horse racing info

Sandown Guineas

The Sandown Guineas is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds that takes place at Sandown racecourse each November towards the end of the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres at set weights and worth $250,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Sandown Guineas was won by Morton's Fork from Ruthven with Jennifer Lynn third.

Held on the Melbourne Racing Club's major meeting of the year at Sandown, the Sandown Guineas takes place alongside the Group 2 Sandown Classic, Gr3 Sandown Stakes and Group 3 Eclipse Stakes.

2017 Sandown Guineas info

Date: Saturday 18th November 2017
Track: Sandown racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $250,000
2016 Winner: Morton's Fork

The Sandown Guineas is the last prestigious 3yo set weights race of the Melbourne spring racing carnival and can quite often unearth a new star of the turf. It has been won by some nice types over the years including Kidnapped (2009) Over (1999), Sedation (1998), King Ivor (1996) and Durbridge (1990).

The Gr3 Carbine Club Stakes at Flemington on Derby day provides the ideal lead-up to this event as it is run over the same distance and any 3yo gallopers who finish strongly in that race are always well suited to this event. Mahuta (2015) is the most recent galloper to claim the Carbine Club Stakes & Sandown Guineas double.

In recent times Lunar Rise (2nd in 2012) defeated Tatra (2012) to win the Carbine Club Stakes before they again ran the quinella in this event, with Tatra reversing the result in the Sandown Guineas.

The long Sandown straight has a tough uphill run home and suits strong three-year-olds who can run a very solid mile. Any horses with weaknesses seeing out the trip will quite often be found out in the run to the line.

Morton's Fork (2016) finished runner-up in the Carbine Club Stakes over 1600m at Flemington during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival before winning this event and recent Sandown Guineas winners include Mahuta (2015) and Petrology (2014).

horse racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide

The race is best suited to above average 3yo horses who are not strong enough to win a Gr1 race over the Caulfield or Flemington carnival and this event gives them a chance to pick up a good quality group race during the spring. The Carbine Club Stakes at Flemington is traditionally the best guide to the Sandown Guineas.

2016 Sandown Guineas result

1. $2.30 Morton's Fork 57.0 Craig Williams
2. $17.00 Ruthven 57.0 Luke Nolen
3. $3.40 Jennifer Lynn 55.0 Dean Yendall

then followed
4. $7.00 Faraway Town 55.0 Ben Melham
5. $7.00 Benz 57.0 Dwayne Dunn
6. $41.00 Fomo 57.0 Hugh Bowman
7. $101.00 Wimborne 57.0 Kevin Forrester
8. $201.00 Stornaway 57.0 Craig Newitt
9. $31.00 Soviet Secret 55.0 Chris Parnham

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:40.05

Bet now on the Sandown Guineas

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Sandown Guineas recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Morton's Fork Ruthven Jennifer Lynn 1:40.0
2015 Mahuta Dal Cielo Don't Doubt Mamma 1:35.9
2014 Petrology Stratum Star Berisha 1:36.7
2013 Paximadia Equator Apollo's Choices 1:37.3
2012 Tatra Lunar Rise Proverb 1:36.7
2011 So Swift Niagara Galah 1:38.8
2010 Pressday Chasse Bigelow 1:42.7
2009 Kidnapped Majestic Music Turf Express 1:36.2
2008 Caymans Marveen Lucky Thunder 1:38.0
2007 Schilling Masked Assassin Wind Shear 1:38.6
2006 Sender Flame Of Sydney Wordsmith 1:34.8
2005 Cayambe Zigotto Aztec Smytzer 1:39.4
2004 Binding Barely A Moment Al Maher 1:42.5
2003 Pay Keys Ikes Dream Delzao 1:36.1
2002 Dextrous Lawsons Storm Cool Azz 1:35.5
2001 Moon Dragon All Courage Rod To Dance 1:35.8
2000 Scenic Warrior Wyndam Special Paradiddle 1:34.6
1999 Over Chattanooga Trousers 1:35.8
1998 Sedation Black Bean Speedy Kids 1:38.9
1997 Special Dane Bluebird The Word Tricove 1:38.0
1996 King Ivor Monets Cove Kentucky Blue 1:35.8
1995 Peep On The Sly Saintly Quality Gold 1:36.1
1994 Baryshnikov Perfect World Dapper Spirit 1:34.7
1993 Voting Tenor Bellzevir 1:34.6
1992 Navy Seal Picnicker Baskerville 1:35.0
1991 Star Video Enjoy Dancing Laranto 1:34.7
1990 Durbridge Pre Record Bold Rancher 1:35.5
1989 Stargazer Tristanagh Drumming 1:37.1
1988 Blixen Wonder Dancer Fire Wonder 1:37.2

Note: The 2013 Sandown Guineas was held at Caulfield because the Sandown racecourse was undergoing a track upgrade in November.