horse racing info

Quezette Stakes

The Quezette Stakes is a Group 3 set weights & penalties race for three-year-old fillies that takes place each August at Caulfield racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Quezette Stakes was won by Sunlight from Humma Humma with Thrillster third.

Upgraded to a Group 3 event for the 2013/2014 racing season, the Quezette Stakes takes place on Gr2 PB Lawrence Stakes at Caulfield and is the female equivalent of the Gr3 Vain States for colts & geldings which takes place on the same day.

Quezette Stakes info

Date: Saturday 17th August 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Sunlight

The Quezette Stakes is the first group race of the new racing season for fillies only and will generally assemble a field of fit winter types stepping up in class or better class gallopers who may be resuming fom a spell.

A race such as the upcoming Gr3 HDF McNeil Stakes or Gr3 Thousand Guineas Prelude, both at at Caulfield, may be on the radar for fillies contesting this event.

Sunlight (2018) ran second in the Listed Lightning Stakes over 1050m at Morphettville in Adelaide before heading to Melbourne to win this event for the Tony McEvoy stable.

Recent Quezette Stakes winners include Crown Witness (2017) and I Am A Star (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

Sunlight (2018) and Humma Humma (2nd in 2018) went on to quinella the Gr3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes at Caulfield after running first and second in this event.

Lindsay Park trained galloper Catchy (2nd in 2017) took out the Gr2 Danehill Stakes down the Flemington straight course after running second in this race.

Kiss A Rose (2013) finished runner-up in the Danehill Stakes after winning this race while Eclair Big Bang (3rd in 2013) managed to win the Gr3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude at Caulfield.

Satin Shoes (2011) ran a great race for third behind Sepoy in the Gr1 Coolmore Stud Stakes on Derby Day at Flemington after winning this race.

Classy filly Mosheen (3rd in 2011) ran placings in the both the Thousand Guineas Prelude & Gr1 Thousand Guineas at Caulfield before scoring victories in the Gr1 VRC Oaks & Gr2 Edward Manifold Stakes at Flemington later in the spring.

2018 Quezette Stakes

1. $4.20 Sunlight 58.5 Luke Currie
2. $8.00 Humma Humma 55.0 Jamie Mott
3. $17.00 Thrillster 57.5 Noel Callow

then followed
4. $15.00 Qafila 56.5 Mark Zahra
5. $12.00 Fidelia 55.0 Jye McNeil
6. $81.00 Golden Halo 55.0 Ben Allen
7. $3.80 Pippie 55.0 Ben Melham
8. $20.00 Write Enuff 55.0 Craig Williams
9. $31.00 Khulaasa 57.5 Damien Oliver
10. $17.00 Causeway Girl 55.0 Damien Thornton
11. $31.00 Ennis Hill 57.5 Damian Lane
12. $14.00 Witherspoon 55.0 Regan Bayliss
13. $41.00 Casadiva 55.0 Michael Walker
14. $61.00 Sundarbans 55.0 James Winks
15. $151.00 Grand Wish 55.0 Andrew Mallyon
16. $71.00 Ray's Dream 55.0 Luke Nolen

Margins: 0.10 len, 0.85 len
Time: 1:04.30

Bet now on the Quezette Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Quezette Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Quezette Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Sunlight Humma Humma Thrillster 1:04.3
2017 Crown Witness Catchy Ploverset 1:05.6
2016 I Am A Star Leotie Athena Lass 1:05.0
2015 Petits Filous Jalan Jalan Miss Gunpowder 1:03.1
2014 Sabatini Royal Snitzel Novel Dancer 1:04.2
2013 Kiss A Rose Metastasio Chloe In Paris 1:02.7
2012 Elite Elle Agueda Ephemera 1:05.0
2011 Satin Shoes Metonymy Mosheen 1:04.2