horse racing info

VRC Sires Produce Stakes

The VRC Sires Produce Stakes is a Group 2 race for two-year-olds held each year in March at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres under set weight conditions and has prizemoney of $200,000. The 2019 VRC Sires Produce Stakes was won by La Tene from Dalasan with Fling third.

The VRC Sires Produce Stakes takes place on the Victoria Racing Club's premier race day of the autumn, Super Saturday of Racing at Flemington, headlined by the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap and Group 1 Australian Cup.

VRC Sires Produce Stakes info

Date: Saturday 7th March 2020
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 2yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2019 Winner: La Tene

The VRC Sires Produce Stakes is a classic event for two-year-olds that gives young horses their first test at greater than 1200m in a group race during the autumn. Youngsters who have previously contested the Gr1 Blue Diamond Stakes at Caulfield a couple of weeks earlier are best suited to tackle this event.

The race suits horses who run on strongly in the Blue Diamond Stakes which indicates the extra distance of this race may be of benefit. The VRC Sires Produce Stakes is typically won by an above average galloper and interestingly enough, Shamus Award (2nd in 2013) went on to win the Gr1 WS Cox Plate during the Melbourne spring racing carnival as a maiden three-year-old.

The Sydney autumn racing carnival can often be on the agenda for 2yo gallopers competing in this event and Von Costa De Hero (2008) managed to run second in the Gr1 Golden Slipper Stakes at Rosehill in April after winning this race.

Classy gallopers Rostova (2009) & All Too Hard (2012) finished third & second respectively in the Gr1 ATC Sires Produce Stakes at Randwick after taking out this race, while Yosei (3rd in 2010) managed to win the ATC Sires Produce Stakes after finishing third in this event. Willow Creek (2nd in 2010) won the Gr2 Magic Night Stakes at Rosehill after running second here.

La Tene (2019) took out a 2YO Handicap race over 1400m at Sandown before leading all the way to win this event for the James Cummings stable.

Recent VRC Sires Produce Stakes winners include Not A Single Cent (2018) and Sircconi (2017).

2019 VRC Sires Produce Stakes result

1. $12.00 La Tene 54.5 Dwayne Dunn
2. $3.80 Dalasan 56.5 Craig Williams
3. $31.00 Fling 54.5 Jye McNeil

then followed
4. $5.00 Really Discreet 54.5 Ms Kayla Crowther
5. $12.00 Outlandos 56.5 Damian Lane
6. $51.00 Power Scheme 56.5 Brett Prebble
7. $51.00 Serengeti 56.5 Rhys McLeod
8. $4.40 She Shao Fly 54.5 Luke Currie
9. $21.00 Whykayoh 56.5 Barend Vorster
10. $51.00 Staredown 56.5 John Allen
11. $5.00 Hawker Hurricane 56.5 Mark Zahra

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.3 len
Time: 1:22.92

Other group races on Super Saturday of Racing at Flemington include the Gr2 Kewney Stakes and Gr3 Matron Stakes.

Bet now on the VRC Sires Produce Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best VRC Sires Produce Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

VRC Sires Produce Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 La Tene Dalasan Fling 1:22.9
2018 Not A Single Cent Seberate Akkadian 1:23.4
2017 Sircconi Aspect Feng Chu 1:22.7
2016 Seaburge Detective Revolving Door 1:23.7
2015 Jameka Lazumba Sampeah 1:24.6
2014 Zululand Awesome Rock Marcado 1:24.3
2013 Twilight Royale Shamus Award Great Esteem 1:23.3
2012 All Too Hard Pronto Pronto Road Trippin 1:22.5
2011 Running Tall Decircles Grand Britannia 1:24.2
2010 Shamrocker Willow Creek Yosei 1:23.5
2009 Rostova Bombay Sling Gathering 1:23.4
2008 Von Costa De Hero Carnero Burgeis 1:23.7
2007 Incumbent Marching Below Zero 1:22.8
2006 De Lago Mist Ulfah Danever 1:22.4
2005 Danger Looms Under The Floor Ferocity 1:22.8
2004 Barely A Moment Big Poppa Pump Kylikwong 1:24.2
2003 Winestock Fresh Boy Hammerbeam 1:23.6
2002 Pillaging Delago Brom Tom Coureuse 1:22.2
2001 Spectatorial Tuscanos Valkyrian 1:25.3
2000 Preserve Ponton Flyer Happy Morning 1:23.5
1999 Testa Rossa Dangerous Downing Street 1:24.5
1998 Coup De Grace Special Edition Admired 1:26.1
1997 Millward Cornwall Queen Evader 1:23.1
1996 My Duke Zeya Clang 1:23.1
1995 Lochrae Donar Flying Spur 1:23.7
1994 Blevic Delsole Racer's Edge 1:24.5
1993 Price Of Rancho Taps Staff Sergeant 1:23.1
1992 King Marauding Just Juan Apopka 1:23.7
1991 Not Related Diddy Do It Umatilla 1:23.8
1990 Canny Lad Century Pike Draw Card 1:24.5
1989 Rechabite Ice Solid Macwind 1:26.0
1988 Wonder Dancer Vitalic Glowing Tribute 1:23.7