horse racing info

JJ Atkins Stakes

The JJ Atkins Stakes is a Group 1 race for two-year-olds that takes place annually in June at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $600,000 in prize money. The 2019 The TJ Smith was won by Prince Fawaz from Kubrick with Reloaded third.

Formerly known as the 'The TJ Smith', it takes place on Stradbroke Day at Eagle Farm's major race meeting of the year, alongside the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap and Group 1 Queensland Derby.

The TJ Smith info

Date: Saturday 6th June 2020
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 2yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $600,000
2019 Winner: Prince Fawaz

The TJ Smith Stakes is named after legendary Sydney trainer Tommy Smith and the race has grown to become an elite race for two-year-olds during the Brisbane winter carnival. It is the final group race of the carnival for 2yo gallopers and the Gr2 Sires Produce Stakes held earlier in the carnival at the same track is the best guide to this event.

Two-year-olds may also tackle the Gr2 Champagne Classic the previous month on their way to this race and both Sizzling (2012) and Pressday (2010) have managed to take out the feature 2yo treble by winning the Champagne Classic, Sires Produce Stakes and The TJ Smith Stakes in succession.

Recent two-year-olds to win the Sires Produce Stakes & The TJ Smith double include Sizzling (2012), Pressday (2010), Lovely Jubly (2002), Juanmo (2001), Al Mansour (1997), Anthems (1996), Mahogany (1993) and Slight Chance (1992).

More often than not, winners of this race will go on to bigger and better things in their career and it's worth noting that Shoot Out (7th in 2009) ran seventh in this race before going on to win the Gr1 AJC Derby the following autumn in Sydney, while Pressday (2010) ventured to Melbourne the following spring to claim the Gr2 Sandown Guineas at Sandown.

Prince Fawaz (2019) took out a 2YO Handicap race over 1400m at Randwick in Sydney before travelling north to Brisbane to win this event in impressive fashion for the Anthony Cummings stable.

Recent JJ Atkins Stakes winners include The Autumn Sun (2018) and Capital Gain (2017).

2019 JJ Atkins Stakes result

1. $4.00 Prince Fawaz 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $18.00 Kubrick 57.0 John Allen
3. $6.50 Reloaded 57.0 James McDonald

then followed
4. $31.00 Shadow Hero 57.0 Michael Cahill
5. $81.00 Eric The Eel 57.0 Glen Boss
6. $3.50 Accession 57.0 Blake Shinn
7. $201.00 Champagne Toots 55.0 Craig Williams
8. $4.60 Strasbourg 57.0 Tommy Berry
9. $81.00 Ballistic Boy 57.0 Mark Du Plessis
10. $201.00 Southern Swing 57.0 Matthew McGillivray
11. $201.00 Flybridge 57.0 Dale Smith
12. $201.00 Valadyium 55.0 Jamie Kah
13. $17.00 Garibaldi 57.0 Damien Oliver
14. $151.00 Oh Five Glory 55.0 Taylor Marshall
15. $18.00 Czarson 57.0 Corey Brown

Margins: 0.2 len, 2 len
Time: 1:35.61

The Gr2 Brisbane Cup and Gr2 Dane Ripper Quality also take place on the same day as The TJ Smith.

Bet now on the The TJ Smith

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best The TJ Smith odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

The TJ Smith winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Prince Fawaz Kubrick Reloaded 1:35.6
2018 The Autumn Sun Zousain Fundamentalist 1:38.8
2017 Capital Gain Aloisia Taking Aim 1:36.2
2016 Sacred Elixir Charnley River Heart Skipt A Beat 1:37.8
2015 Press Statement Sagaronne Look To The Stars 1:35.4
2014 Almalad Brazen Beau Looks Like The Cat 1:35.3
2013 Romantic Touch Zoustar Paximadia 1:36.5
2012 Sizzling Kabayan Academus 1:37.0
2011 Benfica Hot Snitzel Playtime 1:36.0
2010 Pressday Ringa Ringa Rosie American Crew 1:35.0
2009 Linky Dink Spot On Target Southport 1:39.9
2008 Rockdale Baci Amore Fravashi 1:40.3
2007 Apercu Tripitz Masked Assassin 1:37.9
2006 Reigning To Win Danleigh Carry To Glory 1:37.4
2005 Darci Brahma Ready As Daemons 1:34.9
2004 Outback Prince Star Shiraz Lords A Leaping 1:34.1
2003 Picaday Promoted Ambulance 1:35.8
2002 Lovely Jubly Top Echelon Big Breakfast 1:35.3
2001 Juanmo Barawin Evander 1:35.1
2000 Show A Heart Lady Mulan Rapid Man 1:36.8
1999 Freemason Perfect Paradise I Realise 1:37.4
1998 Mossman Lease Curio Jade 1:34.6
1997 Al Mansour Evader Freedom Road 1:37.0
1996 Anthems Tambour Dayton 1:34.7
1995 Ravarda Isolda Donar 1:35.1
1994 Just A Printer Aragen Chief De Beers 1:33.0
1993 Mahogany Waikikamukau Seascay 1:35.2
1992 Slight Chance Palate Salcantay 1:34.5
1991 Zinders Kinjite Good n Fast 1:38.0
1990 Chime Zam Marine Drive Derecho 1:41.3
1989 Prince Salieri Stargazer Dr Grace 1:38.3
1988 Zeditave Aces And Kings Gold Trump 1:38.4

The 2015 and 2018 TJ Smith Stakes were held at Doomben.