, Ken Russell Memorial Classic - Doomben - Brisbane Winter Carnival
horse racing info

Ken Russell Memorial Classic

The Ken Russell Memorial Classic is a Group 3 race for two-year-olds that takes place in May at the Gold Coast racecourse in Surfers Paradise, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $125,000 in prize money. The 2020 Ken Russell Memorial Classic was won by Wisdom Of Water from Tick Tock Boom and Superarem who dead-heated for second place.

Upgraded to Group 3 status in September 2013, the Ken Russell Memorial Classic is held on the same day as the Group 2 Hollindale Stakes during the winter racing carnival in Queensland.

Ken Russell Memorial Classic info

Date: Saturday 8th May 2021
Track: Gold Coast racecourse, Bundall
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $125,000
2020 Winner: Wisdom Of Water

The Ken Russell Memorial Classic is raced over 1200 for two-year-olds and the better class gallopers contesting this race are clearly advantaged by the set weight conditions. The race itself provides the ideal lead up to the upcoming Gr2 Champagne Classic at Doomben with the classy Sizzling (2012) and Gold Edition (2006) the most recent horses to claim the Ken Russell Memorial Classic & Champagne Stakes double. Blueberry Hill (2nd in 2015) won the Champagne Stakes at his next start following his second place finish in this race.

Any capable two-year-olds tackling the Ken Russell Memorial Classic will most likely continue on to the feature two-year-old events of the winter carnival, the Gr2 Sires Produce Stakes over 1400m on Doomben 10,000 day or the Gr1 The TJ Smith over 1600m on Stradbroke Day. Sizzling (2012) & Hot Snitzel (2011) are the most recent gallopers to take out the Ken Russell Memorial Classic & Sires Produce Stakes double, while Sizzling was the last 2yo to win the Ken Russell Memorial Classic & The TJ Smith double.

Sizzling had an oustanding Queensland winter carnival in 2012, taking out the Ken Russell Memorial Classic, Champagne Classic, Sires Produce Stakes & The TJ Smith, capturing the two-year-old triple crown along the way.

Stronger (2019) ran fourth in the Gr3 Kindergarten Stakes over 1100m at Randwick in Sydney before trekking to the Gold Goast to score a narrow victory in this event for the Peter & Paul Snowden stable.

Recent Ken Russell Memorial Classic winners include Sesar (2018) and Taking Aim (2017).

2020 Ken Russell Memorial Classic result

1. $1.35 Wisdom Of Water 57.0 Robbie Fradd
=2. $31.00 Tick Tock Boom 57.0 Jake Bayliss
=2. $81.00 Superare 57.0 Brad Stewart

then followed
4. $41.00 Always On Show 55.0 Andrew Mallyon
5. $51.00 Kavak 57.0 Justin Huxtable
6. $9.00 Minjee 55.0 Michael Cahill
7. $11.00 Saffiano 57.0 Ryan Maloney
8. $13.00 Spokesman 57.0 Matthew McGillivray
9. $26.00 Neutron 57.0 Jag Guthmann-Chester
10. $151.00 Bangers And Mayo 57.0 James Orman
11. $201.00 Fox Terrier 57.0 Nick Keal
12. $71.00 Daring Man 57.0 Luke Dittman

Margins: 2.8 len, Dead-Heat
Time: 1:09.17

Bet now on the Ken Russell Memorial Classic

We recommended Unibet for the best Ken Russell Memorial Classic odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Ken Russell Memorial Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Wisdom Of Water =2 Tick Tock Boom =2 Superare 1:09.1
2019 Stronger Accession Take Tea 1:13.1
2018 Sesar Boomsara Lean Mean Machine 1:08.6
2017 Taking Aim Dissolution Lord Cecil 1:08.8
2016 Royal Tithe Oink Impending 1:10.1
2015 Big Tree Blueberry Hill Regatta Rebel 1:11.4
2014 Aimee Sagatona Goodbye Kevin 1:14.0
2013 Le Val Londehero Diamond Oasis 1:09.7
2012 Sizzling Dances On Stars Dansonate 1:14.7