horse racing info

Thousand Guineas Prelude

The Thousand Guineas Prelude is a Group 2 set weights & penalties race for three-year-old fillies that takes place each September at Caulfield racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Thousand Guineas Prelude was won by Booker from Shoals with Catchy third.

This race is the female equivalent of the Group 2 Caulfield Guineas Prelude for colts & geldings and was upgraded from Group 3 to Group 2 status for the 2013/2014 racing season. The Thousand Guineas Prelude is held on the same day as the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

2018 Thousand Guineas Prelude info

Date: Sunday 30th September 2018
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2017 Winner: Booker

The Thousand Guineas Prelude is run over 1400 metres for fillies only and is generally used as a lead up race to the prestigious Gr1 Thousand Guineas that takes place in a fortnight at the same track. Classy gallopers Commanding Jewel (2012) and Irish Lights (2009) are the most recent fillies to complete the Thousand Guineas Prelude & Thousand Guineas double.

Better fillies are suited by the weighted conditions of this race and the Thousand Guineas Prelude is typically won by a more than handy filly who will most likely then go on to contest the Thousand Guineas on the 2nd day (Wednesday) of the three day Caulfield carnival, or alternatively, they will contest similar type fillies races during the carnival.

Some more than handy females have won the Thousand Guineas Prelude over the years and gone on to be very competitive as mares later in their career. Miss Finland (2006) has been the most significant winner in recent times and she went on to compete and win at the highest level on many occasions.

Booker (2017) ran third in the Gr2 Danehill Stakes over 1200m at Flemington before proving too strong for her rivals in this event and recent Thousand Guineas Prelude winners include Legless Veuve (2016) and Miss Gunpowder (2015).

horse racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide

Se Sauver (6th in 2013) claimed the Gr2 Edward Manifold Stakes at Flemington after finishing second in this event, while Commanding Jewel (2nd in 2012) also won the Edward Manifold Stakes at her next start before going on to win the Thousand Guineas at Caulfield.

Mosheen (3rd in 2011) won the Edward Manifold Stakes before finishing runner-up in the Thousand Guineas at Caulfield and then won the Gr1 VRC Oaks at Flemington. Bliss Street (2011) finished second behind Mosheen in the Manifold Stakes, while Hallowell Belle (2nd in 2011) travelled to Sydney a couple of weeks later to run second behind Streama in the Gr1 Flight Stakes at Randwick.

Sistine Angel (2nd in 2010) won the Gr3 HDF McNeil Stakes on her way to finishing second in this race before going on to win the Gr2 Edward Manifold Stakes at her next start, while Yosei (5th in 2010) won the Thousand Guineas at her next start.

Irish Lights (2009) claimed the Thousand Guineas after winning this event and Headway (4th in 2009) won the Gr1 Coolmore Stud Stakes on Derby day at Flemington.

2017 Thousand Guineas Prelude result

1. $6.50 Booker 55.0 Dwayne Dunn
2. $5.50 Shoals 57.5 Mark Zahra
3. $1.95 Catchy 58.5 Regan Bayliss

then followed
4. $8.50 She's So High 55.0 Beau Mertens
5. $13.00 Limestone 57.0 Damian Lane
6. $31.00 Roomooz 56.5 Luke Currie
7. $26.00 Seannie 56.5 Ben Melham
8. $101.00 Mahlani 55.0 Ms Katelyn Mallyon

Margins: 0.4 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:23.42

Bet now on the Thousand Guineas Prelude

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Thousand Guineas Prelude recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Booker Shoals Catchy 1:23.4
2016 Legless Veuve La Luna Rossa Sword Of Light 1:25.2
2015 Miss Gunpowder Payroll Jameka 1:23.2
2014 Afleet Esprit Amicus Go Indy Go 1:24.5
2013 Gregers Marianne Politeness 1:29.5
2012 Lady Of Harrods Commanding Jewel Molto Bene 1:24.9
2011 Bliss Street Hallowell Belle Mosheen 1:24.4
2010 Divorces Sistine Angel Panipique 1:24.2
2009 Irish Lights Set For Fame Mont Fleuri 1:26.1
2008 Ortensia Romneya Sugar Babe 1:26.0
2007 Gabbidon Jestatune Sleek Chassis 1:23.9
2006 Miss Finland Anamato My Only Hope 1:24.3
2005 Doubting Pinezero Isanami 1:27.4
2004 Hollow Bullet Ballet Society Astradame 1:24.3
2003 Hinting Ashenti Portland Damask 1:22.9
2002 La Bella Dame Toast Of The Coast Lashed 1:24.2
2001 Haste Ye Back Malagra Miss Special Grange 1:25.0
2000 So Gorgeous Ponton Flyer All Time High 1:22.9
1999 Miss Pennymoney My Sienna One Under 1:22.5
1998 Danelagh Visual Displays Oaks Dream 1:23.9
1997 Cornwall Queen Kensington Palace Rose Of Danehill 1:23.7
1996 Derobe Fairway Lass Simply Believe 1:25.6
1995 Rubidium Arctic Scent Seika 1:23.8
1994 Majestic Dawn Captiva Dasyura 1:24.9
1993 Brompton Cross Motown Blue Fine Recipe 1:24.7
1992 Azzurro Forget Playing Dhokeep 1:27.8
1991 Chador Latin Halo Dancefloor Doll 1:29.3
1990 Century Pike Tassuti Holiday Lover 1:26.1
1989 Pleasure Bandit Snow Apple Pure Talent 1:39.4
1988 Imposing Bloom Goodbye Tristram Kingdom Poacher 1:38.6