horse racing info

Rose of Kingston Stakes

The Rose of Kingston Stakes is a Group 2 race for mares held annually each October at Flemington racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres under set weight + penalty conditions and is worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Rose Of Kingston Stakes was won by Haut Brion Her from Pohutukawa with Angelic Ruler third.

Taking place on Group 1 Turnbull Stakes day, the race has had a number of name changes over the years and has previously been known as the 'Honda Prelude', 'Hardy Brothers Prelude', and 'Jayco Stakes'. The race is currently being run as the 'Blazer Stakes'.

Rose of Kingston Stakes info

Date: Saturday 5th October 2019
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2019 Winner: Haut Brion Her

The Rose of Kingston Stakes is a mares event over a distance of 1400 metres and the set weights and penalty conditions make it a race where typically the best mare will salute most of the time. The race itself is a handy mares event that has been won by some nice types over the years with Divine Madonna (2006), Will Fly (1997) and Excited Angel (1993) all winning the race.

Females contesting this event will more than likely go on to races like the Gr2 Tristarc Stakes on Caulfield Cup Day at Caulfield or the Gr1 Empire Rose Stakes on Victoria Derby Day at Flemington which are both races for mares only.

Invincibella (2018) ran fourth in the Gr2 Golden Pendant over 1400m at Rosehill in Sydney before making the trek to Melbourne to win this event for the Chris Waller stable.

Recent Rose of Kingston Stakes winners include Now Or Later (2017) and French Emotion (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

Shoko (unp in 2018) captured the Gr2 Rose Of Kingston Stakes at Flemington at her next start.

La Passe (2015) headed to the Caulfield Cup carnival at her next start to capture the Tristarc Stakes with Jessy Belle (3rd in 2015) finishing third behind her once again.

Lady Lynette (2011) ran third in the Gr2 Inglis Mile at Moonee Valley following her victory in this event and Dysphonia (3rd in 2011) managed to run third in the Empire Rose Stakes at Flemington.

The previous year Lady Lynette (4th in 2010) went on to win the Inglis Mile at Moonee Valley on Cox Plate Day and the previous year she finished unplaced (6th in 2009) in this race before going on to run second behind Typhoon Tracy in the Empire Rose Stakes on Derby Day at Flemington.

Cats Whisker (2009) won the Gr2 Let's Elope Stakes at Flemington on her way to winning this race while Gold Water (2nd in 2009) had a most consistent autumn of 2010 running placings in multiple group races during the Sydney, Adelaide and Brisbane carnivals.

2018 Rose of Kingston Stakes result

1. $3.20 Invincibella 58.0 Hugh Bowman
2. $3.70 Savatiano 55.5 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $101.00 Mamzelle Tess 55.0 Jye McNeil

then followed
4. $7.00 Tulip 57.0 Mark Zahra
5. $19.00 La Bella Diosa 55.0 Craig Williams
6. $41.00 Temple Of Bel 55.0 Andrew Mallyon
7. $31.00 Bring Me Roses 58.0 Luke Currie
8. $31.00 Aloisia 59.0 Michael Walker
9. $10.00 Bella Martini 58.0 Dwayne Dunn
10. $31.00 Shoko 55.0 Ms Linda Meech
11. $101.00 Truly Discreet 55.0 Michael Dee
12. $91.00 Payroll 57.0 Jamie Mott
13. $8.00 Platinum Angel 55.0 Ben Allen

Margins: 2.5 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:22.52

Bet now on the Rose Of Kingston Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Rose Of Kingston Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Rose Of Kingston Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Haut Brion Her Pohutukawa Angelic Ruler 1:22.6
2018 Invincibella Savatiano Mamzelle Tess 1:22.5
2017 Now Or Later Merriest Payroll 1:24.2
2016 French Emotion Pure Pride Vibrant Rouge 1:24.3
2015 La Passe Manageress Lucky Lago/Jessy Belle 1:22.9
2014 Forever Loved Enquare May's Dream 1:24.8
2013 Fire Up Fifi Peron Catkins 1:23.8
2012 Mosheen Bonaria Miss Stellabelle 1:23.4
2011 Lady Lynette Booklet Dysphonia 1:24.1
2010 Palacio De Cristal No Evidence Needed Strawberry Field 1:23.9
2009 Cats Whisker Gold Water Dane Julia 1:22.4
2008 Bellini Rose Absolute Glam Viking Turf Belle 1:24.1
2007 Vormista Bellini Rose El Pauji 1:23.9
2006 Divine Madonna Imana Open Cut 1:23.3
2005 Sky Cuddle Dea Astrodame 1:23.5
2004 Skewiff Infinite Grace Light Sweeper 1:22.4
2003 Vocabulary Gazania Galipagos Girl 1:24.1
2002 Hosannah Gentle Genius Purple Groove 1:23.8
2001 Tickle My Hula Wonder Calm Smytzer 1:25.7
2000 Ramano's Star Fellowship Bumbelina 1:23.7
1999 Hula Wonder Londolozi Savannah 1:25.3
1998 Our Dynamic Lady Cannyanna Misomai 1:25.7
1997 Will Fly Bionic Bess Prefer An Angel 1:24.1
1996 Chlorophyll Kahuna Queen Central Express 1:29.1
1995 Tolanda Nobellotto Love Of Mary 1:24.1
1994 Sedately Spanish Mix Bourverie Mist 1:23.6
1993 Excited Angel Mana Girl Ambala 1:25.4
1992 Danjiki Knights Contessa Excited Angel 1:23.8
1991 Holiday Lover Take The Prize Shevano Miss 1:23.7
1990 Piper's Belle Luck Alive Benbara Queen 1:23.7
1989 Lady Jess Memphis Blues Whistling 1:24.4