, Hollindale Stakes - Gold Coast Racecourse - Brisbane Winter Carnival
horse racing info

Hollindale Stakes

The Hollindale Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race held each May at the picturesque Gold Coast racecourse on the sunny Gold Coast in Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1800 metres and worth $350,000 in prize money. The 2019 Hollindale Stakes was won by Life Less Ordinary from Mister Sea Wolf with Hallelujah Boy third.

The Gold Coast race track is situated around 70 kilometres south of Brisbane and located about 5 minutes from the centre of Surfers Paradise. The Gold Coast racecourse also hosts the Group 3 Gold Coast Guineas on the same day.

Hollindale Stakes info

Date: Saturday 8th May 2021
Track: Gold Coast racecourse, Bundall
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $350,000
2019 Winner: Life Less Ordinary

The Hollindale Stakes takes place away from the city centre of Brisbane at the Gold Coast and is one of the bigger middle distance races of the winter carnival, being worth $350,000 and ran at weight-for-age.

The Hollindale Stakes has been won by some talented gallopers over the years including Metal Bender (2010), Scenic Shot (2008), Shogun Lodge (2000-01), Might And Power (1998), Danewin (1995) and Rough Habit in consecutive years in 1991 & 1992.

Horses contesting this event will most likely go on to tackle the upcoming Gr1 Doomben Cup at Doomben which is raced under the same conditions, but steps up from 1800m to 2000m, and Streama (2014) was the last galloper to claim the Hollindale Stakes & Doomben Cup double.

In recent times Metal Bender (2010), Above Deck (2006), Mr Bureaucrat (2002), Might And Power (1998), Danewin (1995), Durbridge (1994) and Rough Habit (1991-92) have all managed to win the Hollindale Stakes before going on to take out the Doomben Cup. Both Scenic Shot (3rd in 2011) & Mawingo (3rd in 2012) ran third in this race before winning the Doomben Cup at their next outing.

Life Less Ordinary (2019) ran eighth in the Gr1 Doncaster Handicap over 1600m at Randwick in Sydney before heading north to the Gold Coast to win this event for the Chris Waller stable.

Recent Hollindale Stakes winners include Oregon's Day (2018) and It's Somewhat (2017).

2019 Hollindale Stakes result

1. $5.00 Life Less Ordinary 59.0 Jason Collett
2. $5.50 Mister Sea Wolf 59.0 James McDonald
3. $11.00 Hallelujah Boy 59.0 Matthew McGillivray

then followed
4. $51.00 Consensus 57.0 Mark Du Plessis
5. $6.00 Youngstar 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
6. $31.00 Tally 59.0 Tim Clark
7. $9.50 Miss Siska 57.0 Jordan Childs
8. $7.50 Luvaluva 57.0 Blake Shinn
9. $5.00 Kenedna 57.0 Clayton Douglas
10. $26.00 Mask Of Time 59.0 Michael Cahill
11. $31.00 My Nordic Hero 59.0 Jeff Lloyd
12. $101.00 Fit For Purpose 59.0 Dale Smith
13. $61.00 Red Alto 59.0 Brad Stewart

Margins: 2.25 len, 0.40 len
Time: 1:55.91

Gold Coast Racecourse Track Map

gold coast track map

Bet now on the Hollindale Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Hollindale Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Hollindale Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Life Less Ordinary Mister Sea Wolf Hallelujah Boy 1:55.9
2018 Oregon's Day Tom Melbourne Man Of His Word 1:46.8
2017 It's Somewhat Single Gaze Maurus 1:48.5
2016 Leebaz Hauraki Volkstok'n'Barrell 1:48.1
2015 Leebaz Sir Moments I'm Imposing 1:47.9
2014 Streama Mr O'Ceirin Precedence 1:53.1
2013 Lights Of Heaven Foreteller Transporter 1:49.5
2012 Shez Sinsational Lights Of Heaven Mawingo 1:56.0
2011 My Kingdom Of Fife Glass Harmonium Scenic Shot 1:52.2
2010 Metal Bender Road To Rock Gold Water 1:49.5
2009 Fulmonti Izonit Sir Slick 1:48.1
2008 Scenic Shot Spinney Stormhill 1:49.9
2007 Coalesce Dracs Back Desert War 1:47.4
2006 Above Deck Vouvray Roman Arch 1:49.1
2005 Platinum Scissors Roman Arch Devastating 1:52.4
2004 This Manshood St Basil Pentastic 1:45.9
2003 Bush Padre Boreale Cheverny 1:49.9
2002 Mr Bureaucrat Kaapstad Way My Special Scorpio 1:50.9
2001 Shogun Lodge Camarena Go Flash Go 1:47.3
2000 Shogun Lodge Integrate Cheiron 1:47.3
1999 Melora Marble Halls Tobruk 1:55.7
1998 Might And Power Summer Beau Galactic Valley 1:47.2
1997 Summer Beau Shame All Our Mob 1:49.4
1996 Super Slew Valance Sober Suit 1:48.5
1995 Danewin Brave Warrior Rough Habit 1:50.5
1994 Durbridge Paris Lane Silk Ali 1:47.3
1993 Corndale Rough Habit Aquidity 1:47.4
1992 Rough Habit Majestic Boy Royal Magic 1:58.6
1991 Rough Habit Post Elect Triscay 1:49.5
1990 Hunter Marwong Castletown 1:48.7
1989 Eye Of The Sky Rajamah Supersnack 1:56.0