horse racing info

BRC Sprint

The BRC Sprint is a Group 3 Quality Handicap race held each May at Doomben racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1350 metres and is worth $125,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 BRC Sprint was won by I'm A Rippa from Privlaka with Mr Sneaky third.

Formerly known as the 'BTC Sprint', the race was changed to the BRC Sprint after the merger of the QTC & BTC race clubs and takes place on Group 1 Doomben Cup day during the Brisbane winter racing carnival.

BRC Sprint info

Date: Saturday 18th May 2019
Track: Doomben racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1350 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2018 Winner: I'm A Rippa

The BRC Sprint is run under quality handicap conditions and suits improving horses who can get in with a light weight to beat the handicapper. Generally attracing a more than handy field of sprinters, the race takes place over the same course & distance as the Doomben feature sprint race the following week, the Gr1 Doomben 10,000 over 1350m at weight-for-age.

Although the race attracts reasonable fields, the BRC Sprint has not been a great guide to the Doomben 10000 in recent times, with Chief De Beers (1998) the last galloper to win the BRC Sprint & Doomben 10000 double. River Lad (2014) went on to win the winter carnival feature sprint, the Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap, after winning this race.

The Gr2 QTC Cup on Oaks Day in June at Eagle Farm may be next on the agenda for gallopers contesting this race, while the better horses engaged might consider tackling the stronger Doomben 10,000 the following Saturday at Doomben. Celtic Dancer (6th in 2012) went on to win the QTC Cup after running sixth in this event.

I'm A Rippa (2018) ran third in a BM85 race over 1200m at the Gold Coast before leading all the way to win this event in exciting fashion and recent BRC Sprint winners include Jungle Edge (2017) and Snippets Land (2016).

2018 BRC Sprint result

1. $7.00 I'm A Rippa 54.0 Jeff Lloyd
2. $9.00 Privlaka 54.0 Craig Williams
3. $6.00 Mr Sneaky 57.0 Mark Zahra

then followed
4. $19.00 Ulmann 59.0 John Allen
5. $17.00 Bassett 55.5 Mark Du Plessis
6. $5.00 Test The World 54.0 Corey Brown
7. $9.50 Snippets Land 55.5 Jim Byrne
8. $81.00 Magstock 54.0 Matthew McGillivray
9. $41.00 Cantbuybetter 55.0 James Orman
10. $21.00 Go Nicholas 54.0 Jake Bayliss
11. $101.00 Outraged 54.0 Michael Cahill
12. $51.00 Ruettiger 54.0 Bobby El-Issa
13. $26.00 Moher 56.0 Glyn Schofield
14. $10.00 Tougherthantherest 55.5 Michael Walker
15. $13.00 Charlie Boy 57.5 Brad Stewart

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:18.98

Bet now on the BRC Sprint

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best BRC Sprint odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

BRC Sprint winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 I'm A Rippa Privlaka Mr Sneaky 1:18.9
2017 Jungle Edge High Midnight Ulmann 1:21.4
2016 Snippets Land Religify Artlee 1:18.0
2015 Charlie Boy Rock Sturdy Nite Rocker 1:19.1
2014 River Lad Benny's Buttons Fire Up Fifi 1:19.6
2013 Belltone Mahisara Listen Son 1:19.5
2012 Tiger Tees Meet George Steel Zip 1:18.7
2011 Woorim Listen Son Thankgodyou'rehere 1:18.7
2010 Beaded Secrets Untold Drenalin 1:18.9
2009 Court Command El Cambio Hard To Catch 1:18.1
2008 Helideck Absolut Glam Mr Hornblower 1:18.2
2007 Friday Creek Mr Hornblower Son Of Dane 1:18.5
2006 Hard To Catch Amex Consular 1:18.4
2005 Ballet Society River To The Sea Recapitalize 1:17.9
2004 True Glo Falkirk Patezza 1:17.7
2003 Emission Cariboo Court Of Jewels 1:17.9
2002 Carael Boy Make Mine Magic King Lotto 1:18.1
2001 Zariz King Lotto Treasure The Kwila 1:18.3
2000 Pleasure Giver Brighter Scene Narwong 1:20.3
1999 Pleasure Giver Rodway Sea Adam 1:19.2
1998 Chief De Beers Blazing Steel Ajaccio 1:17.5
1997 Poetic King Chief De Beers Confiscate 1:19.1
1996 Taos Gold Ace Quick Return 1:21.8
1995 Cohort Chief De Beers Inside Edge 1:18.4
1994 Simonstad All Our Mob Capestad 1:18.0
1993 Kenfair Friends Venture Danjiki 1:18.9
1992 Barrosa Boy Baanya Boy Megs Ego 1:20.0
1991 Tinys Finito Miss Comanche Dannatelle 1:19.7
1990 Tinys Finito Potrero Prince Trialia 1:19.7
1989 Count Henri Potrero Dieu D Or 1:25.9
1988 Lots Of Rule Mirraben Cool Report 1:18.5