September 2014: Golden Rose : Underwood Stakes : George Main Stakes : Moir Stakes : Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes October 2014: Turnbull Stakes : Epsom Hcp : The Metropolitan

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Enjoy a $500 BONUS BET when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet with a matched First Deposit Bonus up to $500! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Gilgai Stakes

Get the Best Odds at Betfair

Bet on Horse Racing at Centrebet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Racing at Sportingbet

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Free BlackBook Service


Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

The Gilgai Stakes is a Group 2 set weights and penalty race for three-year-old & upward horses held each year in early October at Flemington racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $250,000 in prizemoney. The 2013 Gilgai Stakes was won by Platelet from Spirit Of Boom with Steps In Time third.

Taking place on the same day as the Gr1 Turnbull Stakes, the Gilgai Stakes is run down the 1200 metre straight course at Flemington.

Gilgai Stakes info
Date: Saturday 4th October 2014
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo&Up - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $250,000
2013 Winner: Platelet

The Gilgai Stakes tends to attract more than handy sprinters rather than topliners and suits horses who have a preference for straight track racing. It pays to study previous track and distance form to look for horses who have form down the Flemington straight, as not all horses handle the straight track after racing around turns.

The Gilgai Stakes is an above average sprint race and winners and placegetters will most likely head towards the Gr2 Salinger Stakes on Derby Day or Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic on Emirates day which are both run down the straight course.

Platelet (2013) ran fourth in the Gr2 McEwen Stakes over 1000m at Moonee Valley before scoring a strong victory in this event and recent Gilgai Stakes winners include Hallowell Belle (2012) and Temple Of Boom (2011).


Spring Carnival Guide
Spirit Of Boom (2nd in 2013) won the Gr2 Caulfield Sprint after finishing runner-up in this event. The previous year he finished third in this race before running second in the Gr2 Salinger Stakes at Flemington. He then travelled to Perth to run third in the Gr1 Winterbottom Stakes at Ascot.

Hallowell Belle (2012) went on to finish 3rd behind Mental in the VRC Sprint Classic and King's Rose (2nd in 2012) finished runner-up in the Gr3 Moonga Stakes at Caulfield.

Temple of Boom (2011) managed to run 3rd in the Salinger Stakes at Flemington after winning this race while Response (3rd in 2011) finished third in the Gr2 Tristarc Stakes at Caulfield. Sistine Angel (2nd in 2011) went on to run second in the Gr3 Sandown Stakes at Sandown.

Chasm (3rd in 2010) went on to run third in the Salinger Stakes and Gr1 Emirates Stakes at Flemington during the four-day VRC carnival.

In the past few years the Gilgai Stakes has been a reasonable guide to the VRC Sprint Classic on Emirates Day with both All Silent (2009) and Swick (2008) winning the major sprint event later in the spring, while Stanzout (2007) ran 3rd in the VRC Sprint Classic.

First Command (2nd in 2009) managed to win the Gr2 Caulfield Sprint on Caulfield Cup day while Eagle Falls (5th in 2009) won the Salinger Stakes on Derby day.

2013 Gilgai Stakes result
1. $8.50 Platelet 56.0 Ms Michelle Payne
2. $8.50 Spirit Of Boom 57.0 Nicholas Hall
3. $5.00 Steps In Time 54.5 Michael Rodd

then followed
4. $4.40 Sessions 56.5 Steven Arnold
5. $9.50 Albrecht 55.5 Dwayne Dunn
6. $26.00 Mister Milton 55.5 Damian Lane
7. $18.00 Galah 57.0 Craig Newitt
8. $81.00 Go The Knuckle 57.0 Chad Schofield
9. $5.50 Aeronautical 55.5 Craig Williams
10. $61.00 Reflectance 55.0 Brett Prebble
11. $41.00 Griffon 55.0 Mark Zahra
12. $21.00 Smokin’ Joey 56.0 Glen Boss

Margins: 3/4 len, 1/2 head
Time: 1:10.19

Bet now on the Gilgai Stakes
Back or Lay your fancy at much Better Odds than the TAB Bet now
Get Best of the three Aussie Tabs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'CentreBest+' Bet now
Gilgai Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2013 Platelet Spirit Of Boom Steps In Time 1:10.1
2012 Hallowell Belle King's Rose Spirit Of Boom 1:08.8
2011 Temple Of Boom Sistine Angel Response 1:10.5
2010 Hay List Catapulted Chasm 1:08.2
2009 All Silent First Command Light Fantastic 1:09.8
2008 El Cambio Swick Murtajill 1:10.1
2007 Stanzout Shadoways Valedictum 1:10.4
2006 Fast N Famous Shadoways Dance Hero 1:08.3
2005 Falkirk Glamour Puss Recapitalize 1:07.9
2004 Recapitalize Falkirk Amtrak 1:09.2
2003 Bomber Bill Mr. Magoo Red Labelle 1:09.7
2002 Cosmic Strike Strategic Image Rubitano 1:09.3
2001 Belle Du Jour Point Danger Gold Class 1:10.4
2000 Bomber Bill Sports Umrum 1:08.6
1999 Black Bean Cannyanna Star Joe 1:09.8
1998 Rebel Dantelah Classic Day 1:09.6
1997 Rock You Always A Chance Wry Hero 1:09.5
1996 Poetic King Lion Hunter Rubidium 1:12.0
1995 Racer's Edge Rullene I Love Sydney 1:10.2
1994 Hareeba You Remember Simonstad 1:09.5
1993 Simonstad Danjiki Vladazair 1:10.8
1992 Storaia Tanjian Prince Tea Habit 1:09.2
1991 Vain Sovereign Redelva Mister Till 1:09.1
1990 Joanne Redelva Grandiose 1:09.1
1989 Grandiose Redelva Dark Beau 1:08.7
1988 Redelva Jet Fighter Franklin Pride 1:11.0

Best Australian Bookmaker for Gilgai Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2014 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.