, Newcastle Cameron Handicap Preview - Sydney Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Newcastle Cameron Handicap

The Newcastle Cameron Handicap is a Group 3 open handicap race held on a Friday afternoon each September at Newcastle racecourse in Newcastle during the Sydney spring racing carnival in New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1500 metres and worth $160,000 in prize money. The 2020 Newcastle Cameron Handicap was won by Rock from Just Thinkin with Chief Ironside third.

Newcastle is located about 200km north of Sydney on the Hunter Coast and the two-day Newcastle Gold Cup Carnival is the Newcastle Jockey Club's feature event of the year, with four group races taking place on the first day.

The Group 3 Newcastle Gold Cup and Group 3 Tibbie Stakes are both held alongside the Cameron Handicap on the opening day of the carnival.

Newcastle Cameron Handicap info

Date: Friday 17th September 2021
Track: Newcastle racecourse, Newcastle
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $160,000
2020 Winner: Rock

The Newcastle Cameron Handicap is the feature sprint race of the year for the Newcastle Jockey Club and generally fields for this race include above average local gallopers from the region or better types may make the trip up from Sydney to try and get a group race on their resume.

The handicap conditions can often make it an open race and winners and placegetters may go on to races like the Gr3 Bill Ritchie Handicap later in the Sydney carnival.

McClintock (3rd in 2009) went on to win the Bill Ritchie Handicap at his next start while Osca Warrior (2004) claimed the Cameron Handicap & Bill Ritchie Handicap double. Britt's Best (2nd in 2003) and Juggler (3rd in 1995) both went on to run second in the Bill Ritchie Hcp.

Rock (2019) took out a CG&E BM74 race over 1300m at Randwick prior to winning this race in classy style for the Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes stable at Rosehill.

Recent Cameron Handicap winners include New Tipperary (2018) and Got Unders (2017).

Newcastle Track Map

Newcastle race track is a flat track which has a circumference of 2000m and horses race in a clockwise direction. The track surface is turf and the straight length is 415m.

newcastle track map

2020 Newcastle Cameron Handicap result

1. $5.00 Rock 55.5 Tommy Berry
2. $7.50 Just Thinkin' 54.0 Tim Clark
3. $11.00 Chief Ironside 57.0 James McDonald

then followed
4. $5.00 The Candy Man 58.0 Hugh Bowman
5. $3.00 Special Reward 58.5 Nash Rawiller
6. $11.00 Quackerjack 58.0 Joshua Parr
7. $31.00 Mccormack 54.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
8. $41.00 Royal Tudor 54.0 Ms Rachel King
9. $201.00 Interlocuter 54.0 Ms Louise Day
10. $17.00 Miss Fabulass 54.5 Glen Boss
11. $201.00 Ondo Pasa 54.0 Grant Buckley

Margins: 3.68 len, 0.09 len
Time: 1:29.46

Newcastle hosts the Group 3 Spring Stakes in November and the Group 3 Newcastle Newmarket Hcp in March.

Bet now on the Newcastle Cameron Handicap

We recommended Unibet for the best Newcastle Cameron Handicap odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Newcastle Cameron Handicap winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Rock Just Thinkin Chief Ironside 1:29.4
2019 Rock Articus Nettoyer 1:29.4
2018 New Tipperary Red Excitement Best Of Days 1:29.8
2017 Got Unders Sound Proposition Spectroscope 1:29.5
2016 Chetwood Le Romain Famous Seamus 1:18.3
2015 Forget Malice Wouldnt It Be Nice 1:29.6
2014 Hooked Rugged Cross Mighty Lucky 1:32.2
2013 Toydini High Esteem Scream Machine 1:29.1
2012 Rolling Pin Lightinthenite Offenders 1:29.1
2011 Raspberries Light Brigade Kaunda 1:29.6
2010 Kenny's World Prince Braeman Chasm 1:15.3
2009 Absolutelyfabulous Black Piranha McClintock 1:16.3
2008 Raheeb Ashikaga Falaise 1.22.4
2007 Race not held Equine Flu
2006 Court's In Session Malcolm Mac's Tune 1:22.2
2005 Collate Mr Celebrity Cincinatti Gal 1:23.2
2004 Osca Warrior Shamekha Tsuimai 1:22.6
2003 Archave Britt's Best Stoway 1:22.4
2002 Excellerator Hey Pronto Mowerman 1:24.4
2001 Kingsgate Lord Essex Maitland Gold 1:17.3
2000 Mulan Princess Kenconcarne Spying 1:22.0
1999 Anthems Allez Suez Pursuits 1:24.1
1998 Adam Tricove Nevet 1:22.7
1997 Crows Before Dawn Ripper Masked Party 1:25.0
1996 Cohort Social Rule Romden 1:21.9
1995 Yarradorf Salivate Juggler 1:22.1
1994 Social Rule Khaptingly Mightly Tango 1:22.0
1993 Flitter Telsto Loving Cup 1:25.2
1992 Brihuego Mark Time Generous Prince 1:24.3
1991 Quick Score Be Able Burrendah Boy 1:23.7
1990 Cheval Cavalier Livistona Lane Sioux Chief 1:23.5
1989 Don't Play Groucho Prince Trialia 1:23.3
1988 Windsor's Pal Haida Prince Bold Sea 1:23.7
1987 Full Page True Reason Haida Prince 1:22.7
1986 Sound Of Bells Dance Hall Girl Amber Man 1:24.1
1985 Regal Value Riverdale Satin Sand 1:22.9
1984 Almerzo Buena Gold Manuan 1:17.0
1983 Tandrio Silver Tradition Trench Digger 1:17.4
1982 Manuan Razor Sharp Tuna Too 1:17.7
1981 Paradise Plumes Irish Flyer High Classic 1:18.0
1980 Captain Cadet Clubs Are Trumps Eye Of The Wind 1:17.4

The Cameron Handicap was run over 1500m for the 2011/2012 season after previously being run over 1300m until the 2009/2010 season and 1400m for the 2010/2011 season.