horse racing info

How Now Stakes

The How Now Stakes is a Group 3 race for mares raced under set weights and penalty conditions each year in September at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 How Now Stakes was won by Savanna Amour from Legless Veuve with Ravi third.

Run as the 'William Hill Sprint Series Heat 2 Stakes' more recently, it will run as the 'Ladbrokes Odds Boost Stakes' this season. The How Now Stakes is held on the same day as the Gr3 Naturalism Stakes and is a more than handy mares race during the early stages of the Melbourne spring racing carnival.

2018 How Now Stakes info

Date: Saturday 22nd September 2018
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2017 Winner: Savanna Amour

The How Now Stakes is a mares only race over the sprint distance of 1200 metres and most of the time attracts above average females where the weighted conditions of the race means the better mares engaged have a decided advantage over their rivals.

Females contesting the How Now Stakes may have previously tackled similar mares races like the Gr3 Cockram Stakes or Gr3 Lets Elope Stakes and may consider tackling better quality mares races like the Gr2 Rose Of Kingston Stakes at Flemington on Turnbull Stakes day.

Classy mare Mosheen (5th in 2012) went on to win the Rose of Kingston Stakes at her next start after running fifth in this race and the How Now Stakes has been won by talented mares such as Sister Madly (2011), Velocitea (2009) and Lovely Jubly (2003) over the years.

Secret Agenda (2016) ran fourth in the Gr2 Euclase Stakes over 1200m at Morphettvile in Adelaide before resuming from a spell to win this race in easy fashion. Recent How Now Stakes winners include Politeness (2015) and Girl Guide (2014).

horse racing free bet

2017 How Now Stakes result

1. $15.00 Savanna Amour 58.0 Brad Rawiller
2. $16.00 Legless Veuve 58.0 Luke Currie
3. $2.90 Ravi 57.0 Dwayne Dunn

then followed
4. $4.60 Missrock 56.0 Damien Oliver
5. $11.00 Prompt Response 58.0 Stephen Baster
6. $21.00 Now Or Later 55.0 Ryan Maloney
7. $21.00 Ellicazoom 56.0 Steven Parnham
8. $10.00 Fuhryk 57.0 Beau Mertens
9. $61.00 Deja Blue 55.0 Jye McNeil
10. $19.00 I Am Zelady 55.0 Noel Callow
11. $81.00 Selita 55.0 Luke Nolen
12. $20.00 Miss Cover Girl 55.0 Damian Lane
13. $61.00 Kenedna 58.0 John Allen

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:09.42

Bet now on the How Now Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

How Now Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Savanna Amour Legless Veuve Ravi 1:09.4
2016 Secret Agenda Every Faith Exclusive Lass 1:12.2
2015 Politeness Griante Jessy Belle 1:10.7
2014 Girl Guide A Time For Julia Shamal Wind 1:10.2
2013 Catkins Hi Belle Flash Of Doubt 1:12.5
2012 Detours Classy Chloe Mrs Onassis 1:10.4
2011 Sister Madly Valentine Miss Lone Rock 1:10.3
2010 Valentine Miss I'm A Hussy Red Flair 1:09.3
2009 Velocitea Neroli Dollops 1:11.4
2008 Vivacious Spirit Benatar Vormista 1:10.5
2007 Miss Judgement Juste Momente Flying Object 1.09:8
2006 Queen Of The Hill Megadeal Nuclear Free 1:10.9
2005 Sarah Michelle =1 Brindabella =1 Little Chloe 1:13.9
2004 Strikeline Solar Antiquity Skewiff 1:10.5
2003 Lovely Jubly Infinite Grace Astaroth 1:09.0
2002 Taimana Calming Galapagos Girl 1:09.8
2001 Miss Power Bird Purple Groove Dynamic Love 1:11.3
2000 Piavonic Nova Clause Clemens Belle 1:10.3
1999 Snippets Lass Rose Of Dane Blazing Aura 1:10.0