, Shannon Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Shannon Stakes

The Shannon Stakes is a Group 2 handicap race for horses three-years-old and up and takes place each year in September at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, new South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1500 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Shannon Stakes was won by I Am Superman from Riodini with Looks Like Elvis third.

This race is held on Group 1 Golden Rose day during the Sydney spring racing carnival, alongside the Group 2 Research Stakes & Group 3 Gloaming Stakes.

Shannon Stakes info

Date: Saturday 25th September 2021
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: I Am Superman

The Shannon Stakes is a quality handicap and the conditions of the race suits horses on the up who can get in with a light weight and beat the handicapper. The race has been won by some classy types over the years including Al Mansour (2000), Armed for Action (1998) and Juggler (1996).

Makybe Diva's half brother Musket (2008) managed to win this race in fine style, while top galloper Rangirangdoo (2nd in 2009) went on to win the Gr2 Crystal Mile at Moonee Valley during the Melbourne spring racing carnival after placing in this event.

Any capable gallopers contesting this race might decide to go on to tackle the feature mile race of the spring at Randwick the following week, the Group 1 Epsom Handicap. Fat Al (3rd in 2012) went on to claim the Epsom at his next start after running third in this race. Sacred Choice (3rd in 2010) managed to finish third in both races that spring.

Mister Sea Wolf (2019) ran sixth in the Gr2 Tramway Stakes over 1400m at Randwick before scoring a classy on pace victory in this event for the Chris Waller stable.

Recent Shannon Stakes winners include Noire (2018) and Washington Heights (2017).

2020 Shannon Stakes result

1. $4.60 I Am Superman 54.5 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $4.80 Riodini 53.5 Ms Rachel King
3. $4.80 Looks Like Elvis 54.0 Jason Collett

then followed
4. $14.00 Scarlet Dream 54.0 Tommy Berry
5. $18.00 Niccanova 57.5 Regan Bayliss
6. $10.00 Nudge 53.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
7. $20.00 Miss Siska 56.0 James McDonald
8. $13.00 Quackerjack 57.5 Joshua Parr
9. $81.00 So You Win 53.5 Thomas Stockdale
10. $14.00 Yamazaki 53.0 Robbie Dolan
11. $17.00 Tyzone 59.0 Jim Byrne
12. $61.00 Crack On Crack On 54.0 Brenton Avdulla

Margins: 1.3 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:29.10

Bet now on the Shannon Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Shannon Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Shannon Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 I Am Superman Riodini Looks Like Elvis 1:29.1
2019 Mister Sea Wolf Gem Song Tom Melbourne 1:29.1
2018 Noire Kingsguard Youngstar 1:29.6
2017 Washington Heights Mighty Lucky Imposing Lass 1:28.8
2016 Moral Victory Caped Crusader Cosmic Cube 1:28.0
2015 Vashka God's In Him Messene 1:29.2
2014 Rock Sturdy Liberty's Choice Ninth Legion 1:28.8
2013 Rain Drum Centennial Park Our Desert Warrior 1:29.3
2012 Rolling Pin Offenders Fat Al 1:31.1
2011 King Lionheart Fast Clip Lone Command 1:29.9
2010 Firebolt Centennial Park Sacred Choice 1:28.5
2009 Drumbeats Rangirangdoo Strat's Flyer 1:30.1
2008 Musket Black Piranha Ice Chariot 1:30.5
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Stormhill Temple Hills Newton's Rings 1:28.4
2005 Lotteria Studebaker Swick 1:30.2
2004 Nips Whoc Irongail 1:28.3
2003 Sportsman Amex Nips 1:28.1
2002 Gordo Shot Of Thunder Evander 1:29.7
2001 On Type Century Kid Diamond Dane 1:22.4
2000 Al Mansour Chinhoyi Varicool 1:29.5
1999 Referral Lahar Lease 1:29.7
1998 Armed For Action Dodge Champagne 1:28.7
1997 Quick Flick Might And Power Here's The Prince 1:29.5
1996 Juggler Catalan Opening Valance 1:28.9
1995 Sprint By Cheunganoff My Diamond Rouge 1:30.4
1994 Play Or Pay Star Dancer Tenor 1:28.8
1993 Soho Square Ghost Story Ausmart 1:28.7
1992 Palatin Century Reign Big Dreams 1:29.1
1991 Deposition Livistona Lane Majestic Boy 1:33.2
1990 Go Bush High Regard Dixon Street 1:30.8
1989 Cole Diesel Nanutarra Temple Front 1:29.6
1988 Never Quit Robian Steel Magnetic Island 1:30.9