horse racing info

Magic Night Stakes

The Magic Night Stakes is a Group 2 race for two-year-old fillies that takes place in late March at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight conditons and worth $175,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Magic Night Stakes was won by Sunlight from Cristobal with Sweet Ava third.

The winner of this race is exempt from ballot for the Golden Slipper Stakes and the Magic Night Stakes is held on Group 1 Coolmore Classic day.

Magic Night Stakes info

Date: Saturday 16th March 2019
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2018 Winner: Sunlight

The Magic Night Stakes is run seven days before the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes and gives two-year-old fillies their last chance to qualify for the Slipper, as the winner of this race is exempt from any Slipper ballot. Two-year-old fillies contesting this race may come via the Gr2 Sweet Embrace Stakes at Randwick two weeks earlier and Victory Vein (2002) was the last filly to win both races.

The Magic Night has not been a good guide to Golden Slipper winners of late with Victory Vein (2002) the closest in recent times when she managed to finish second, while Portillo (2008) & Media (2005) both went on to run third in the Slipper.

Two-year-old fillies who plan to run in the Golden Slipper may use this event as their final lead up race. Indian Ocean (2009) finished 13th in the Slipper while Marquardt (2nd in 2009) went on to run a respectable sixth in the premier 2yo event.

The Gr2 Pago Pago Stakes for colts & geldings is the male equivalent of this race and is held on the same day. Both races take place on Gr1 Rosehill Guineas Day at Rosehill.

Any quality fillies might consider a rise in distance to a race like the Gr1 ATC Sires Produce Stakes against the males at Randwick. Peggy Jean (2nd in 2014) won the Sires at her next start after finishing runner-up in the Magic Night Stakes.

Sunlight (2018) captured the Gr2 Silver Slipper Stakes over 1100m at Rosehill before scoring an exciting victory in this event and recent Magic Night Stakes winners include Tulip (2017) and Calliope (2016).

2018 Magic Night Stakes result

1. $1.35 Sunlight 55.5 Luke Currie
2. $14.00 Cristobal 55.5 Tye Angland
3. $13.00 Sweet Ava 55.5 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $31.00 Secret Lady 55.5 Tim Clark
5. $91.00 Kara’S Hope 55.5 Adam Hyeronimus
6. $31.00 Lilith 55.5 Joshua Parr
7. $81.00 Perfect Pitch 55.5 Glyn Schofield
8. $41.00 Futooh 55.5 Kerrin McEvoy
9. $21.00 Into The Abyss 55.5 Christian Reith
10. $101.00 Laila De Vega 55.5 Michael Dee
11. $21.00 Setsuna 55.5 Stephen Baster
12. $31.00 Terminology 55.5 Corey Brown

Margins: 1.3 len, 0.5 len
Time: 1:10.74

Bet now on the Magic Night Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Magic Night Stakes odds.

Magic Night Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Sunlight Cristobal Sweet Ava 1:10.7
2017 Tulip Alizee Memento 1:12.0
2016 Calliope Omei Sword Twist Tops 1:09.7
2015 Speak Fondly Perignon Italy 1:11.7
2014 Bring Me The Maid Peggy Jean Sultry Feeling 1:12.7
2013 Scandiva Shahad Major Conquest 1:11.1
2012 Ichihara Cavalry Rose Flying Snitzel 1:10.7
2011 Altar Pane In The Glass Aerobatics 1:11.8
2010 Willow Creek More Strawberries Celts 1:11.1
2009 Indian Ocean Marquardt Shawnee Girl 1:10.7
2008 Portillo Sugar Babe Delta Girl 1:11.9
2007 Downhill Racer Camarilla Gamble Me 1:10.7
2006 Gold Edition Nediym's Glow Catechuchu 1:11.6
2005 Media Carry On Cutie Blizzardly 1:09.4
2004 Alizes Tahni Girl Monsoon Wedding 1:09.5
2003 Shamekha Bella Corona Soak Up The Sun 1:10.6
2002 Victory Vein Calaway Gal Stratica 1:10.0
2001 Hosannah Hanky Panky Breezer 1:10.3
2000 Preserve Blab Ateates 1:11.4
1999 Countess Christie Forest Express Danglissa 1:10.5
1998 Mardi's Magic Confer Statement 1:11.3
1997 Regal Chamber Empower Keeping Up 1:10.0
1996 Precious Glitter Dashing Eagle La Snippette 1:10.1
1995 Pontal Lass Millrich Show Of Force 1:10.4
1994 Romantica Rosa's Path Alouette 1:11.4
1993 Bint Marscay Tristalove Miss Prospect 1:09.7
1992 Klokka Discriminate Misty Power 1:10.9
1991 Pipiwar Electrique Tyrannic 1:09.9
1990 Draw Card Lusso Wrap Around 1:14.2
1989 Fickle Hostess Perfect Evening Dazzling Flyer 1:13.3
1988 Comely Girl Research Silver Stardom 1:12.2