horse racing info

Newmarket Handicap

The Newmarket Handicap is a Group 1 Open Handicap race held annually each March at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and has prizemoney of $1,250,000. The 2019 Newmarket Handicap was won by Sunlight from Osborne Bulls with Brave Smash third.

Held on the Victoria Racing Club's major race day of the autumn, Super Saturday of Racing at Flemington, the Newmarket Handicap takes place alongside the Group 1 Australian Cup.

Newmarket Handicap info

Date: Saturday 9th March 2019
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,250,000
2019 Winner: Sunlight

The Newmarket Handicap is the premier handicap sprint event held at Flemington during the autumn racing carnival and is run down the 1200m straight course. The race always attracts high quality gallopers and has been taken out by many of our finest sprinters over the years.

Top class gallopers such as Black Caviar (2011), Miss Andretti (2007), Takeover Target (2006), Alinghi (2005), General Nediym (1998), Schillaci (1992) and Special (1998) have all taken out the Newmarket Handicap in recent times.

The Flemington 'Straight Six' 1200m course is a straight track with no turns involved and suits some horses more than others. Horses with proven records at the course & distance are ones to look for when doing the form for this race.

The Gr1 Lightning Stakes and Gr1 Oakleigh Plate are very good lead up races to the Newmarket Handicap. Lindsay Park sprinter Redkirk Warrior (2018) is the last galloper to claim the Lighting Stakes and & Newmarket Handicap double, while Lankan Rupee (2014) is the most recent winner of the Oakleigh Plate & Newmarket Handicap double.

Sprinters contesting this race might consider going on to tackle the Gr1 William Reid Stakes at Moonee Valley which is the final group one race of the Melbourne autumn carnival.

Sunlight (2019) ran third in the Lightning Stakes over 1000m at Flemington before scoring a classy victory in this event for the Tony McEvoy stable.

Recent Newmarket Handicap winners include Redkirk Warrior (2017-2018) and The Quarterback (2016).

2019 Newmarket Handicap result

1. $13.00 Sunlight 50.5 Barend Vorster
2. $4.20 Osborne Bulls 56.0 Hugh Bowman
3. $26.00 Brave Smash 57.0 Damien Oliver

then followed
4. $7.00 Graff 51.0 William Pike
5. $12.00 Santa Ana Lane 58.5 Ben Melham
6. $9.50 In Her Time 55.5 Corey Brown
7. $20.00 Encryption 51.0 Ms Rachel King
8. $61.00 Champagne Cuddles 52.0 Jamie Kah
9. $26.00 Booker 53.0 Dean Yendall
10. $101.00 Dothraki 54.5 Damian Lane
11. $151.00 I'll Have A Bit 52.0 Ben Thompson
12. $51.00 Bons Away 52.0 Ms Linda Meech
13. $201.00 Glenall 52.0 Dean Holland
14. $101.00 Missrock 52.0 Stephen Baster
15. $101.00 Usain Bowler 52.0 Patrick Moloney
16. $6.00 Eduardo 52.0 Brian Park
17. $15.00 Zousain 51.0 Craig Williams
18. $101.00 Voodoo Lad 56.0 Mark Zahra
19. $101.00 Divine Quality 52.0 Beau Mertens
20. $51.00 Whispering Brook 52.5 Jye McNeil
21. $41.00 Redkirk Warrior 58.5 Luke Nolen
22. $41.00 Lean Mean Machine 50.0 Michael Dee

Margins: 0.75, 0.10 len
Time: 1:08.25

Other group races on Super Saturday of Racing at Flemington include the Gr2 Kewney Stakes, Gr2 VRC Sires Produce Stakes and Gr3 Matron Stakes.

Bet now on the Newmarket Handicap

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Newmarket Handicap odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Newmarket Handicap winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Sunlight Osborne Bulls Brave Smash 1:08.2
2018 Redkirk Warrior Brave Smash Merchant Navy 1:08.3
2017 Redkirk Warrior Voodoo Lad Star Turn 1:09.0
2016 The Quarterback Black Heart Bart Chautauqua 1:09.2
2015 Brazen Beau Chautauqua Terravista 1:09.2
2014 Lankan Rupee Spirit Of Boom Knoydart 1:09.2
2013 Shamexpress Moment Of Change Aeronautical 1:08.1
2012 Hay List Buffering Foxwedge 1:08.7
2011 Black Caviar Crystal Lily Beaded 1.07.3
2010 Wanted Eagle Falls Starspangledbanner 1:10.1
2009 Scenic Blast Swiss Ace Aichi 1:08.7
2008 Weekend Hustler Magnus Grand Duels 1:09.0
2007 Miss Andretti Gold Edition Undue 1:07.7
2006 Takeover Target Snitzel Stratum 1:08.3
2005 Alinghi Fastnet Rock Foreplay 1:08.1
2004 Exceed And Excel Titanic Jack Regimental Gal 1:08.7
2003 Belle Du Jour Bel Esprit Super Impressive 1:08.6
2002 Rubitano North Boy Mistegic 1:09.0
2001 Toledo Show A Heart Mannington 1:08.6
2000 Miss Pennymoney Black Bean Falvelon 1:07.6
1999 Isca Dantelah Normal Practice 1:07.8
1998 General Nediym Toledo Scandinavia 1:09.2
1997 Ruffles Catalan Opening All Our Mob 1:08.9
1996 Brawny Spirit Sequalo Royal Discard 1:07.7
1995 All Our Mob Hareeba Moss Rocket 1:08.2
1994 Mookta Gatana Let Him Ride 1:10.2
1993 Primacy Victory Dias Keda 1:08.1
1992 Schillaci Storaia Umatilla 1:09.4
1991 Shaftesbury Avenue Redelva Century God 1:11.0
1990 Gold Trump Lightning Bend Tango Master 1:08.3
1989 Grandiose Clay Hero Bowie 1:10.1
1988 Special Franklin Drive Rancho Ruler 1:11.2