horse racing info

QTC Sires Produce Stakes

The QTC Sires Produce Stakes is a Group 2 race for two-year-olds held late May at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1350 metres and worth $250,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 QTC Sires Produce Stakes was won by Lean Mean Machine from Zousain with Boomsara/Sizzling Ace third.

Taking place on Group 1 Doomben 10,000 day on the final day of the three-day Doomben carnival, the QTC Sires Produce Stakes is one of the highlights on a huge day of racing.

QTC Sires Produce Stakes info

Date: Saturday 25th May 2019
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1350 metres
Race Type: 2yo Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $250,000
2018 Winner: Lean Mean Machine

The QTC Sires Produce Stakes is a natural progression for two-year-olds who previously contested the Gr2 Champagne Classic over 1200m earlier in the carnival at the same track, as it is raced under the same conditions, but rises 200 metres in distance. The last two-year-old to win the Champagne Classic & Sires Produce Stakes double was Sizzling (2012), while Pressday (2010) also managed the same feat two years earlier.

Horses such as Virage de Fortune (2005) & Lovely Jubly (2002) were good enough to win both races and the Champagne Classic is definitely a very good guide to who might perform best in this race. Interestingly enough, the first three placegetters of the the 2012 QTC Sires Produce Stakes finished in the same order in the Champagne Classic at their previous start.

Two-year-olds contesting the Sires will more than likely head on to the Gr1 TJ Smith over 1600m on Stradbroke Handicap day at Eagle Farm. Sizzling (2012) was the last two-year-old to claim the Sires Produce Stakes & TJ Smith double, while Benfica (6th in 2011) went on to win The TJ Smith after finishing sixth in this race. Hot Snitzel (2011), Fravashi (2008), Masked Assassin (2007) and Danleigh (2006) all ran placings in The TJ Smith.

After winning the Champagne Classic & Sires Produce Stakes, smart galloper Pressday (2010) claimed the two-year-old triple crown by taking out the The TJ Smith at his next start.

Lean Mean Machine (2018) ran third in the Gr3 Ken Russell Memorial Classic over 1200m at the Gold Coast before winning this event and recent QTC Sires Produce Stakes winners include Melody Belle (2017) and Attention (2016).

2018 QTC Sires Produce Stakes result

1. $14.00 Lean Mean Machine 57.0 Corey Brown
2. $4.60 Zousain 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
=3. $15.00 Boomsara 57.0 Matthew McGillivray
=3. $7.00 Sizzling Ace 55.0 Glyn Schofield

then followed
5. $11.00 Sesar 57.0 Damian Lane
6. $41.00 Shamurt 55.0 Jim Byrne
7. $8.50 Dynamited 57.0 Tye Angland
8. $12.00 Plumaro 55.0 Mr James Orman
9. $26.00 Sizzling Belle 55.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
10. $20.00 Blue Book 57.0 Jeff Lloyd
LR $151.00 Mischievousmarilyn 55.0 Craig Williams

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.10 len
Time: 1:19.92

The Gr3 Grand Prix Stakes, Gr3 Lady Of The Turf Stakes and Gr3 Premiers Cup are other group races held alongside the Sires Produce Stakes.

Bet now on the QTC Sires Produce Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best QTC Sires Produce Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

QTC Sires Produce Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Lean Mean Machine Zousain Boomsara/Sizzling Ace 1:19.9
2017 Melody Belle Taking Aim Pierata 1:25.6
2016 Attention Dreams Aplenty Nikitas 1:19.0
2015 Look To The Stars Blueberry Hill Cylinder Beach 1:19.5
2014 Time For War Brazen Beau Looks Like The Cat 1:18.7
2013 Zoustar Vilanova Bound For Earth 1:20.5
2012 Sizzling Academus Dances On Stars 1:26.3
2011 Hot Snitzel Playtime Mahisara 1:23.3
2010 Pressday Jesse's Girl Levi's Choice 1:23.4
2009 Shoot Out Impulsive Dream Carrara 1:25.9
2008 Fravashi Rockdale Cat D Antibes 1:26.2
2007 Masked Assassin Diamond Deck Kyros 1:24.6
2006 Danleigh Gold Edition Upper Echelon 1:23.4
2005 Virage De Fortune Upilio Testafiable 1:21.5
2004 Star Shiraz Midnight City Rule Of Engagement 1:22.3
2003 Ambulance Sir Dex Bushland 1:23.6
2002 Lovely Jubly Sir Breakfast Saddlers Silk 1:21.4
2001 Juanmo Counter Agent Jar Jar Binks 1:21.9
2000 Reenact Adjudicator Rapid Man 1:22.5
1999 Abandoned
1998 Dracula St Clemens Belle Traditional 1:22.1
1997 Al Mansour Staging Snadame 1:27.2
1996 Anthems Flavour Regal Centre 1:22.5
1995 Shame Isolda Donar 1:22.3
1994 Aragen Chief De Beers Drum 1:22.4
1993 Mahogany Pimpala Son Santiago Belle 1:22.3
1992 Slight Chance Seawinne Mookta 1:23.6
1991 Chortle Lady Nickelii Baanya Boy 1:24.3
1990 The Guida Lycra Somalia 1:25.0
1989 Zamoff Prince Salieri Great Happiness 1:27.7