April: Doncaster Hcp : TJ Smith Stakes : ATC Derby : Sires Produce Stakes : Queen Elizabeth Stakes : Sydney Cup : ATC Oaks : Queen Of The Turf Stakes : All Aged Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

AJ Moir Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The AJ Moir Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race that takes place in September each year at Moonee Valley during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1000 metres and worth $450,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 AJ Moir Stakes was won by Extreme Choice from Heatherly with Wild Rain third.

More recently known as the 'Schweppes Stakes' and run on Gr1 WS Cox Plate day in October, the AJ Moir Stakes has been run on AFL Grand Final eve in late September since the 2013/2014 racing season. It was upgraded to Group 1 status in 2013 after previously being a Group 2 race. In 2015, the AJ Moir Stakes was reduced from 1200m to 1000m providing the ideal lead-up to the Gr1 Manikato Stakes on Cox Plate eve.

2017 AJ Moir Stakes info
Date: Friday 29th September 2017
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $450,000
2016 Winner: Extreme Choice

The AJ Moir Stakes is one of the MVRC's major weight-for-age sprint events during the spring and while it does not quite have the status of races like the Manikato Stakes on Grand Final eve at the same track or the Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic at Flemington on Emirates Day, the race often attracts quality sprinters as history shows.

Over the years, top class gallopers such as Buffering (2012, 2014-15), Black Caviar (2010-2011), Apache Cat (2009), Miss Andretti (2007), Falvelon (2002), Schillaci (1992) and With Me (1990-91) have all won this race.

The AJ Moir Stakes is a race that suits good weight-for-age horses, especially those with an affinity for the tight Moonee Valley race track. The Gr2 Schillaci Stakes at Caulfield has generally been the best guide, although with the AJ Moir Stakes now taking place in September before the Schillaci Stakes in October, the AJ Moir Stakes may now prove to be the best guide to the Schillaci Stakes in years to come.

In the past three years Buffering (2012) & Black Caviar (2011-2010) have both taken out the AJ Moir Stakes & Schillaci Stakes double in the same year.

A race such as the Gr2 McEwen Stakes, run over 1000m at the same track a couple of weeks earlier, is likely to provide the best lead up to the AJ Moir Stakes, as it is raced under the same weight-for-age conditons and offers a natural progession in distance.

Extreme Choice (2016) was resuming from a spell before upsetting his older rivals to win this event and recent AJ Moir Stakes winners include Buffering (2014-15) and Samaready (2013).

spring racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide
Buffering (2012), Black Caviar (2010-11), Spinning Hill (2002), Mistegic (2001), Falvelon (2000), Magic Music (1999) and Show No Emotion (1998) have all taken out the AJ Moir Stakes & Schillaci Stakes double in recent times. Placegetters from the AJ Moir Stakes are ikely to go on and run well in the Schillaci Stakes.

Black Caviar (2010-11) went on the win the Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic at Flemington during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival for the second successive year, while Hot Danish (2nd in 2010) finished third in the Gr1 Myer Classic on Derby Day at Flemington.

2016 AJ Moir Stakes result
1. $5.00 Extreme Choice 52.0 Craig Newitt
2. $16.00 Heatherly 56.5 Damian Lane
3. $26.00 Wild Rain 56.5 Stephen Baster

then followed
4. $1.95 Chautauqua 58.5 Dwayne Dunn
5. $8.00 Buffering 58.5 Damian Browne
6. $21.00 Ball Of Muscle 58.5 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $12.00 Lucky Hussler 58.5 Brad Rawiller
8. $31.00 Redzel 58.5 Mark Zahra
9. $41.00 Chloe In Paris 56.5 Damien Oliver

Margins: 1.25 len, 0.10 len
Time: 0:58.74

Bet now on the AJ Moir Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
AJ Moir Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Extreme Choice Heatherly Wild Rain 0:58.7
2015 Buffering Ball Of Muscle Angelic Light 0:57.2
2014 Buffering Lankan Rupee Rebel Dane 1:10.9
2013 Samaready Buffering Le Bonsir 1:11.2
2012 Buffering Ready To Rip Thankgodyou'rehere 1:10.9
2011 Black Caviar Doubtful Jack Here De Angels 1:10.1
2010 Black Caviar Hot Danish True Persuasion 1:11.0
2009 Apache Cat Mic Mac Bank Robber 1:10.0
2008 Lucky Secret Bel Mer Mr Baritone 1:09.9
2007 Miss Andretti Gold Edition Let Go Thommo 1:10.6
2006 California Dane Let Go Thommo Poets Voice 0:58.4
2005 Virage De Fortune Miss Mooney Mooney Imprisoned 0:59.1
2004 Bomber Bill Regimental Gal Dance The Waves 0:58.4
2003 Our Egyptian Raine Spinning Hill Dantana 0:57.7
2002 Spinning Hill Bomber Bill Mistegic 0:57.7
2001 Mistegic Regal Shot Appoint 0:58.7
2000 Falvelon Notoire Super Elegant 0:59.8
1999 Magic Music Paint Spargo 0:57.5
1998 Show No Emotion Appoint Dance Beat 0:58.0
1997 Al Mansour Spartacus Ossie Cossie 0:57.4
1996 Spartacus Wry Hero Apple Danish 0:58.3
1995 Quality Gold Moss Rocket Poetic King 0:58.3
1994 Sequalo Alannon Keltrice 0:56.3
1993 Sports Works Schillaci Keltrice 0:56.5
1992 Schillaci Mookta Barcurra 0:57.4
1991 With Me Joanne Wrap Around 0:57.2
1990 With Me Street Ruffian Show County 0:56.3
1989 Clay Hero = 1 Good Old Ted =1 Prismatic Star 0:56.9
1988 Scarlet Bisque Redelva Rancho Ruler 0:58.6

Best Australian Bookmaker for AJ Moir Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.