horse racing info

Cockram Stakes

The Cockram Stakes is a Group 3 event for mares raced under set weights and penalty conditions over a distance of 1200m each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Cockram Stakes was won by Savanna Amour from Flying Jess with Written Era third.

Held on Group 1 Memsie Stakes day, the Cockram Stakes is the first group race of the new racing season in Victoria for mares only and has been run as the 'William Hill Sprint Series Heat 1 Stakes' in recent years.

2018 Cockram Stakes info

Date: Saturday 1st September 2018
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2017 Winner: Savanna Amour

The Cockram Stakes is a mares only race over the sprint journey of 1200m that often attracts more than handy females who may or may not go on to better races ahead during the Melbourne spring racing carnival.

The classier mares engaged will be advantaged by the set weights conditions of the race whch favours the better gallopers. Upcoming female only races such as the Gr2 Lets Elope Stakes at Flemington on Makybe Diva Stakes Day or the Gr3 How Now Stakes at Caulfield on Underwood Stakes Day are likely destinations for mares contesting this race.

Savanna Amour (2017) finished unplaced in the Gr3 Bletchingly Stakes over 1200m at Sandown before taking out this event and and recent Cockram Stakes winners include Ocean Embers (2016) and Madam Gangster (2015).

horse racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide

Sword Of Light (5th in 2017) and Don't Doubt Mamma (5th in 2016) both went on to win the Let's Elope Stakes at their next start, while A Time For Julia (2nd in 2013) ran third in the Let's Elope Stakes. Bonaria (4th in 2013) finished runner-up in the Gr3 Ladies Day Vase at Caulfield.

Stradbroke winner Mid Summer Music (2011) came third in the Let's Elope Stakes at Flemington & Gr2 Caulfield Sprint at Caulfield, before running a gallant third in the Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic at Flemington behind champion mare Black Caviar. Parables (2nd in 2011) finished runner-up to Mid Sumer Music in the Let's Elope Stakes.

Response (2nd in 2010) ran second in the Lets Elope Stakes after finishing runner-up in this event and she then stepped up another level to win the Gr1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes at Caulfield. Lady Lynette (3rd in 2010) ran third in the Gr2 WH Stocks Stakes at Moonee Valley before winning the Gr3 Inglis Mile on Cox Plate Day at the same track.

Cats Whisker (2009) also ran second in the Lets Elope Stakes before taking out the WH Stocks Stakes and Gr2 Rose Of Kingston Stakes later in the spring.

2017 Cockram Stakes result

1. $15.00 Savanna Amour 58.0 Ben Melham
2. $81.00 Flying Jess 56.0 Jordan Childs
3. $21.00 Written Era 55.0 Dwayne Dunn

then followed
4. $19.00 I Am Zelady 55.0 Regan Bayliss
5. $21.00 Sword Of Light 55.0 Ben Thompson
6. $15.00 Jennifer Lynn 56.0 Blake Shinn
7. $1.80 Fuhryk 57.0 Craig Williams
8. $10.00 Sullivan Bay 55.0 Cory Parish
9. $101.00 Foreign Affair 55.0 Chris Symons
10. $7.50 Miss Cover Girl 55.0 Luke Nolen
11. $13.00 Lyuba 55.0 Michael Dee

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:11.15

Bet now on the Cockram Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Cockram Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Savanna Amour Flying Jess Written Era 1:11.1
2016 Ocean Embers Thames Court Telopea 1:12.2
2015 Madam Gangster Hazard Vezalay 1:11.1
2014 Gregers A Time For Julia Commanding Jewel 1:09.8
2013 Octavia A Time for Julia Oriental Ruby 1:11.2
2012 Lady Melksham Le Societe Glows 1:12.4
2011 Mid Summer Music Parables Anabaa's Legacy 1:10.4
2010 Rhythm In Paris Response Lady Lynette 1:13.2
2009 Cats Whisker Annesong Flying Ruby 1:12.2
2008 Princess Gisella Mimi Lebrock Devil Moon 1:11.4
2007 Storm Signal Universal Queen Juste Momente 1:09.6
2006 Storm Alert Sorenstam Doubting 1:10.3
2005 Dea Pretty Penny Sarah Michelle 1:14.5
2004 Strikeline Beautiful Gem Rinky Dink 1:11.9
2003 Brief Embrace Royal Sash Ain't Seen Nothin 1:11.9
2002 Pernod Calming Miss La La 1:09.6
2001 Libidinious Poppett Tickle My 1:13.2
2000 Tickle My Piavonic Monterosso 1:12.2
1999 Chillies Zapeace Follow Gold 1:13.4
1998 Spectrum Chillies Sweet Delight 1:15.7