horse racing info

PB Lawrence Stakes

The PB Lawrence Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race that takes place each August at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 PB Lawrence Stakes was won by Showtime from Hartnell with Widgee Turf third.

Known as the 'JJ Liston Stakes' up until 2010, the race was changed to the PB Lawrence Stakes in 2011, in honour of former Melbourne Racing Club Chairman Peter B. Lawrence.

PB Lawrence Stakes info

Date: Saturday 17th August 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: Showtime

The PB Lawrence Stakes is often contested by horses who may have previously run in the weight-for-age Bletchingly Stakes, held the previous month at the same track, as it's run under similar conditions, except the PB Lawrence is run over an extra 200 metres. Shoot Out (2010) won the Bletchingly Stakes on his way to a fast finishing win in this event.

Suiting returning stars of the turf or a capable winter sprinter who is fit and in form, the PB Lawrence Stakes also provides a good springboard to the upcoming weight-for-age Gr1 Memsie Stakes over 1400m at the same track. Humidor (8th in 2018) caused a boilover winning the Memsie Stakes at his next outing.

Being run in early August the race does not always attract the topliners as most of the better gallopers are generally being primed for the major Caulfield & Flemington carnivals later in the spring.

The race itself has been won by some handy gallopers including Regal Roller (2004), Super Elegant (2003), Le Zagaletta (2001), while the talented Mahogany (1994) won the PB Lawrence after winning the Gr1 Victoria Derby as a three-year-old.

Showtime (2018) ran fifth to Pierata in the Group 2 Missile Stakes over 1200m at Randwick in Sydney before heading to Melbourne to prove too strong for his rivals. Recent PB Lawrence Stakes winners include Hartnell (2017) and Miss Rose De Lago (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

The Cleaner (2nd 2015) led all the way to win the Gr2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes at Moonee Valley at his next start after finishing runner-up in the PB Lawrence Stakes.

Pussance De Lune (2013) ran second in the Gr1 Makybe Diva Stakes and Gr1 Turnbull Stakes at Flemington after winning this event, while Second Effort (2012) went on to finish third in the Memsie Stakes at Caulfield. Ready To Rip (3rd in 2012) finished runner-up in the Gr1 AJ Moir Stakes at Moonee Valley later in the spring.

Whobegotyou (2011) finished third in the Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes at Moonee Valley while Lights Of Heaven (2nd in 2011) ran third in the Gr1 Caulfield Stakes at Caulfield.

Shoot Out (2010) placed in the Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes and Turnbull Stakes after winning this race, while Predatory Pricer (2nd in 2010) won the PB Lawrence Stakes the previous year and then went went on to place in the Gr1 Underwood Stakes and Turnbull Stakes during that spring. Heart Of Dreams (3rd in 2010) ran second in the Makybe Diva Stakes at his next start.

Whobegotyou (2nd in 2009) won the Gr2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes and Gr1 Caulfield Stakes and also placed in the Gr1 Underwood Stakes after finishing second in the PB Lawrence Stakes, while Typhoon Tracy (3rd in 2009) won the Gr2 Tristarc Stakes and Gr1 Myer Classic later in the carnival.

The PB Lawrence Stakes is the perfect lead up to the weight-for-age Memsie Stakes at Caulfield, which is run under the same conditions over the same distance, and can also provide a great guide to upcoming feature races during the spring.

2018 PB Lawrence Stakes

1. $6.00 Showtime 58.5 Dwayne Dunn
2. $9.50 Hartnell 59.0 Craig Williams
3. $11.00 Widgee Turf 59.0 Billy Egan

then followed
4. $9.00 Kings Will Dream 59.0 John Allen
5. $4.40 Grunt 58.5 Damien Oliver
=6. $21.00 Jungle Edge 59.0 Kevin Forrester
=6. $15.00 Holy Snow 58.5 Michael Dee
8. $21.00 Humidor 59.0 Damian Lane
9. $8.50 Black Heart Bart 59.0 Brad Rawiller
10. $21.00 Miss Gunpowder 57.0 Jordan Childs
11. $19.00 Mighty Boss 58.5 Michael Walker
12. $201.00 Big Duke 59.0 Harry Coffey
13. $41.00 Harlem 59.0 Regan Bayliss
14. $41.00 Boom Time 59.0 Cory Parish
15. $21.00 Danon Liberty 59.0 Mark Zahra
16. $201.00 Red Cardinal 59.0 Ben Allen

Margins: 0.4 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:23.67

Bet now on the PB Lawrence Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best PB Lawrence Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

PB Lawrence Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Showtime Hartnell Widgee Turf 1:23.6
2017 Hartnell Charmed Harmony Black Heart Bart 1:24.0
2016 Miss Rose De Lago Jacquinot Bay Entirely Platinum 1:24.8
2015 Mourinho The Cleaner Dibayani 1:23.5
2014 Star Rolling Spillway Gig 1:24.3
2013 Puissance De Lune Ajeeb Second Effort 1:21.4
2012 Second Effort Zamorar Ready To Rip 1:27.6
2011 Whobegotyou Lights Of Heaven Prince Obama 1:23.9
2010 Shoot Out Predatory Pricer Heart Of Dreams 1:27.2
2009 Predatory Pricer Whobegotyou Typhoon Tracy 1:23.4
2008 Light Fantastic Weekend Hussler Maldivian 1:24.7
2007 Apache Cat Marasco Maldivian 1:22.1
2006 Pompeii Ruler Red Dazzler Our Smoking Joe 1:23.6
2005 Lad Of The Manor Our Smoking Joe Super Elegant 1:27.9
2004 Regal Roller Amtrak Le Zagaletta 1:26.3
2003 Super Elegant Vocabulary Walk On Air 1:24.4
2002 Sports Le Zagaletta Tully Thunder 1:23.2
2001 Le Zagaletta Inaflury Umrum 1:25.5
2000 Skoozi Please Go Flash Go Ad Alta 1:25.2
1999 Inaflury Sky Heights French Clock 1:26.3
1998 Vonanne Perfect Bound Rustic Dream 1:27.8
1997 Happy Star Hero Wind Spartacus 1:23.5
1996 Delsole Toil You Remember 1:27.9
1995 Baryshnikov Western Red Jeune 1:22.9
1994 Mahogany State Taj Credit Account 1:23.9
1993 Bundy Lad Our Pompeii Star Of The Realm 1:22.9
1992 Jim?s Mate My Brilliant Star Beldivo 1:26.1
1991 Dr Grace Sydeston Aisle 1:28.6
1990 Sydeston Kirksite Benbara King 1:29.5
1989 Kairau Lad Ingatatus Tawrrific 1:28.5
1988 My Steely Dan Havelocks Pride Bonhomie 1:27.8
1987 Military Plume All Spades Our Waverley Star 1:23.5
1986 Luther?s Luck Alternate Always Summer 1:26.6
1985 King Delamere Luthers Luck Kiwi Slave 1:28.4
1984 Bow Mistress King Delamere French Current 1:26.8
1983 Pleach Triumphal March Getting Closer 1:30.8
1982 Cobra Mr. Independent Isle Of Man 1:24.9
1981 Sovereign Red Deck The Halls Birchwood 1:30.3
1980 Grey Sapphire Mighty Kingdom My Brown Jug 1:25.1