, Sandown Classic - Sandown Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Sandown Classic

The Sandown Classic is a Group 2 weight-for-age race held at Sandown racecourse each November at the end of the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2400 metres and worth $750,000 in prize money. The 2019 Sandown Classic was won by Southern France from Miss Siska with Chapada third.

Renamed the 'Zipping Classic' during the 2012/2013 racing season in honour of four-time winner Zipping, this race is held one week after the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington ends and has previously been known as the 'Sandown Cup' and 'Sandown Classic'.

Held on the Melbourne Racing Club's major race meeting of the year at Sandown, the Sandown Classic is held alongside the Gr2 Sandown Guineas, Gr3 Sandown Stakes and Gr2 Eclipse Stakes.

Sandown Classic info

Date: Saturday 27th November 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: 2yo+ Open Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $750,000
2019 Winner: Southern France

The Sandown Classic is a good second tier staying race that takes place after the major Flemington spring carnival in November and attracts horses looking for something a bit easier than the Group 1 staying races on offer at Caulfield and Flemington in recent weeks.

Horses who may have contested the Gr2 Moonee Valley Cup at Moonee Valley on WS Cox Plate day or the Gr3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes on Emirates Stakes day may consider racing in this event.

Sandown has a long straight with an uphill run home and sorts out the pretenders from the contenders when the going gets tough in the run to the line. The Sandown Classic is a good race for out and out stayers and suits horses who can run out a strong 2400 metres.

The Taj Mahal (2018) ran unplaced in the Gr2 Moonee Valley Cup over 2500m at Moonee Valley before winning this race in narrow fashion for the second year in a row.

Recent Sandown Classic winners include Beautiful Romance (2016) and Who Shot Thebarman (2015).

Spring Carnival Guide

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes on the final day of the Flemington carnival has been a handy guide to this event in recent times. Sertorius (2013) and Tanby (2012) both placed in the Queen Elizabeth Stakes prior to winning the Sandown Classic while Gallant Guru (2006) is the last galloper to win the Queen Elizabeth Stakes & Sandown Classic double,

Americain (2011) won the Moonee Valley Cup on his way to winning the Sandown Classic while both Jukebox Johnny (2nd in 2007) and Show Barry (3rd in 2006) placed in the Moonee Valley Cup before also running placings in this race.

2019 Sandown Classic result

1. $3.00 Southern France 59.0 Mark Zahra
2. $10.00 Miss Siska 57.0 James Doyle
3. $19.00 Chapada 58.0 James Winks

then followed
4. $8.00 Gallic Chieftain 59.0 Craig Williams
5. $51.00 Midterm 59.0 Patrick Moloney
6. $4.80 Humidor 59.0 Damian Lane
7. $19.00 Ventura Storm 59.0 Jye McNeil
8. $6.50 Dal Harraild 59.0 Ben Melham
9. $15.00 Savvy Oak 58.0 Luke Currie
10. $19.00 Patrick Erin 59.0 Michael Walker

Margins: 1.75 len, 0.10 len
Time: 2:32.01

Bet now on the Sandown Classic

We recommended Unibet for the best Sandown Classic odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Sandown Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Southern France Miss Siska Chapada 2:32.0
2018 The Taj Mahal Dal Harraild Our Libretto 2:31.5
2017 The Taj Mahal Almandin Big Duke 2:30.0
2016 Beautiful Romance Almoonqith Big Orange 2:29.0
2015 Who Shot Thebarman Tall Ship Do You Remember 2:29.1
2014 Au Revoir Epingle Prince Of Penzance 2:32.0
2013 Sertorius Epingle Queenstown 2:30.9
2012 Tanby Exceptionally Precedence 2:32.0
2011 Americain Manighar Mourayan 2:37.8
2010 Zipping Exceptionally Manighar 2:39.4
2009 Zipping Purple Master O'reilly 2:32.2
2008 Zipping Douro Valley Red Ruler 2:35.0
2007 Zipping Jukebox Johnny Baughurst 2:33.7
2006 Gallant Guru Casual Pass Show Barry 2:30.8
2005 Roman Arch Grey Song Expunge 2:33.7
2004 Count Ricardo Fantastic Love Media Puzzle 2:37.9
2003 Legible Distinctly Secret Zazzman 2:29.8
2002 Hail Hill Of Grace Grey Song 2:27.9
2001 Sky Heights King Keitel Cinder Bella 2:28.3
2000 Brave Chief Forgotten Hero Pasta Express 2:24.3
1999 Aerosmith Zerpour Northern Drake 2:30.3
1998 Cheviot Lisas Game Peak Of Perfection 2:31.4
1997 Star Binder Galilean Miss Tessla 2:35.6
1996 Royal Snack Count Chivas Circles Of Gold 2:28.1
1995 Count Chivas Yes Indeed Waikikamukau 2:28.0
1994 Our Pompeii Long Tan Doriemus 2:32.4
1993 Tawlord Bon Precieux Top Rating 2:26.2
1992 Silk Ali Sky Flyer Brave Expectations 2:26.5
1991 Stylish Century Mantlepiece Princess Pushy 2:29.4
1990 Pressmans Choice Bassies Pride Shuzohra 2:29.0
1989 Sydeston Ideal Centreman Gopak 2:30.7
1988 Conbituate Lady Concordance Tawrrific 2:29.2

Note: The 2013 Zipping Classic was held at Caulfield due to upgrades taking place at the Sandown racecourse.