, Ajax Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Ajax Stakes

The Ajax Stakes is a Group 2 quality handicap race held annually each year in late March at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1500 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Ajax Stakes was won by Imaging from Yulong Prince with Cascadian third.

One on the better handicap races during the Sydney autumn racing carnival, the Ajax Stakes takes place on the same day as the Group 1 Coolmore Classic for fillies & mares.

Ajax Stakes info

Date: Saturday 13th March 2021
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Imaging

The Ajax Stakes is a quality handicap that attracts more than handy types, rather than the elite gallopers, and horses contesting this race may look at races like the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap later in the carnival at Randwick. Grand Armee (2003) was the last horse to win both races.

The Group 3 Newcastle Newmarket Handicap at Newcastle has been a fair guide to this event in recent times with Star Octagonal (3rd in 2012) placing in both events, while Brilliant Light (2010) finished second in the Newcastle Newmarket before scoring a narrow victory in this race. Centennial Park (2nd in 2010) ran sixth in the Newcastle race prior to his second placing here.

The last horse to claim the Ajax Stakes & Newcastle Newmarket Handicap was Solo Flyer (2009) and it often pays to keep an eye on the Newcastle feature race result when assessing the form for this event.

Upcoming feature races during the Sydney autumn carnival are likely to be on the agenda for entrants contesting the Ajax Stakes. Smart galloper Weary (2nd in 2014) went on to win the Group 3 Doncaster Prelude at Rosehill after running second in the Ajax Stakes, while both It's Somewhat (2016) and Pornichet (5th in 2015) claimed the Group 3 Neville Sellwood Stakes at their next start.

Comin' Through (2018) ran third in the Group 2 Apollo Stakes over 1400m at Randwick before scoring in this event and recent Ajax Stakes winners include It's Somewhat (2016-2017) and Burbero (2015).

2020 Ajax Stakes result

1. $6.50 Imaging 57.0 James McDonald
2. $15.00 Yulong Prince 58.0 Nash Rawiller
3. $6.00 Cascadian 57.0 Glyn Schofield

then followed
4. $4.40 Quackerjack 58.5 Joshua Parr
5. $12.00 Night's Watch 56.5 Brenton Avdulla
6. $7.00 Vegadaze 54.0 Jean Van Overmeire
7. $6.00 I Am Superman 53.0 Kerrin McEvoy
8. $17.00 Olmedo 59.0 Michael Walker
9. $11.00 Ringerdingding 53.0 Robbie Dolan
10. $101.00 Nobu 53.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara

Margins: 0.3 len, 2 len
Time: 1:35.60

Bet now on the Ajax Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Ajax Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Ajax Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Imaging Yulong Prince Cascadian 1:35.6
2019 Fifty Stars Mask Of Time Dyslexic 1:32.6
2018 Comin' Through Tom Melbourne Radipole 1:28.5
2017 It's Somewhat New Tipperary Testashadow 1:31.0
2016 It's Somewhat Excess Knowledge Dances On Stars 1:28.1
2015 Burbero Ninth Legion San Diego 1:29.7
2014 Messene Weary Malavio 1:28.1
2013 Havana Rey Riva De Lago Monton 1:29.6
2012 Niagara Star Of Octagonal Alma's Fury 1:28.8
2011 Pureness Mentality Lebrechaun 1:30.4
2010 Brilliant Light Centennial Park Mentality 1:28.5
2009 Soho Flyer Marching Chasm 1:28.7
2008 All Silent Friday Creek Bobadah 1:29.2
2007 High Cee Danleigh The Free Stater 1:29.7
2006 Malcolm Lantwin Utzon 1:28.7
2005 River To The Sea Daniel's The Man This Manshood 1:27.8
2004 True Glo Gordo So Assertive 1:28.7
2003 Grand Armee Lord Essex Carael Boy 1:28.4
2002 Mowerman Make Me A Miracle Gordo 1:27.9
2001 Galiano Palladium Star Emission 1:27.7
2000 Normal Practice Beauchamp Old Man 1:28.4
1999 Confiscate Room For A Slew Morphy 1:27.7
1998 Confiscate Juggler Monet's Cove 1:28.7
1997 Catalan Opening Holy Roller Pragmatism 1:28.6
1996 Catalan Opening Kidman's Cove Sprint By 1:28.5
1995 Protara's Bay Allez Glen Sovereign Kite 1:28.9
1994 Poetic King Never Undercharge Just Awesome 1:29.5
1993 Soho Square Durbridge Tarheel Boy 1:27.4
1992 Alderson Power Chief Palatin 1:29.8
1991 From The Planet Royal Creation Thrifty Reserve 1:27.7
1990 Windsor's Pal Our Poverty Bay Livistona Lane 1:33.2
1989 Jondolar Winner's Intent Classic Hand 1:31.5
1988 Imprimatur Swift Cheval Special Finish 1:32.4