horse racing info

Theo Marks Stakes

The Theo Marks Stakes is a Group 2 quality handicap for 3yo & upwards horses held each September at Rosehill racecourse during the Sydney spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1300 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2019 Theo Marks Stakes was won by Arcadia Queen from Trope with Gem Song third.

This race is held on the same day as the Group 2 Run To The Rose and Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes for three-year-olds.

Theo Marks Stakes info

Date: Saturday 12th September 2020
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1300 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2019 Winner: Arcadia Queen

The Theo Marks Stakes is a handicap event over 1300 metres that serves as a good follow up race to the Gr3 Concorde Stakes held earlier in the carnival and Theo Marks Stakes entrants will most likely head towards the Randwick carnival and races such as the Gr2 Shannon Stakes and Group 1 Epsom Hcp, as they are a natural progession in both conditions and distance.

The Chris Waller trained Winx (2015) was the last galloper to win the Theo Marks Stakes & Epsom Handicap double.

The Theo Marks Stakes has been won by some more than handy types over the years including More Joyous (2010), Defier (2002), Shogun Lodge (2001), Adam (1999) and Catelan Opening (1997). The talented galloper Racing to Win (2006) won the Theo Marks & Epsom Handicap double and then returned to win the Theo Marks Stakes again three years later.

Arcadia Queen (2019) resumed from a winter spell to win this race in outstanding fashion for the Chris Waller stable.

Recent Theo Marks Stakes winners include Home Of The Brave (2018) and Deploy (2017).

sportsbet racing form

2019 Theo Marks Stakes result

1. $1.95 Arcadia Queen 56.0 James McDonald
2. $5.50 Trope 53.0 Tommy Berry
3. $15.00 Gem Song 56.0 Nash Rawiller

then followed
4. $26.00 Redouble 56.0 Tim Clark
5. $21.00 Deploy 56.5 Joshua Parr
6. $15.00 Zousain 57.5 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $18.00 El Dorado Dreaming 54.5 Brenton Avdulla
8. $31.00 Tom Melbourne 57.0 Glyn Schofield
9. $41.00 Volpe Veloce 57.0 Andrew Adkins
10. $7.50 Baller 53.0 Glen Boss

Margins: 1.8 len, 0.3 len
Time: 1:14.96

Bet now on the Theo Marks Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Theo Marks Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Theo Marks Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Arcadia Queen Trope Gem Song 1:14.9
2018 Home Of The Brave D'argento Trapeze Artist 1:19.3
2017 Deploy Egg Tart Euro Angel 1:14.9
2016 Mackintosh Counterattack Southern Legend 1:17.1
2015 Winx Sons Of John Ninth Legion 1:15.7
2014 Cluster Bull Point Ninth Legion 1:23.2
2013 Riva De Lago Solzhenitsyn Your Honour 1:21.6
2012 Ambidexter Fat Al Dystopia 1:22.2
2011 Master Of Design Torio's Quest Fast Clip 1:16.7
2010 More Joyous Rothesay Drumbeats 1:22.1
2009 Racing To Win Rock Kingdom Triple Honour 1:22.1
2008 Hurried Choice Forensics Ice Chariot 1:17.1
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Racing To Win New Edge Regal Cheer 1:16.5
2005 Paratroopers Perfect Promise Outback Prince 1:16.8
2004 Falkirk Grand Armee Private Steer 1:17.7
2003 Fiery Venture Grand Armee Osca Warrior 1:16.3
2002 Defier Phoenix Park Carael Boy 1:15.7
2001 Shogun Lodge Fouardee Belle Du Jour 1:16.8
2000 Hire Landsighting Shogun Lodge 1:17.1
1999 Adam Sunline Al Mansour 1:15.4
1998 Pleasure Giver Tycoon Lil Blazing Steel 1:15.8
1997 Catalan Opening Apple Danish King Ivor 1:15.7
1996 Mamzelle Pedrille All Our Mob The Golden Greek 1:17.1
1995 Ivory's Irish Flight To Fantasy Danewin 1:15.7
1994 Rouslan Committal Dancing Dynamite 1:17.7
1993 Double Your Bet Deposition Belas Knap 1:16.3
1992 Final Card Kinjite Top Comedian 1:17.7
1991 Joanne With Me Final Card 1:15.5
1990 Alquoz Show County West Dancer 1:15.1
1989 From The Planet Mystical Prince Dieu D'or 1:16.6
1988 Targlish Robian Steel Lunch On Sunday 1:16.2