horse racing info

VRC Sprint Classic

The VRC Sprint Classic is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held at Flemington racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in November. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $1,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 VRC Sprint Classic was won by Redzel from equal runners-up, Hauraki and Seaburge, who dead-heated for second place.

The VRC Sprint Classic race conditions altered in 2007 when it changed from a 'handicap' to 'weight-for-age' and the race was moved to Emirates Stakes Day to align with the Global Sprint Challenge.

This change complemented the addition of the Gr1 Coolmore Stud Stakes (formerly Ascot Vale Stakes) for three-year-olds onto the Derby Day program. The race now attracts the best sprinters available, including well performed three-year-olds from the Coolmore Stud Stakes.

It's been run as the 'Age Classic' and 'Patinack Farm Classic' in recent years and currently goes around as the 'Darley Classic'.

VRC Sprint Classic info

Date: Saturday 10th November 2018
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2017 Winner: Redzel
bet now 2017 VRC Sprint Classic odds

The VRC Sprint Classic has changed in recent times to make it more attractive to international horses as part of the Global Sprint Challenge, and it also provides a good race for three-year-olds who back up after contesting the Coolmore Stud Stakes over the same course and distance on Derby day.

Run down the Flemington straight course with no turns involved, the VRC Sprint Classic is a true speed test where stamina is also required to run out a strong 1200 metres. It has been won by some of Australia's best sprinters over the years. Races such as the Gr1 Manikato Stakes on Cox Plate eve and the Gr2 Linlithgow Stakes on Derby Day are ideal lead up races to this event.

The VRC Sprint Classic is a the premier weight-for-age sprint race of the Fleminton spring racing carnival and interestingly enough the winner has broken the Flemington 1200 metres track record multiple times since 1991, which shows the type of class required to claim this event.

To win the VRC Sprint Classic, a horse has to possess both speed to take up a prominent position and strength at the finish when the pressure is on and it's no surprise that only high class gallopers win this event, as history certainly shows.

Brilliant gallopers to to win the VRC Sprint Classic include Buffering (2013), Black Caviar (2010-11), Miss Andretti (2007), Takeover Target (2005), Hareeba (1994), Special (1988), River Rough (1983-84), Maybe Mahal (1976), Century (1973) and Vain (1969).

Buffering travelled to Perth later in the month to win the Gr1 Winterbottom Stakes over 1200m at Ascot racecourse.

Redzel (2017) won a gimmack race in Sydney before heading to Melbourne to score a classy victory in this event and recent VRC Sprint Classic winners include Malaguerra (2016) and Delectation (2015).

2017 VRC Sprint Classic result

1. $4.00 Redzel 58.5 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $31.00 Terravista 58.5 Brenton Avdulla
3. $9.50 Impending 58.5 Corey Brown

then followed
4. $4.80 Chautauqua 58.5 Dwayne Dunn
5. $26.00 Clearly Innocent 58.5 Blake Shinn
6. $41.00 Rock Magic 58.5 Damian Lane
7. $6.50 Vega Magic 58.5 Luke Nolen
8. $61.00 Super Cash 56.5 Ms Katelyn Mallyon
9. $41.00 Missrock 56.5 Noel Callow
10. $12.00 Malaguerra 58.5 Ben Melham
11. $9.50 Redkirk Warrior 58.5 Regan Bayliss
12. $61.00 Man From Uncle 58.5 Michael Dee
13. $16.00 Spieth 58.5 Brad Rawiller

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:08.74

sportsbet odds

Global Sprint Challenge

The VRC Sprint Classic Stakes is the second-last leg of the 'Global Sprint Challenge' which is a series of ten sprint races run in Hong Kong, Australia, England, Japan, Singapore and Dubai. The Australian legs of the series are the Gr1 Lightning Stakes held at Flemington in January and the Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic held on the final day of the Flemington spring carnival in November.

Global Sprint Challenge races

Gr1 Lightning Stakes - Flemington - Australia - January
Gr1 Dubai Golden Shaheen - Meydan (Dubai) - March
Gr1 Takamatsunomiya Kinen - Chukyo (Japan) - March
Gr1 Chairman's Sprint Prize - Sha Tin (Hong Kong) - May
Gr1 King's Stand Stakes - Royal Ascot (England) - June
Gr1 DIamond Jubilee Stakes - Royal Ascot (England) - June
Gr1 July Cup - Newmarket - (England) July
Gr1 Sprinters Stakes - Nakayama (Japan) - October
Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic - Flemington (Australia) - November
Gr1 Hong Kong Sprint - Sha Tin (Hong Kong) - December

The Champion Sprinter trophy is awarded to the connections of the horse that accumulates 42 points or more in a single season, and participates in challenge races in at least three countries. Challenge winners since the Global Series inception have been Cape of Good Hope (2005), Takeover Target (2006), Miss Andretti (2007) Apache Cat (2008), Scenic Blast (2009) and Starspangledbanner (2010).

Bet now on the VRC Sprint Classic

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best VRC Sprint Classic odds.

VRC Sprint Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Redzel Terravista Impending 1:08.7
2016 Malaguerra Spieth Fell Swoop 1:10.2
2015 Delectation Chautauqua Terravista 1:10.0
2014 Terravista Chautauqua Lankan Rupee 1:08.7
2013 Buffering Shamexpress Moment Of Change 1:10.3
2012 Mental Sea Siren Hallowell Belle 1:09.0
2011 Black Caviar Buffering Mid Summer Music 1:08.3
2010 Black Caviar Star Witness Ortensia 1:07.9
2009 All Silent Wanted Bank Robber 1:08.7
2008 Swick Turffontein Sunburnt Land 1:11.0
2007 Miss Andretti Gold Edition Stanzout 1:08.9
2006 Dance Hero Shadoways Miss Andretti 1:08.6
2005 Glamour Puss Barely A Moment Cape Of Good Hope 1:08.9
2004 Takeover Target Recurring St Basil 1:08.2
2003 Ancient Song Into The Night Blessum 1:11.0
2002 Rubitano Intelligent Star Cosmic Strike 1:07.1
2001 Sudurka Hire Camena 1:08.4
2000 Easy Rocking Umrum Tilt The Scales 1:10.0
1999 Pharein Toledo Cannyanna 1:07.9
1998 Flavour Scandinavia Towkay 1:09.5
1997 Notoire Rock You Flavour 1:11.1
1996 Gold Ace Seika Masked Party 1:07.5
1995 Brawny Spirit Sword Racers Edge 1:08.4
1994 Hareeba Khaptingly Royal Discard 1:09.2
1993 Alishan Keltrice Primacy 1:08.6
1992 Unspoken Word Tanjian Prince Ghost Story 1:10.6
1991 Final Card Barrosa Boy Mr Tiz 1:07.8
1990 Planet Ruler Redelva Gypsy Rogue 1:08.1
1989 Planet Ruler Heavenly View Glenview 1:08.3
1988 Special Prismatic Star Our Westminster 1:09.9