April 2014: Queen Elizabeth Stakes : ATC Oaks : Sydney Cup : Queen Of The Turf Stakes : Champagne Stakes : All Aged Stakes : Sangster Stakes : Australasian Oaks

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Enjoy a $300 BONUS BET when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet with a matched First Deposit Bonus up to $300! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Doomben Cup

Back or Lay your Horse at Betfair

Bet on Horse Racing at Centrebet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Racing at Sportingbet

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

300% Bonus Offer at IASbet

Free BlackBook Service


Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

The Doomben Cup is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held each May at Doomben racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over the staying distance of 2000 metres and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2013 Doomben Cup was won by Beaten Up from Foreteller with Secret Admirer third.

Held on the second day of the Doomben racing carnival, Doomben Cup Day features a number of quality group races and is one of the bigger race meetings held during the Brisbane winter racing carnival.

Doomben Cup info
Date: Saturday 17th May 2014
Track: Doomben racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2013 Winner: Beaten Up

The Doomben Cup is the premier distance event of the Doomben racing carnival each winter in Brisbane. The weight-for-age conditions of the race provides better performed horses an advantage and the race itself has been won by many of Australia's top gallopers, including Intergaze (1999), Might And Power (1998), Juggler (1996), Danewin (1995) and Queensland favourite Rough Habit in three consecutive years from 1991 to 1993.

The Gr2 Hollindale Stakes held two weeks previously over 1800m at the Gold Coast is the best guide to this race with Metal Bender (2010) being the last horse to win the Hollindale Stakes & Doomben Cup double, while Above Deck (2002), Mr Bureaucrat (2002), Might And Power (1998), Danewin (1995), Durbridge (1994) and Rough Habit (1991-92) all won the Hollindale Stakes before winning the Doomben Cup.

Both Scenic Shot (2011) & Mawingo (2012) ran third in the Hollindale Stakes before winning the Doomben Cup at their next outing.

The natural progression for horses contesting the Doomben Cup is the Gr2 PJ O'Shea Stakes over 2200m on Oaks Day at Eagle Farm in June. Lights Of Heaven (2nd in 2012) won the PJ O'Shea stakes after running second in the Doomben Cup, while Scenic Shot (2009) went on to win the PJ O'Shea Stakes and Gr2 Brisbane Cup after taking out this race.

Beaten Up (2013) finished second in the listed Rowley Mile over 1600m at Hawkesbury in New South Wales on his way to a strong victory in this event and recent Doomben Cup winners include Mawingo (2012) and Scenic Shot (2011).

2012 Doomben Cup result
1. $9.00 Beaten Up 59.0 Leith Innes
2. $4.00 Foreteller 59.0 Jim Cassidy
3. $15.00 Secret Admirer 57.0 Michael Rodd

then followed
4. $8.00 Manighar 59.0 Brad Rawiller
5. $4.20 Lights Of Heaven 57.0 Luke Nolen
6. $31.00 Lightinthenite 59.0 Nicholas Hall
7. $21.00 Danleigh 59.0 Michael Walker
8. $41.00 Zurella 57.0 Jonathan Riddell
9. $9.00 Lamasery 59.0 Glen Colless
10. $21.00 Pimms Time 57.0 Damian Browne
11. $51.00 Fibrillation 57.0 Michael Cahill
12. $12.00 Hippopus 56.5 Chris Munce
13. $31.00 Zabeelionaire 59.0 Stephen Baster

Margins: 3/4 len, 1/2 head
Time: 2:04.34

Other group races held on Doomben Cup day include the Gr3 Doomben Roses, Gr3 BRC Sprint, Gr3 Fred Best Classic & Gr3 Lord Mayors Cup.

Bet now on the Doomben Cup
Get Best of the three Aussie Tabs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
Guaranteed better odds than the TAB with 'City Superprice' Bet now
Back or Lay your fancy at much Better Odds than the TAB Bet now
Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'CentreBest+' Bet now
Doomben Cup recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2013 Beaten Up Foreteller Secret Admirer 2:04.3
2012 Mawingo Lights Of Heaven Manighar 2:02.0
2011 Scenic Shot My Kingdom Of Fife Glass Harmonium 2:03.7
2010 Metal Bender Gold Water Triple Honour 2:02.6
2009 Scenic Shot Racing To Win Sir Slick 2:02.8
2008 Sarrera Rampant Lion Like It Is 2:03.3
2007 Cinque Cento Gaze Pentathon 2:01.8
2006 Above Deck Octapussy Roman Arch 2:13.8
2005 Perlin Platinum Scissors Natural Blitz 2:15.0
2004 Defier Pentastic Upsetthym 2:11.6
2003 Bush Padre Freemason Maguire 2:13.0
2002 Mr Bureaucrat Galroof Freemason 2:14.0
2001 King Keitel Shogun Lodge Kasakh Belle 2:01.9
2000 Akhenaton Integrate Cruzeiro 2:04.7
1999 Intergaze Lahar Joss Sticks 2:03.7
1998 Might And Power Intergaze I Like Him 2:00.5
1997 Sapio Pakaraka Star Shame 2:05.5
1996 Juggler Doriemus All Our Mob 2:06.3
1995 Danewin Danasinga Turridu 2:03.3
1994 Durbridge Paris Lane Pure Lust 2:02.6
1993 Rough Habit Kiwi Golfer Palate 2:03.0
1992 Rough Habit Kinjite Captain Cook 2:05.1
1991 Rough Habit Rays Hope Multisync 2:04.8
1990 Eye Of The Sky Solar Circle Rough Habit 2:04.8
1989 Abstraction Eye Of The Sky Miss Fleet 2:21.6
1988 Lord Hybrow Algonquin Club Sound Horizon 2:16.5

Best Australian Bookmaker for Doomben Cup free bets


Racehorse Shares

© 2008 - 2014 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 24 164 012 275 | Beejayville Racing Pty Ltd
All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission - Free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions