, Angst Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Sydney Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Angst Stakes

The Angst Stakes is a Group 3 race for mares only that takes place in October each year at Randwick racecourse in Sydney. The race is run over a distance of 1500 metres under set weights plus penalties conditions and offers $160,000 in prize money. The 2020 Angst Stakes was won by Emeralds from Greysful Glamour with Nimalee third.

Upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season, the Angst Stakes takes place on Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes day during the Sydney spring racing carnival.

Angst Stakes info

Date: Saturday 9th October 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $160,000
2020 Winner: Emeralds

The Angst Stakes is one of those typical mares races where gallopers of differing ability will line up to make it a bit of a minefield for punters trying to find a winner, although the set weights & penalties means the classier mares have an advantage.

Races like the Group 3 Tibbie Stakes on the second day of the Newcastle spring racing carnival provide a reasonable guide to this event. Nocturnelle (2012) managed to win the Tibbie Stakes & Angst Stakes double in good style.

Nettoyer (2019) finished sixth in the Group 1 Epsom Handicap over 1600m at Randwick before scoring a narrow victory in this event for Warwick Farm trainer Wendy Roche.

Recent Angst Stakes winners include I Am Serious (2018) and Dixie Blossoms (2016-2017).

2019 Angst Stakes result

1. $3.80 Nettoyer 56.0 Glen Boss
2. $15.00 Delectation Girl 56.0 Jason Collett
3. $3.30 Amangiri 54.0 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $11.00 Organza 54.0 Tim Clark
5. $4.40 Noire 57.0 Nash Rawiller
6. $26.00 Eugene's Pick 54.0 Jay Ford
7. $31.00 All Too Soon 54.0 Andrew Adkins
8. $31.00 Zourhea 54.0 James Innes Jnr
9. $12.00 So Taken 54.0 Glyn Schofield
10. $61.00 Grand Bouquet 54.0 Robbie Dolan

Margins: 0.1 len, 1.3 len
Time: 1:33.15

Bet now on the Angst Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Angst Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Angst Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Emeralds Greysful Glamour Nimalee 1:33.6
2019 Nettoyer Delectation Girl Amangiri 1:33.1
2018 I Am Serious Mandylion Dixie Blossoms 1:37.2
2017 Dixie Blossoms Daysee Doom Zenalicious 1:34.5
2016 Dixie Blossoms Lady Le Fay Happy Hannah 1:34.0
2015 Casino Dancer Wine Tales Zarzali 1:33.2
2014 Neena Rock Estonian Princess Danesiri 1:34.4
2013 Sharnee Rose Queenstown Porcellanus 1:35.5
2012 Nocturnelle Angelus Skyerush 1:31.5
2011 Little Surfer Girl Quidnunc Skyerush 1:24.7