May: Doomben 10,000
June: Queensland Oaks : Stradbroke Hcp : Queensland Derby

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit just $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Manikato Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill
sportsbet Sportsbet
centrebet Centrebet
palmerbet Palmerbet
betfair Betfair
unibet Unibet
luxbet Luxbet
crownbet CrownBet

Free Punters Club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Centrebet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service


Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

The Manikato Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race that takes place at Moonee Valley racecourse on Cox Plate eve in October during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $1,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2015 Manikato Stakes was won by Chautauqua from Srikandi with Rebel Dane third.

Taking place on the night before the Moonee Valley Racing Club's premier race day of the year, Gr1 WS Cox Plate day, the Manikato Stakes meeting provides the perfect entree top the main event the following day.

From 1968 to 1983 the race was known as the ‘Freeway Stakes’ and in 1984 the race was changed to honour the mighty Manikato who made Moonee Valley the scene of some his greatest triumphs.

Manikato was one of Australia's most loved racehorses back in the eighties and he won the Freeway Stakes twice and also scored five wins in a row in the William Reid stakes at this same track and distance. Manikato was an out and out champion who had 49 career starts for 29 wins and 13 places and he sadly passed away in 1984 after an illness and now lays at rest at the home of many of his greatest wins, Moonee Valley racecourse.

Manikato Stakes info
Date: Friday 21st October 2016
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2015 Winner: Chautauqua

The Manikato Stakes is run at level weights and is a race that is more often than not won by a top class horse who will go on to win more quality races during their career. The level weighted conditions of the race gives the better sprinters a decided advantage and gallopers contesting this event will most likely have tackled similar type sprint races along the way.

Now that this event is held on Cox Plate eve, races such as the Gr3 McEwen Stakes or Gr1 AJ Moir Stakes at Moonee Valley, or the Gr2 Schillaci Stakes at Caulfield, will provide good lead up races to the Manikato Stakes.

The list of recent winners include some of Australia's finest horse flesh with Sepoy (2011), Hay List (2010), Miss Andretti (2006), Redoute's Choice (1999) and Sunline (2000) all winning this event, while back in the eighties top sprinters such as Rancho Ruler (1988), Rubiton (1987) and Strawberry Road (1983) were all successful.

Chautauqua (2015) won the Gr2 Gilgai Stakes over 1200m at Flemington before scoring an outstanding victory in this event and and recent Manikato Stakes winners have been Lankan Rupee (2014) and Buffering (2013).

spring racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide
The Manikato Stakes is a good horse's race and apart from producing horses who go on to win or be very competitive in most of the major sprint races of the spring, it has also produced five WS Cox Plate winners of late, with Sunline (2000-01), Dane Ripper (1997), Rubiton (1987) and Strawberry Road (1983) all winning in recent times.

When the race was held earlier in the spring Hay List (2010) won the Gr 2 Gilgai Stakes at Flemington after winning this event and True Persuasion (2nd in 2010) ran third behind Black Caviar in the AJ Moir Stakes. Eagle Falls (3rd in 2010) took out the Gr1 Oakleigh Plate at Caulfield the following autumn.

Buffering (2013) headed to Flemington at his next start to win the Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic down the 1200m straight course to make it back to back Group 1 victories.

Mental (2nd in 2012), Sea Siren (2012) and Hallowell Belle (4th in 2012) filled the first three placings in the VRC Sprint Classic at Flemington on the final day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Cast a keen eye over the Manikato Stakes as there might be horses in the field who go on to feature in major sprint races later in the spring.

2015 Manikato Stakes result
1. $2.45 Chautauqua 58.5 Tommy Berry
2. $9.00 Srikandi 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $13.00 Rebel Dane 58.5 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $18.00 Fast 'n' Rocking 58.5 Michael Walker
5. $7.50 Buffering 58.5 Damian Browne
6. $101.00 Tiger Tees 58.5 Damien Oliver
7. $6.00 Terravista 58.5 James McDonald
8. $31.00 Griante 56.5 Steven Arnold
9. $15.00 Alpha Miss 56.5 Craig Williams
10. $26.00 Rich Enuff 58.5 Noel Callow

Margins: 2L, 0.1L
Time: 1:09.51

Bet now on the Manikato Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join centrebet Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'CentreBest+' Bet now
Manikato Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2015 Chautauqua Srikandi Rebel Dane 1:09.5
2014 Lankan Rupee Angelic Light Famous Seamus 1:10.3
2013 Buffering Lucky Nine Sessions 1:11.4
2012 Sea Siren Mental We're Gonna Rock 1:11.3
2011 Sepoy Sister Madly More Joyous 1:11.0
2010 Hay List True Persuasion Eagle Falls 1:09.9
2009 Danleigh Phelan Ready Nicconi 1:12.5
2008 Typhoon Zed Absolut Glam Kaphero 1:10.6
2007 Gold Edition Vormista Dr Nipandtuck 1:10.6
2006 Miss Andretti Dance Hero Sassbee 1:09.2
2005 Spark Of Life Perfectly Ready Our Egyptian Raine 1:11.5
2004 Spark Of Life Yell Dilly Dally 1:13.3
2003 Spinning Hill True Glo The Big Chill 1:11.2
2002 Spinning Hill Bel Esprit Mistegic 1:10.5
2001 Piavonic Sunline Falvelon 1:12.9
2000 Sunline Honour The Name Miss Pennymoney 1:11.6
1999 Redoutes Choice Marstic Flavour 1:14.5
1998 Dane Ripper Sir Boom Theatre 1:12.3
1997 Spartacus Poetic King Cut Up Rough 1:11.3
1996 Poetic King You Remember Sequalo 1:12.3
1995 You Remember Seascay Blevic 1:10.1
1994 Spanish Mix Primacy Chemin De Fer 1:10.6
1993 Never Undercharge Silver Neon Prince Acumen 1:13.6
1992 King Marauding Durbridge Yachtie 1:12.1
1991 Sonic Express Wrap Around Street Ruffian 1:12.6
1990 Street Ruffian Jet Fighter Kings High 1:12.1
1989 Our Westminster Vitalic Redelva 1:08.0
1988 Rancho Ruler Special Our Westminster 1:10.7
1987 Rubiton Dazzling Duke Caledonian Boy 1:10.5
1986 Lockleys Tradition Dazzling Duke Canny Lass 1:12.4
1985 Touch Of Genius Phoenix Rising Desalante 1:16.2
1984 Vite Cheval Centaine Lasers Fury 1:15.1
1983 Strawberry Road Red Tempo Brummel Who 1:14.9
1982 Manikato Qubeau Segovian Rhythm 1:10.8
1981 Silver Bounty Rangers Son Bold Prospect 1:17.0
1980 Grey Sapphire Family Of Man Arbogast 1:12.1

Best Australian Bookmaker for Manikato Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2016 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.