horse racing info


The Goodwood is a Group 1 race for 3yo & upward horses and takes place annually in May at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weights & penalty conditions and offers prizemoney of $1,000,000 for entrants. The 2018 Goodwood was won by Santa Ana Lane from Missrock with I'll Have A Bit third.

Goodwood Day is the major race day of the Adelaide autumn racing carnival and the feature sprint is the richest race of the autumn in Adelaide. The Goodwood is held alongside the Gr3 SA Oaks, Group 3 National Stakes & Group 3 RA Lee Stakes.

2018 Goodwood info

Date: Saturday 19th May 2018
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Open - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2018 Winner: Santa Ana Lane

The Goodwood is the premier sprint event of the Adelaide autumn racing carnival and always attracts a strong contingent of well above average gallopers. Up until 2007 the Goodwood was a handicap event before it was changed to a set weights & penalty race, which tends to favour the better performed horses engaged.

Races such as the Gr3 RN Irwin Stakes or Gr3 DC Mckay Stakes are good guides to this event and the Goodwood is a time honoured race in Adelaide. I Am Invincible (2nd in 2009) won the DC Mckay Stakes prior to finishing runner-up in this race.

Some more than handy gallopers have taken out the Goodwood over the years including the brilliant Black Caviar (2012) and Takeover Target (2009), while talented sprinters Super Elegant (2004), Bomber Bill (2003), Sword (1996), Euclase (1992) and Boardwalk Angel (1989) have all won this race.

In recent years champion mare Black Caviar (2012) and classy Australian Thoroughbred Bloodstock mare Platelet (2013) both won Gr1 Robert Sangster Stakes on their way to winning the Goodwood.

Vega Magic (2017) resumed from a spell to win this event first-up for the Lindsay Park stable and recent Goodwood winners include Black Heart Bart (2016) and Flamberge (2015).

2017 Goodwood result

1. $4.80 Vega Magic 56.5 Craig Williams
2. $31.00 Missrock 52.0 Dean Yendall
3. $61.00 Casino Wizard 55.5 Jason Holder

then followed
4. $7.00 Secret Agenda 56.5 Damien Oliver
5. $26.00 Santa Ana Lane 56.0 Mark Pegus
6. $21.00 Hey Doc 57.0 Luke Currie
7. $4.00 Black Heart Bart 59.0 Brad Rawiller
8. $101.00 Lope De Capio 54.5 Ms Jamie Kah
9. $18.00 Kaepernick 54.5 Dwayne Dunn
10. $41.00 Bassett 55.5 Mark Zahra
11. $31.00 Sweet Sherry 53.5 Stephen Baster
12. $15.00 First Among Equals 55.5 Luke Nolen
13. $17.00 Illustrious Lad 57.0 Anthony Darmanin
14. $31.00 Rageese 56.0 Damian Lane
15. $51.00 Faatinah 57.5 Cory Parish
16. $10.00 Malaguerra 59.0 Ben Melham
17. $101.00 Karacatis 56.0 Noel Callow
18. $26.00 Lucky Liberty 54.5 Joe Bowditch
19. $31.00 Zebulon 54.5 Ms Linda Meech
20. $61.00 Riziz 55.5 Todd Pannell

Margins: 0.7 len, 0.4 len
Time: 1:09.34

Bet now on the Goodwood

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Goodwood recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Santa Ana Lane Missrock I'll Have A Bit 1:09.8
2017 Vega Magic Missrock Casino Wizard 1:09.3
2016 Black Heart Bart Under The Louvre Supido 1:10.0
2015 Flamberge Lord Of The Sky Under The Louvre 1:09.3
2014 Smokin' Joey Platelet Riziz 1:11.6
2013 Platelet Conservatorium Altar 1:09.6
2012 Black Caviar We're Gonna Rock Stirling Grove 1:10.3
2011 Lone Rock Crystal Lily Pinwheel 1:09.0
2010 Velocitea Catapulted Very Discreet 1:09.0
2009 Takeover Target I Am Invincible Commanding Hope 1:10.7
2008 Shadoways Cargo Cult Diplomatic Force 1:09.3
2007 Let Go Thommo Tesbury Jack Royal Ida 1:09.3
2006 Perfectly Ready Sassbee Squillani 1:10.7
2005 Glamour Puss Solar Antiquity Shablec 1:09.1
2004 Super Elegant Recurring Danabaa 1:09.2
2003 Bomber Bill Squillani Debrief 1:09.4
2002 Zip Zip Aray Libidinious The Big Chill 1:11.1
2001 Keeper Sudurka Ateaters 1:10.4
2000 Marstic Czar Hero Strident 1:13.9
1999 French Clock Any Rhythm Loafer 1:10.8
1998 Spectrum Scandinavia Its My Sin 1:08.3
1997 Bellzevir Another Excuse Clang 1:10.3
1996 Sword Lord Matthew Scorn Bold 1:09.0
1995 Centisle Khaptingly Simple As That 1:10.3
1994 Ambala Simonstad Let Him Ride 1:09.4
1993 Jolly Old Mac Colebrook Pay The Kings 1:09.7
1992 Euclase Dappers Hope Cogitate 1:11.9
1991 Crush Beau George My Version 1:10.2
1990 Beau George Crush Dancers Choice 1:09.2
1989 Boardwalk Angel Dieu D'Or Beau George 1:12.4
1988 Cameronic Daring Jon Mr Cheap 1:10.0