May: Doomben 10,000
June: Queensland Oaks : Stradbroke Hcp : Queensland Derby

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit just $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Schillaci Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill
sportsbet Sportsbet
centrebet Centrebet
palmerbet Palmerbet
betfair Betfair
unibet Unibet
luxbet Luxbet
crownbet CrownBet

Free Punters Club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Centrebet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service


Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

The Schillaci Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race held at Caulfield racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival each October. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres and worth $400,000 in prizemoney. The 2015 Schillaci Stakes was won by Alpha Miss from Cashed with Lankan Rupee third.

From 1970 to 1999 the race was known as the ‘Chirnside Stakes’ and from 2000 onwards the ‘Schillaci Stakes’, named after former outstanding sprinter Schillaci. The race takes place on the first day of the three-day Caulfield spring carnival alongside three Group 1 races, including the Caulfield Guineas, Toorak Handicap and Caulfield Stakes.

Schillaci Stakes info
Date: Saturday 8th October 2016
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $400,000
2015 Winner: Alpha Miss

The Schillaci Stakes is a good horse's race run over the sprint distance of 1100 metres under weight-for-age conditions and is a race that always attracts quality sprinters who often go on to be stars of the spring.

A number of outstanding sprinters have won the Schillaci Stakes in recent times including topliners such as Buffering (2012), Black Caviar (2010-11), Gold Edition (2007), Miss Andretti (2006), Falvelon (2000) and Mahogany (1997).

Races such as the Gr1 AJ Moir Stakes are handy lead-up races to this event and horses contesting this race may go on to the Gr1 Manikato Stakes on Cox Plate eve at Moonee Valley or the Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic at Flemington on Emirates Stakes Day.

Alpha Miss (2015) resumed from a lengthy spell to score an upset victory in this event and recent Schillaci Stakes winners include Rubick (2014) and Unpretentious (2013).

Spring Carnival Guide
The Schillaci Stakes has provided winners and placegetters in a number of spring group races of late and champion mare Black Caviar (2010-11) won this race in consecutive years along with the AJ Moir Stakes.

Apache Cat (2nd in 2009) went on to run second in the AJ Moir Stakes on Cox Plate day while Wanted (3rd in 2009) then ran second in the VRC Sprint Classic.

Lucky Secret (2nd 2008) went on to win the AJ Moir Stakes on Cox Plate day at Moonee Valley and Gold Edition (2007) went on to run 2nd in the AJ Moir Stakes and then the Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic on Emirates day.

Royal Asscher (2nd in 2007) won the Gr3 Red Anchor Stakes on WS Cox Plate day and Let Go Thommo (3rd in 2007) then ran 3rd in both the AJ Moir Stakes and Gr2 Caulfield Sprint.

Quality mare Miss Andretti (2006) won both the AJ Moir Stakes and the VRC Sprint Classic.

2015 Schillaci Stakes result
1. $7.50 Alpha Miss 56.5 Craig Williams
2. $61.00 Cashed 58.5 Dwayne Dunn
3. $1.55 Lankan Rupee 58.5 Craig Newitt

then followed
4. $31.00 The Monstar 58.5 Richard Bensley
5. $16.00 I Love It 56.5 Stephen Baster
6. $5.50 Shiraz 58.5 Hugh Bowman

Margins: 0.75L, 0.75L
Time: 1:03.55

Bet now on the Schillaci Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join centrebet Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'CentreBest+' Bet now
Schillaci Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2015 Alpha Miss Cashed Lankan Rupee 1:03.5
2014 Rubick Platelet Overreach 0:56.6
2013 Unpretentious Pago Rock Kuroshio 57.6
2012 Buffering Golden Archer Stirling Grove 0:56.9
2011 Black Caviar Karuta Queen Stirling Grove 0:56.7
2010 Black Caviar Winter King General Truce 0:56.6
2009 Lucky Secret Apache Cat Wanted 0:55.9
2008 Wilander Lucky Secret Gamble Me 0:58.0
2007 Gold Edition Royal Asscher Let Go Thommo 0:57.3
2006 Miss Andretti Green Birdie Nediyms Glow 0:57.2
2005 Segments Danerich Miss Mooney Mooney 0:57.6
2004 Patpong Alizes Regimental Gal 0:58.2
2003 Halibery Dantana Spinning Hill 0:56.7
2002 Spinning Hill Falvelon Mistegic 0:57.1
2001 Mistegic Windigo Falvelon 0:57.6
2000 Falvelon Mannington Super Elegant 0:58.0
1999 Magic Music Paint Northeast Sheila 0:56.9
1998 Show No Emotion Theatre Scandinavia 0:58.3
1997 Mahogany Spartacus Be Discreet 0:57.5
1996 Sequalo Gold Ace Sword 0:57.8
1995 Moss Rocket Chief De Beers Sequalo 0:56.1
1994 Bint Marscay Alannon Barcurra 0:56.6
1993 Green Sweeper Our Pompeii Prince Acumen 0:58.5
1992 King Marauding Mamzelle Perdu Grey Man 0:58.0
1991 Street Ruffian Redelva Sonic Express 1:00.2
1990 Street Ruffian Benbara King Dancers Choice 1:00.3
1989 Scarlet Bisque Disputed Pearl Vain Veleric 1:00.0
1988 Rancho Ruler Special Disputed Pearl 1:00.8

Best Australian Bookmaker for Schillaci Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2016 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.