horse racing info

Stan Fox Stakes

The Stan Fox Stakes is a Group 2 set weights race for three-year-olds that takes place in late September at Rosehill racecourse during the Sydney spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1500 metres and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Stan Fox Stakes was won by Gold Standard from Sanctioned with Addictive Nature third.

Held on the same day as the Gr3 Research Stakes and Gr3 Gloaming Stakes, the Stan Fox Stakes takes place one week before the Gr1 Epsom Handicap at Randwick.

2018 Stan Fox Stakes info

Date: Saturday 8th September 2018
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2017 Winner: Gold Standard

The Stan Fox Stakes is a good quality set weights event for three-year-olds and has a history of providing winners that go on to be fairly good horses. Outstanding gallopers such as Denman (2009), Lonhro (2001), Kenwood Melody (1998), General Nediym (1997), Octagonal (1995) and Show County (1989) have all been successful in this race.

The Gr1 Golden Rose at Rosehill or Gr3 Spring Stakes at Newcastle are typical lead up races to this event and three-year-olds contesting this race might consider going on to tackle the Gr2 Roman Consul Stakes on the final day of the Randwick carnival.

Better quality gallopers may head to the Melbourne spring racing carnival in Victoria to tackle the big prizemoney races on offer. Both Press Statement (2015) and Shooting To Win (2014) managed to win the Gr1 Caulfield Guineas at Caulfield after taking out this race.

Gold Standard (2017) ran second in the Gr3 Up And Coming Stakes over 1300m at Randwick before scoring an impressive victory in this event and recent Stan Fox Stakes winners include Impending (2016) and Press Statement (2015).

2017 Stan Fox Stakes result

1. $4.80 Gold Standard 56.5 Joshua Parr
2. $12.00 Sanctioned 56.5 Hugh Bowman
3. $2.10 Addictive Nature 56.5 Tim Clark

then followed
4. $5.00 Trapeze Artist 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $15.00 Ace High 56.5 Tye Angland
6. $51.00 Colesberg 56.5 Jason Collett
7. $11.00 The Mission 56.5 Corey Brown

Margins: 1.8 len, 1 len
Time: 1:28.46

Bet now on the Stan Fox Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Stan Fox Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Gold Standard Sanctioned Addictive Nature 1:28.4
2016 Impending Divine Prophet Good Standing 1:29.2
2015 Press Statement Shards Rageese 1:31.9
2014 Shooting To Win Scissor Kick Valentia 1:29.1
2013 Eurozone Criterion Aussies Love Sport 1:30.1
2012 Kabayan Albrecht Divine Moon 1:31.6
2011 Manawanui Roma Giaconda Cocky Raider 1:21.4
2010 Decision Time Top Drop Halekulani 1:23.1
2009 Denman Run For Naara More Than Great 1:23.8
2008 Dreamscape Whitefriars Judge Me Not 1:22.4
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Court Command Antidotes Cinque 1:22.1
2005 Paratroopers Primus Testafiable 1:22.3
2004 Wager Spirit of Tara Swick 1:22.5
2003 Ambulance Classy Dane Hasna 1:22.9
2002 Rare Insight Magic Marvo Choisir 1:24.0
2001 Lonhro Magic Albert Stylish Lass 1:24.0
2000 Dynamic Love Sale Of Century Ateates 1:21.7
1999 Pins Hire Easy Rocking 1:22.5
1998 Kenwood Melody Laurie's Lottery Mr. Innocent 1:22.9
1997 General Nediym Pleasure Giver Trader Vic 1:23.5
1996 West Point Intergaze Monet's Cove 1:22.7
1995 Octagonal Encores Ravarda 1:23.4
1994 Marwina Mamzelle Pedrille Dapper Spirit 1:22.5
1993 Campaign Warrior Dancing Dynamite Pimpala Son 1:26.0
1992 Ghost Story Flitter Atlantic Brave 1:22.3
1991 Greig Chortle Delphinus 1:21.9
1990 Sir Patrick Integra With Me 1:24.1
1989 Show County Pacific Union Shaftesbury Avenue 1:22.1
1988 From The Planet Mint Machine Temple Front 1:22.3