horse racing info

The Lexus Stakes

The Lexus Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap race held at Flemington racecourse annually during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in late October or early November. The race is run over a distance of 2500 metres and worth $300,000 in prizemoney. In 2016 The Lexus Stakes was won by Oceanographer from Tom Melbourne with Tally third.

Registered as the 'Hotham Handicap' this race has previously been known as 'The Dalgety' & 'SAAB Quality' and has been run as 'The Lexus Stakes' since 2009.

The Lexus Stakes is held on Derby day which is the first day of the four-day Flemington spring racing carnival. Derby day features four Group 1 races, the AAMI Victoria Derby, Coolmore Stud Stakes, Cantala Stakes, and the Myer Classic.

2017 The Lexus Stakes info

Date: Saturday 4th November 2017
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2500 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $300,000
2016 Winner: Oceanographer

The Lexus Stakes is the last handicap race over a distance further than 2000m to be held for open horses before the running of the Flemington carnival's major race, the Melbourne Cup on the following Tuesday. The Saab is a good event to give horses a final hit out before contesting the 3200m of the Cup.

More often than not the race will be taken out by more than handy staying types rather than the upper echelon, although every now and then a quality type can find his way into the race and make his presence felt.

Oceanographer (2016) finished third in the Gr3 Geelong Cup over 2400m at Geelong before sotrming home in exciting fashion to win this event and recent The Lexus Stakes winners have been Excess Knowledge (2015) and Signoff (2014).

horse racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide

The Lexus Stakes has been a more of a moderate guide to the Melbourne Cup over recent years. Maluckyday (2010) ran second to international galloper Americain three days later in the Melbourne Cup, while Shocking (2009) scored an authoritiave win before going on to win our most famous two mile race the following Tuesday.

Exceptionally (3rd in 2012) went on to finish second in the Gr2 Sandown Classic at Sandown before running third in the listed Ballarat Cup at Ballarat.

Moatise (2008) ran sixth in the Melbourne Cup the following Tuesday while Cape Cover (3rd 2008) and Light Vision (2nd 2008) ran the quinella in the Queen Elizabeth Stakes on Emirates Stakes day.

Maybe Better (2006) ran third in the Melbourne Cup that year, while Brew (2000) went on to win the Melbourne Cup in the same year. Kingston Rule (2nd 1990) managed to take out the race that stops the nation the following Tuesday and Tawriffic (2nd in 1988) went on to win the Cup the following year in 1989.

2016 The Lexus Stakes result

1. $2.70 Oceanographer 54.0 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $4.40 Tom Melbourne 54.5 Glen Boss
3. $11.00 Tally 58.0 James McDonald

then followed
4. $9.50 De Little Engine 54.0 Chad Schofield
5. $15.00 Black Tomahawk 54.0 Craig Williams
6. $6.00 Real Love 58.5 Brad Rawiller
7. $41.00 Pentathlon 55.0 Mark Du Plessis
8. $201.00 Transfer Allowance 54.0 Chris Symons
9. $26.00 Junoob 59.0 Hugh Bowman
10. $81.00 The Bandit 54.0 Craig Newitt
11. $71.00 Rose Of Virginia 54.0 Ben E Thompson
12. $151.00 Hippopus 54.0 Tim Clark

Margins: 0.4 len, 3 len
Time: 2:35.68

Bet now on the The Lexus Stakes

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

The Lexus Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Oceanographer Tom Melbourne Tally 2:35.6
2015 Excess Knowledge Zanteca Havana Cooler 2:36.8
2014 Signoff Big Memory La Amistad 2:37.8
2013 Ruscello Let's Make A Deal Araldo 2:39.8
2012 Kelinni Dare To Dream Exceptionally 2:37.6
2011 Niwot Macedonian Anudjawun 2:37.5
2010 Maluckyday Linton Once Were Wild 2:35.1
2009 Shocking Hume Irazu 2:38.3
2008 Moatise Light Vision Cape Cover 2:37.7
2007 Sculptor The Fuzz Desert Master 2:35.4
2006 Maybe Better Irazu Vanquished 2:35.8
2005 Strasbourg Bush Honey Mr Celebrity 2:40.3
2004 Don Raphael Catchmeifyoucan Winning Belle 2:36.6
2003 Big Pat Fawaz Dance On Wood 2:39.4
2002 Requiem Miss Meliss Piachay 2:35.3
2001 Maythehorsebewithu Spirit Of Westbury Touch The Groom 2:35.8
2000 Brew Mr Nelson Yammer 2:37.1
1999 The Warrior Rose O War Seasquill 2:35.2
1998 Star Binder Second Coming Prince Iluka 2:34.6
1997 Backslapper Grandmaster Buzzoff 2:39.0
1996 Few Are Chosen Centico My Kiwi Gold 2:35.6
1995 Coachwood Dupain Sir Kingi 2:34.8
1994 Pindi Starstruck Coachwood 2:35.7
1993 Tennessee Jack Maraakiz Notwithstanding 2:34.0
1992 Big Barron Val D Arno Sir Winston 2:38.4
1991 Rasheek Dr Grace Alhabel 2:33.4
1990 Mount Olympus Kingston Rule La Tristia 2:33.6
1989 Coshking Gopak Sea Legend 2:33.3
1988 Copatonic Tawrrific Centose 2:35.0