paris Lane Tristalove 2:03.7
1993 The Phantom Chance Naturalism Kiwi Golfer 2:05.7
1992 Naturalism London Bridge Mr Eurostar 2:03.0
1991 Lets Elope Prince Salieri Renteeno 2:01.9
1990 Better Loosen Up Royal Creation Shuzohra 2:04.4
1989 Super Impose Research Sydeston 2:03.4
1988 Vo Rogue Apollo Run Ebeli Show 2:01.9
1987 Vo Rogue Fair Sir King Of Brooklyn 2:01.3
1986 Just Now Pharostan Cimarra 2:03.7
1985 Lacka Reason Our Sophia Glen Moriston 2:04.8
1984 Al Dwain Alibhai Beechcraft 2:04.9
1983 Chez Nous La Cocotte Malvita 2:02.0
1982 Birchwood Fearless Pride Prince Majestic 2:02.8
1981 No Peer Deck The Halls Saxon Slew 2:03.9
1980 Amarla Polo Player My Brown Jug 2:03.1

Best Australian Bookmaker for Turnbull Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.