horse racing info

Stradbroke Handicap

The Stradbroke Handicap is a Group 1 open handicap race that takes place annually in June at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1350 metres and worth $1,500,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Stradbroke Handicap was won by Impending from In Her Time with Clearly Innocent third.

Stradbroke Day is Eagle Farm's biggest race day for the year and is ably supported by the Group 1 Queensland Derby for three-year-olds and Group 1 The TJ Smith for two-year-olds.

2018 Stradbroke Handicap info

Date: Saturday 9th June 2018
Track: Doomben racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1350 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,500,000
2017 Winner: Impending

The Stradbroke Handicap was first run in 1890 and is the biggest race of the Brisbane winter carnival offering $1,000,000 in prizemoney to entrants. The Stradbroke was named after Lord Stradbroke who was a relative of Admiral Rous, an architect of the weight for age scale.

The race itself is one of the premier sprint races held in Australia and is one of the toughest 1400m handicaps on the racing calendar each year. The Stradbroke is a high pressure race that always attracts a capacity field of very talented gallopers and suits those horses who can run out a very strong 1400 metres. It is not a race for the feint hearted and strong milers are well suited in the Stradbroke.

Class gallopers such as Dane Ripper (1997), All Our Mob (1994) and Rough Habit (1991-92) have all won this race over the years and the Stradbroke is the most highly anticipated race of the Brisbane winter carnival that generally sees four-year-old gallopers run very well.

Races such as the Gr1 Doomben 10,000 at Doomben and the Gr2 QTC Cup at Eagle Farm are typical lead up races to the Stradbroke and Black Piranha (2009) ran second in the Doomben 10,000 prior to winning this event, while Ortensia (3rd in 2009) won the QTC Cup before her third placing in this race. Buffering (2nd in 2012) finished runner-up in both races.

The Doomben 10,000 has always been a great guide to the Stradbroke and in recent times Private Steer (2003), Show A Heart (2002), Adam (1999), All Our Mob (1994) and Rough Habit (1992) all finished runner-up in the Doomben 10,000 prior to winning this race.

Talented mare Melito (2nd in 2010) went on to win the premier mares race of the winter carnival, the Gr1 Winter Stakes, after finishing runner-up in the Stradbroke, while Streama (3rd in 2013) ran second in the Winter Stakes after running third in this race. Srikandi (2015) managed to claim the Stradbroke Handicap & Winter Stakes double in successive starts.

Impending (2017) ran fourth in the Gr1 BTC Cup over 1300m at Eagle Farm before storming home to win this event and recent Stradbroke Handicap winners include Under The Louvre (2016) and Srikandi (2015).

2017 Stradbroke Handicap result

1. $20.00 Impending 51.0 Corey Brown
2. $20.00 In Her Time 52.0 Dean Yendall
3. $4.80 Clearly Innocent 55.5 Hugh Bowman

then followed
4. $6.00 Counterattack 53.0 Leith Innes
5. $26.00 Good Project 53.0 Tommy Berry
6. $31.00 Gold Symphony 52.0 Jim Byrne
7. $13.00 Egyptian Symbol 52.0 Glyn Schofield
8. $10.00 Derryn 51.5 Craig Williams
9. $14.00 Burning Front 53.0 Ben Allen
10. $61.00 Kaepernick 52.0 Patrick Moloney
11. $9.50 Ulmann 52.0 Luke Nolen
12. $8.50 Mackintosh 52.0 Kerrin McEvoy
13. $31.00 Hopfgarten 52.0 Ronnie Stewart
14. $21.00 Hooked 52.5 Noel Callow
15. $21.00 Jungle Edge 54.0 Kevin Forrester
16. $41.00 Rageese 52.0 Damian Lane

Margins: 0.3 len, 1 len
Time: 1:17.93

Other group races on Stradbroke day include the Gr2 Brisbane Cup and Gr2 Dane Ripper Quality.

Bet now on the Stradbroke Handicap

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Stradbroke Handicap recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Impending In Her Time Clearly Innocent 1:17.9
2016 Under The Louvre Black Heart Bart The Virginian 1:23.7
2015 Srikandi Boban Generalife 1:18.2
2014 River Lad Temple Of Boom Srikandi 1:21.6
2013 Linton Buffering Streama 1:22.0
2012 Mid Summer Music Buffering Happy Zero 1:23.0
2011 Sincero Beaded Zero Rock 1:22.8
2010 Black Piranha Melito Mic Mac 1:21.1
2009 Black Piranha Danleigh Ortensia 1:25.5
2008 Mr Baritone Hard To Catch Double Dare 1:26.4
2007 Snipers Bullet Gold Edition Bendetti 1:23.1
2006 La Montagna Gee I Jane Cog Hill 1:22.9
2005 St Basil Perfect Promise Shamekha 1:20.7
2004 Thorn Park Consular St Basil 1:21.3
2003 Private Steer Diamond Dane Into The Night 1:21.6
2002 Show A Heart Falvelon Kingsgate 1:21.7
2001 Crawl Hire Mr Innocent 1:20.5
2000 Landsighting Mr Innocent Brighter Scene 1:21.4
1999 Adam City Fair Staging 1:23.9
1998 Toledo Monopolize Blazing Steel 1:20.2
1997 Dane Ripper Quick Flick Celestial Choir 1:23.1
1996 Danasinga Encores Monopolize 1:21.4
1995 Rouslan Schillaci Khaptingly 1:20.8
1994 All Our Mob Baggio Simonstad 1:21.5
1993 Never Undercharge Danjiki Pharaoh 1:21.2
1992 Rough Habit Barrosa Boy Rechabite 1:21.6
1991 Rough Habit St Jude Barrosa Boy 1:25.5
1990 Plush Embassy Ark Regal Aisle 1:27.6
1989 Robian Steel Don't Play Potrero 1:25.5
1988 Campaign King Rancho Ruler Planet Ruler 1:23.1

The 2015 Stradbroke Handicap was run over 1350m at Doomben.