April: Sydney Cup
May: Australasian Oaks : Sangster Stakes : SA Derby : Doomben 10,000

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

RN Irwin Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The RN Irwin Stakes is a Group 3 weight-for-age race for sprinters that takes place each year in April at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres and worth $120,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 RN Irwin Stakes was won by Viddora from Illustrious Lad with I Am Gypsy third.

Held on the same day as the Group 3 Auraria Stakes, the RN Irwin Stakes is the only weight-for-age group race of the Adelaide autumn carnival.

2017 RN Irwin Stakes info
Date: Saturday 22nd April 2017
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $120,000
2017 Winner: Viddora

The RN Irwin Stakes tends to attract above average gallopers due to the level weights playing field and has been won by some nice sprinting types over the years including Avenue (2011), Here De Angels (2008), Bomber Bill (2003), Sports (1999), Street Ruffian (1992), Jet Fighter (1989) and champion SA galloper Redelva (1988).

Sprinters contesting this event may go on to races such as the Gr3 DC Mckay Stakes or the feature Adelaide autumn sprint, the Gr1 Goodwood, later in the carnival. Essay Raider (4th in 2014) went on to win the DC Mckay Stakes after running fourth in this race, while Blahnik (3rd in 2009) finished third in both the Irwin Stakes and Mckay Stakes.

Classy Gai Waterhouse trained sprinter Driefontein (2014) managed to go on and win the Gr1 Robert Sangster Stakes after winning this event, claiming the Irwin Stakes & Sangster Stakes double in the process.

Classy mare Platelet (2nd in 2013) finished runner up in this race before claiming both the Sangster Stakes and Goodwood at her next two starts, she then returned in 2014 to finish second behind Driefontein (2014) in both the Irwin & Sangster Stakes.

Viddora (2017) ran second in the Listed Manihi Stakes over 1100m at Morphettville before taking out this event and recent RN Irwin Stakes winners include Nostradamus (2016) and Daytona Grey (2015).

2017 RN Irwin Stakes result
1. $3.50 Viddora 56.5 Chris Parnham
2. $3.20 Illustrious Lad 58.5 Anthony Darmanin
3. $19.00 I Am Gypsy 56.5 Ryan Hurdle

then followed
4. $10.00 Casino Wizard 58.5 Jason Holder
5. $3.80 Petits Filous 56.5 Ms Jamie Kah
6. $9.00 Sooboog 58.5 John Allen
7. $26.00 Lope De Capio 58.5 Damien Thornton
8. $81.00 Calianco 56.5 Paul Gatt
9. $12.00 Atmospherical 56.5 Daniel Moor

Margins: 1 len, 0.8 len
Time: 1:03.93

Bet now on the RN Irwin Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
RN Irwin Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Viddora Illustrious Lad I Am Gypsy 1:03.9
2016 Nostradamus I Am Gypsy Runway Star 1:02.9
2015 Daytona Grey Riziz The Messina Nymph 1:05.0
2014 Driefontein Platelet Just Discreet 1:03.9
2013 Kulgrinda Platelet Avoid Lightning 1:03.9
2012 We're Gonna Rock First Command Catapulted 1:03.6
2011 Avenue Diplomatic Force Morgan Dollar 1:02.5
2010 Augusta Proud Commanding Hope Cerberus Gal 1:04.0
2009 Diplomatic Force Let Go Thommo Blahnik 1:02.4
2008 Here De Angels Flying Object Terango 1:03.5
2007 Flying Object Sipowicz Mt Billy 1:03.0
2006 Leone Chiara Shablec Swiss Vault 1:03.6
2005 Super Elegant Bomber Bill Chatelaine 1:03.1
2004 Stand By Me Cosmic Strike Skewiff 1:03.0
2003 Bomber Bill Regal Kiss Crest Of Gold 1:03.1
2002 Regal Kiss Suit Cosmic Strike 0:56.2
2001 Stand By Me Lezayre Flurrys Gem 0:55.8
2000 Suit My Millenium Lord Kingston 1:02.7
1999 Sports St Clemens Belle Amber Gaze 1:02.4
1998 La Baraka Will Fly Lord Shiraz 1:03.7
1997 Scorn Bold Excel Pilot Magic Ribbon 1:03.7
1996 Scorn Bold Voguessa Stealing Heaven 1:04.2
1995 Hero Wind St Covet Fighter Bay 1:03.5
1994 Kenvain Tarare St Rory 1:02.8
1993 Hot Arch Better Loosen Up Fappianos Girl 1:03.7
1992 Street Ruffian Zephyr Art Squire Gray 1:04.1
1991 Beau George Steel Sculptress Prince Anton 1:04.3
1990 Leica Western Worthy Regent Heavenly View 1:05.1
1989 Jet Fighter Spirit Of Emily Storm Wedge 1:04.4
1988 Redelva Kaapstad Cameronic 1:07.0

Best Australian Bookmaker for RN Irwin Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.