horse racing info

The Run to the Rose

The Run to the Rose is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds held at Rosehill racecourse in August each year in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weights plus penalties conditions and offers $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Run To The Rose was won by Lean Mean Machine from Graff with Jonker third.

Upgraded to Group 2 status for the 2015/2016 racing season, the Run To The Rose also received a prizemoney increase of $50,000.

The Run to the Rose info

Date: Saturday 14th September 2019
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Set Weight + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: Lean Mean Machine

The Run to the Rose is a 3yo set weight plus penalties race that attracts capable three-year-olds earmarked by trainers for this event. The weighted conditions of the race favour the better horses engaged and many gallopers contesting this event will most likely head towards the Gr1 Golden Rose later in the carnival at the same track.

The $1,000,000 Golden Rose is the richest event held during the Sydney spring racing carnival, which makes it an attractive proposition for connections of eligible three-year-olds, and the Run To The Rose is the ideal lead-up race. Epaulette (3rd in 2012) claimed the Golden Rose at his next start after running third in this race.

In recent years Hallowed Crown (2014), Denman (2009) and Paratroopers (2005) have gone on to win the Golden Rose after winning this event, while Dissident (2013), Squamosa (2010) & Smart Missile (2011) all finished runner-up in the Golden Rose after scoring in this race.

Darley galloper Helmet (3rd in 2011) finished third in the Golden Rose at his next outing before heading south to Melbourne to win the Gr3 Caulfield Guineas at Caulfield during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in October.

Lean Mean Machine (2018) resumed from a spell to win this event for the Chris Waller stable. Recent Run To The Rose winners include Menari (2017) and Astern (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

2018 Run To The Rose result

1. $14.00 Lean Mean Machine 57.5 Tye Angland
2. $3.00 Graff 57.0 Jason Collett
3. $13.00 Jonker 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $4.80 Zousain 57.5 James McDonald
5. $9.00 Sandbar 56.0 Corey Brown
6. $41.00 Legend Of Condor 55.0 Brett Prebble
7. $6.50 Performer 57.0 Hugh Bowman
8. $13.00 Long Leaf 56.0 Tommy Berry
9. $13.00 Smart Elissim 55.0 Luke Currie
10. $61.00 Nuclear Blitz 53.0 Andrew Adkins
11. $71.00 Paquirri 57.0 Christian Reith

Margins: 0.8 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:13.59

Bet now on the Run To The Rose

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Run To The Rose odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Run To The Rose winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Lean Mean Machine Graff Jonker 1:13.5
2017 Menari Pariah Perast 1:08.5
2016 Astern Star Turn Impending 1:10.9
2015 Exosphere Press Statement Holler 1:10.6
2014 Hallowed Crown Kumaon Ygritte 1:12.9
2013 Va Pensiero Dissident Marseille Roulette 1:09.6
2012 Pierro Your Song Epaulette 1:09.8
2011 Smart Missile Foxwedge Helmet
2010 Squamosa Masquerader Testarhythm 1:18.2
2009 Denman More Than Great Bombay Sling 1:16.6
2008 Desuetude Maybe I Emperor Bonaparte 1:18.1
2007 El Cambio Rapid Jacko Turffontein 1:16.2
2006 Mentality He'S No Pie Eater Boncoeur 1:17.6
2005 Paratroopers Pendragon (Nz) Thunderbird Hill 1:16.3
2004 Eremein Uber Econsul (Nz) 1:18.3
2003 Gilded Youth Charmview Confectioner 1:16.7