horse racing info

Tibbie Stakes

The Tibbie Stakes is a Group 3 event for fillies & mares that takes place on a Friday afternoon each year in September at Newcastle racecourse in Newcastle during the Sydney spring racing carnival in New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres under set weights plus penalties conditions and offers $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Tibbie Stakes was won by Princess Posh from Savatiano with Irithea third.

Previously a listed event, the Tibbie Stakes was upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season. It's held on the first day of the Newcastle Jockey Club's two-day Newcastle Gold Cup Carnival in Newcastle, located around 200km north of Sydney on the Hunter Coast.

The Group 3 Newcastle Gold Cup and Group 3 Cameron Handicap feature alongside the Tibbie Stakes on Newcastle Gold Cup Day.

Tibbie Stakes info

Date: Friday 20th September 2019
Track: Newcastle racecourse, Newcastle
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Princess Posh

The Tibbie Stakes is one of the feature races up for grabs for fillies & mares only on Newcastle Gold Cup day and typically the better class gallopers will be favoured by the set weight & penalties conditions of the race.

Any mares contesting this event might go on to a race like the Gr3 Angst Stakes at Rosehill the following month as it is raced under similar conditions. Nocturnelle (2012) managed to take out the Tibbie Stakes & Angst Stakes double after winning this race. Skyerush (2nd in 2011) finished third in the Angst Stakes following a second place finish in the Tibbie Stakes.

Horses resuming from a spell have tasted success in recent times including Spirits Bird (2016) and She's Clean (2015), something to note when doing the form.

New Tipperary (2018) ran fifth in a BM94 race over 1400m at Randwick before proving too strong in this event for the Joe Pride stable at Warwick Farm.

Recent Tibbie Stakes winners include Zanbagh (2017) and Spirit Bird (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Newcastle Track Map

Newcastle race track is a flat track which has a circumference of 2000m and horses race in a clockwise direction. The track surface is turf and the straight length is 415m.

newcastle track map

2018 Tibbie Stakes result

1. $9.50 Princess Posh 55.0 Glyn Schofield
2. $3.30 Savatiano 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $5.50 Irithea 55.0 James McDonald

then followed
4. $15.00 Insensata 55.0 Jason Collett
5. $151.00 Marabel 55.0 Jeff Penza
6. $13.00 The Pinnacle 57.0 Christian Reith
7. $5.00 Miss Que 55.0 Corey Brown
8. $10.00 Tarabai 55.0 Tommy Berry
9. $19.00 Awake The Stars 55.0 Ryan Maloney
10. $151.00 All In The Reflexs 55.0 Mark Du Plessis
11. $151.00 Tears In Heaven 55.0 Grant Buckley
12. $31.00 La Chica Bella 55.0 Ms Rachel King
13. $151.00 Red Chandelier 55.0 Andrew Gibbons
14. $41.00 Deer Mountain 55.0 Brenton Avdulla
15. $21.00 Pandemonium 55.0 Tim Clark
16. $151.00 Maryore 55.0 Jay Ford

Margins: 1.06 len, 3.57 len
Time: 1:23.10

Newcastle hosts two more group races during the season, the Gr3 Spring Stakes in November and the Group 3 Newcastle Newmarket Hcp in March.

Bet now on the Tibbie Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Tibbie Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Tibbie Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Princess Posh Savatiano Irithea 1:23.1
2017 Zanbagh Perfect Rhyme Hetty Heights 1:23.6
2016 Spirit Bird Fitou Savoureux 1:19.9
2015 She's Clean Two Blue Sultry Feeling 1:23.3
2014 Fine Bubbles I'm In The Money Gold Epona 1:23.7
2013 Vaquera Gold Epona Cameo 1:23.8
2012 Nocturnelle New Beginning Irish Dream 1:22.7
2011 More Strawberries Skyerush Sweetest Melody 1:24.0