horse racing info

VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

The VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap race held at Flemington racecourse annually during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in November. The race is run over a distance of 2600 metres and worth $300,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes was won by Vengeur Masque from Grey Lion with Wheal Leisure third.

The VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes takes place on Emirates Stakes day on the last day of the four-day Flemington carnival, alongside feature Group 1 races, the Emirates Stakes and VRC Sprint Classic.

2018 VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes info

Date: Saturday 10th November 2018
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2600 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $300,000
2017 Winner: Vengeur Masque

The VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is a handicap race over 2600m and suits horses that may have raced previously in either the Gr1 Caulfield Cup or Gr1 Moonee Valley Cup. Occasionally a Gr1 Melbourne Cup entrant may back up in this race on the following Saturday.

Horses contesting this event may head on towards the Gr2 Sandown Classic the following week and Tanby (3rd in 2012) went on to win the Classic at his next start.

Generally attracting above average stayers rather than the elite, the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes has attracted some quality types over the years including triple Melbourne Cup winner Makybe Diva (2002) and Might and Power (1998).

Vengeur Masque (2017) ran second in the Gr3 The Lexus Stakes over 2500m at Flemington before proving to strong in this event and recent VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes winners include Francis Of Assisi (2016) abd Dandino (2015).

horse racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide

The VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is held on the final day of the Flemington carnival and attracts staying types looking for an easier staying race than the Caulfield Cup or Melbourne Cup. The Gr3 Bendigo Cup in late October has proven to be a good guide to this race since being moved to the Wednesday before the Melbourne Cup. Francis Of Assisi (2016) is the last galloper to snare the Bendigo Cup & VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes double.

Vengeur Masque (2017) won the Gr3 Geelong Cup at Geelong earlier in the spring on his way to winning this event. Australian Thorughbred Bloodstock owned stayer Dandino (2015) ran second in the Geelong Cup before taking out the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes at his next start.

Sertorious (2013) had a consistent spring following his Bendigo Cup victory, running second in this race before winning the Sandown Classic at Sandown the following week, while Puissance De Lune (2012) won this race after scoring a big victory in the Bendigo Cup.

Moudre (2010) ran second in the Geelong Cup at Geelong and then finished fourth in the Gr3 The Lexus Stakes on Derby Day at Flemington on his way to winning this event, while Sterling Prince (2009) ran fifth in the The Lexus Stakes and Naval Escort (3rd in 2009) ran fourth in the same race.

2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes result

1. $6.50 Vengeur Masque 54.5 Patrick Moloney
2. $26.00 Grey Lion 54.0 Jordan Childs
3. $9.50 Wheal Leisure 54.0 Dean Yendall

then followed
4. $26.00 Violate 54.0 James Winks
5. $5.00 Gallic Chieftain 54.0 Michael Dee
6. $3.20 Qewy 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $5.00 Kiwia 55.0 Damian Lane
8. $101.00 Bettyrae Ruby 54.0 Corey Brown
9. $16.00 Cool Chap 54.0 Dwayne Dunn
10. $101.00 Tunes 54.0 Noel Callow

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.50 len
Time: 2:42.99

Bet now on the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Vengeur Masque Grey Lion Wheal Leisure 2:42.9
2016 Francis Of Assisi Vengeur Masque Tom Melbourne 2:41.1
2014 Le Roi Prince Of Penzance Big Memory 2:43.1
2013 Precedence Sertorius Let's Make Adeal 2:46.4
2012 Puissance De Lune Ironstein Tanby 2:44.2
2011 Ironstein Shootoff Paddy O'Reilly 2:44.8
2010 Moudre Capecover Persian Star 2:45.2
2009 Sterling Prince Crossthestart Naval Escort 2:34.5
2008 Capecover Light Vision Baughurst 2:38.8
2007 Zavite Cefalu Completion 2:38.5
2006 Gallant Guru Magic Instinct Fooram 2:40.6
2005 Our Smoking Joe Coalesce Grey Song 2:33.8
2004 Fantastic Love Manawa King Da Capo 2:44.8
2003 Zazzman Lord Erin Delvecchio 2:37.5
2002 Makybe Diva Spirit Of Westbury Time Off 2:35.7
2001 Hatha Anna Ascana Tiger's Eye 2:40.9
2000 Savrocca Ultra Smug Mayshiel 2:37.8
1999 Zerpour Ithiyati Cronus 2:41.0
1998 Might And Power Oregon Star Bulta 2:38.5
1997 Vita Man =1 Bright Spot =1 Royal Snack 2:38.0
1996 Valance Beau Heed Storm 2:36.1
1995 Pindi Quick Ransom Dark Ksar 2:40.1
1994 Bullwinkle Bonamichie Nassabidi 2:40.3
1993 Hear That Bell Fans London Bridge 2:35.0
1992 Kawtuban Rough Habit Nassa Rocket 2:33.0
1991 Frontier Ban Mantlepiece Stylish Century 2:33.4
1990 Savage Toss Tramaurea Ideal Centreman 2:31.8
1989 Our Shannon Lad Vo Rogue It's Candide 2:36.6
1988 Zamakima Alfarasdq Be Reasonable 2:38.0